Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lack of paradise...More like glorified camping

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and nice. Tour guide was incredible knowledgeable and friendly. Property was beautiful, with many birds and animals.
Cons: Everything about the rooms, beds, bathrooms
We booked this as part of our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica. We were supposed to stay for 4 nights. It looked great online, and the reviews seemed to state what we were looking for. While I understand that we were staying in the jungle, I did not expect the jungle to be staying in our room. When we got to our room, we immediately realized that it was not what we were looking for. The room looked dirty. The front door was not sealed properly, and had approximately a 1/2 inch gap around the perimeter, which allowed MANY bugs to find their way in. The "porch" double doors had a 1/2 inch gap on the bottom, as well as a 1/2 inch gap between both doors, again, allowing bugs (which we saw) to enter. I woke up the next morning with multiple bug bites. The bathroom was gross. We refused to walk around without shoes on. The bed was the most uncomfortable thing we ever laid on. The next morning we realized it was just a box spring. We spoke to the staff and they kindly moved us to another room. Unfortunately, the move left us with a queen size bed, when we paid for a king, as well as no view of the volcano, which we also paid for. We tried the room out for the second night stay there, but both doors still had gaps, the conditions were still dirty, and there were still multiple bugs in the room, and now there were ants in the bed. We had it and moved to another hotel. Hotel refused us a refund for the next 2 nights we were supposed to stay, and Expedia has been no help either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with great view

Posted May 16, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff was top notch, breakfast was delicious traditional Costa Rican food, and the room was adorable. Great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

The resort is just...ok.

Posted May 4, 2016
We felt like this place could be great but is just mediocre because of some rough edges that could stand to be polished. Sub-par staff, poor quality food for the most part, and pool which felt like too-warm bath water, at least in the hot daytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Cons: Went during dry season-- The rooms can be quite warm because of size and location. Make sure to turn on your AC and give it time to cool off the room
This hotel is beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the views are breathtaking. Rooms are very large with high ceilings. Waterfall shower was amazing-- and staff is friendly. Its nice to have your own villa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Not worth the money

Posted May 2, 2016
I paid the upgrade for the jacuzzi on the patio. It didn't work and was dirty. First arrived and our door didn't work so they had to replace the whole handle. Bugs in the room. Food was the worst we had in 3 weeks of traveling. Flys all over the free breakfast. Pool bar didn't have anyone tending it at noon. Towels at front desk not at the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario canada

Quiet hilltop villa

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Staff was excellent Food excellent. Location close to volcano and many attractions. Cool evening breeze due to hilltop setting. Nicely landscaped. Highly recommended to all
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2016 by Shir, Hotel Management
Good afternoon. Thank you for your comment. The location of the hotel is great advantage for those cool evenings with an excellent breeze. We hope you back and enjoy our service Restaurant, Spa , Tours, and more. Blessings. Shirlene Moya S. Reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel near Arenal volcano

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Loved the pool!
Cons: The water in the shower doesn't stay hot very long at all.
Location: Great location near the hot springs, Arenal volcano, Sky Trek park, Butterfly conservatory
We had an amazing time at the hotel. Close to the hot springs, Arenal volcano, Sky Trek zip line, and Butterfly conservatory. The hotel has two restaurants on site both of which were really good. The pool was our favorite part to the end of the day--our kids absolutely loved every minute of it! The only reason I gave 4 stars for room comfort was because our shower didn't stay hot for very long. Other than that, everything else was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place is a disappointment

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Where do I start? - daughter left iPhone in room and staff stole it - leaves and dirt in "private pool" (c'mon) - staff unfriendly and rude - food disgusting and expensive - old run down rooms - overpriced - bugs in rooms (my daughters wanted to leave after night one) - many areas not staffed ("wet bar" has no bartender - so annoying) - walk from room to main hotel dark and no lights causing me to get lost. DONT STAY HERE. This place has a very bad vibe. Can't believe I paid $300 a night for this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Ontario,Canada

Recommend hotel with qualifiers!

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Tour guide Angelo excellent. Food at main restaurant is over cooked and not fresh. Breakfast and lunch are okay, avoid for dinner. However Arenal Kiota is a gem! What is odd is that this restaurant is part of hotel where the food is fresh and well done. The view is fantastic! So if this restaurant can provide excellent service and food, then why can't the main restaurant? In addition, the front desk staff are not very helpful. Only one of the team seems to know what is going on. The hotel itself is in a great location for seeing the volcano, when it is not covered by clouds, but is very dated. Arenal area is very "toutisty" and so I do not think they really care because another bus load of tourists will arrive to replace you. So buyer be aware!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

Avoid at all costs

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Many issues but first and foremost terrible customer service and price gouging not experienced anywhere else in Costa Rica. Room had many items broken and not working like loud leaking faucets 24/7.