Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
Beautiful place!! Must go here, we got welcome drinks and rooms were nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: beautiful view from the room
Location: tabacon hot springs
great staff, very friendly had to use the doctor on site and received great service beautiful grounds beautiful room had full access to tabacon hot springs food is pricey but you are staying at a higher class resort, buffet was really good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing resort

Posted May 1, 2016
We stayed for a few days at the end of April 2016. The rooms were luxurious. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the turn down service truly appreciated. The view from one of our rooms gave us a breathtaking view of Arenal Volcano. The service was excellent. Orlando was helpful and made an impression on our family. We ate at Ave de Paraiso buffet and Los Tuscanes Restaurant a la carte and enjoyed both. Our most favorite part was the Hot Springs and pool. We were blessed to be there on a clear day and had a great view of the Volcano while we enjoyed the different hot spring areas and finished in the pool enjoying the swim-up Wet Bar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JSC

The Best

Posted May 1, 2016
La mejor opción en la zona de Arenal. Cuenta con aguas termales que emanan naturalmente del volcán y recorren la propiedad formando pozas, piscinas y cascadas de diferentes temperaturas y alto contenido de minerales para una experiencia relajante. Es lo.mejor de la zona. Es caro en todo pero lo vale. Mis clientes que han ido regresan. Lo recomiendo ampliamente.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kim

Everything was perfect

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We had a really good time at this place. The bed was comfortable, clean. The spa was really huge. We loved going to spa in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
We liked the resort enough to return in the future. More food choices would be nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was nice and comfortable. The hot springs was the highlight of the resort. Just beautiful! The only con is the food. The food and drinks were not good at all. We ate at both restaurants. They are very overpriced. You can get better food in town for way less.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Adult only area of hot springs was worth every penny!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy Thanks for your comments. We are glad to know you spend time at the Shangri-La Gardens, we created that space to give our guests a private area to relax. This is excluisve for hotel guests 18+. We’re looking forward to having you again as our guest Regards Yendry Espinoza Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Dream-like

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The highlight of this stay was the hot springs itself. They were not like anything I had ever seen before and they were like something out of a dream, especially at night. They were that impressive, whether or not you are one who would enjoy sitting around for long periods of time in hot mineral water. The hotel itself was also terrific, especially our room (Tabacon suite). I don't know what a "standard" room is like, but I can say the suite we were in was extremely clean, spacious, and well-appointed. Sofa bed and roll away bed for our two kids were already in place and made when we checked in. Staff were all friendly. Check-in on a Wednesday afternoon was painless and there was no wait.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Dear Chris It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we're grateful to have your feedback. I am so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your suite as well as the thermal experience in the heart of the rainforest. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Cordially Yendry Espinoza Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Geneva, Wisconsin

One of the best hotels/resorts in Arenal region.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
The Orchid rooms were lovely. Very nice all around. Fabulous food on site. Terrific staff. The hot springs are definitely the best in the region. Just spectacular. Tabacon is my number one resort recommendation in the Arenal region.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Gerente, Hotel Management
Hello Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your preference! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay, including our new Orchid Rooms, the food and the thermal experience in the heart of the rainforest. We would enjoy having you back in the near future and hope this was the first of many trips! Regards Yendry Espinoza Resident Manager