Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Try Los Tucanes for special dinner!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The service from everyone was superior! So nice to be so close to enjoy one of the best hot springs around with a most natural surrounding landscape with the help of a shuttle cart to and fro. Only one little downside: our grandson stayed in our room and one was able to see through the slotted wooden door to the shower a body washing from the bed! Whoops!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for sharing your review about your visit. It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay at Tabacon. We are happy to know the service from our staff was superior and that you had a great time at our hot springs surrounded by our natural landscape. We appreciated your comment and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FoxIsland, United States of America

Amazing Experience!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Location: Canyoning was an experience we'd do again in a heartbeat.
Our 30th Anniversary trip was a spectacular experience regardless of weather because of our time at Tabacon. Central to the adventures in and around Arenal but a perfect place to relax in the evening - even in the rain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for choosing Tabacon to celebrate your 30th Anniversary. We are happy to read you had a spectacular experience staying with us. Just as you mentioned, our location is perfect to take advantage of the aventures in and around Arenal as well as to end a day of adventures in our relaxing and perfect place. It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your trip and we would love to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
We had an amazing experience and the food was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear C, Thanks for sharing your review about your vist. We are happy you enjoyed an amazing experience at Tabacon as well as to know the food was great. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

luxury spa & hot springs resort

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. They made it special with a greeting at the door and a bottle of champagne with chocolate dipped strawberries prepared in our room at arrival :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for choosing Tabacon to celebrate such a important occasion. It's wonderful to read we made your celebration even more special. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel - great resort. Love the warm river.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for sharing your review about your visit. It's wonderful to read you enjoyed everything, especially our beautiful hotel, the great resort and our thermal experience. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Good to stay in tabacon. Our family enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Sungwon, Thanks for sharing your review about your visit. We are glad to read it was good to stay at Tabacon and also that your family enjoyed the stay. Thanks for choosing our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Premium service and luxury!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Tabacon and our stay couldn't have been better. The hotel staff went the extra mile to ensure our stay was a memorable event. We both had massages at the Spa and they were the best we ever had!! I highly recommend Tabacon to anyone looking to enjoy premium service and luxury!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for sharing your wonderful review about your visit. It's wonderful to hear you celebrated your anniversary at Tabacon. We are happy you liked the service provided by our staff,our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you. It's great to read you were able to experience massages at The Spa and that they were the best you ever had. Thank you for recommend Tabacon, we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extraordinary hotel and hot springs

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
I absolutely recommed this hotel. The price is a little bit high compared to the other hotels around, but it worths the money. I stayed with my wife in the honey moon suite for 2 days and the room was stylish, clean and well equipped. Also there was view to the forest and the volcano. The internet was fast unlike other hotels in costa rica. Service was very good (really felt like a 5 star hotel). The breakfast was very expensive ($30 per person) so we chose to eat in a different place, but we used our $50 credit to eat in bars of the hot springs, which found to be also good. And the most important thing - the hot springs are like heaven - everything was so beautiful and cozy - it's the perfect place to stay for a honeymoon!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Tabacon. It's wonderful to read everything was beautiful and cozy during your stay and that you think Tabacon is the perfect place to stay for a honeymoon. We are glad to read the service was very good,Our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you.I am glad to inform that we have a new chef that is actually working in our menus and new culinary experiences,so we hope to change various aspects of our menu to enhance the experience of our visitors. We appreciated your review and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again during your next visit. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic high-end hotel for comfort & relaxation

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel and service were fantastic especially for special occasion. The room was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and you can see the volcano in the right weather conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for sharing your wonderful review about your visit. It's great to read you enjoyed your visit as well as the room where you stayed. We are happy to read you liked the grounds and the view from the room. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Dream like hot springs

Posted Oct 24, 2016
My wife and I spent our 6 year anniversary at Tabacon and just loved it. The hot springs are a magical sight to behold. the spa offers great service and I recommend getting a massage in the outside cabanas that sit on the thermal river. The rooms are nice and spacious if you get the honeymoon suites your view will be the valcano arenal. The food was ok I think it was a little pricey for the quality but if you don't want to eat at the hotel you will need to make a 20min trip into La Fortuna. The town is worth visiting. My overall rating is a 4.5 and well worth the money. We traveled on 10/15/16 yes during the wet season and maybe we got lucky but rain was not a big issue. Remember they call it a rainforest for a reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Greg, Thanks for giving us the pleasure of hosting you during such a special occasion. We are happy to read you enjoyed your visit.I am glad to inform that we have a new chef that is actually working in our menus and new culinary experiences, so both our menu and our prices will change.It's wonderful to read your experience was well worth. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager