Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location in rain forest

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Stayed 2 nights. Wish it were 3. Thermal pools are wonderful. Restaurants good. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ste-Julie, Qc

Hotel de la chaîne "Leading hotel"

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Site merveilleux où les installations de sources d'eau thermales et l'hôtel sont situés séparément. Facilement accessible à pied ou par shuttle ( pas d'attente). Piscine de l'hôtel avec eau de source chaude située à côté d'un des 3 restaurants du complexe pour les déjeuner (buffet complet à tous les matins) et les soupers ( menus restreints avec un plat différents chaque soir, poisson délicieux). Il pleut à TOUS les jours. Il y a des ponchos disponible avec les tours et parapluies à l'hôtel. Ici on oublie presque la pluie. Le seul hic.... ça prend chaussures de pluie sinon vous aurez les pieds mouillés tout le long de votre voyage. Ayez des enveloppes protectrices pour votre cellulaire. Les Costas Ricains sont des gens qui veulent notre bien-être. Le service à la clientèle est incroyable. En résumé, pays à découvrir pour les amoureux de la nature!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FoxIsland, United States of America

Amazing Experience!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Location: Canyoning was an experience we'd do again in a heartbeat.
Our 30th Anniversary trip was a spectacular experience regardless of weather because of our time at Tabacon. Central to the adventures in and around Arenal but a perfect place to relax in the evening - even in the rain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for choosing Tabacon to celebrate your 30th Anniversary. We are happy to read you had a spectacular experience staying with us. Just as you mentioned, our location is perfect to take advantage of the aventures in and around Arenal as well as to end a day of adventures in our relaxing and perfect place. It's wonderful to read you enjoyed your trip and we would love to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
We had an amazing experience and the food was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear C, Thanks for sharing your review about your vist. We are happy you enjoyed an amazing experience at Tabacon as well as to know the food was great. We appreciate your review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel - great resort. Love the warm river.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thanks for sharing your review about your visit. It's wonderful to read you enjoyed everything, especially our beautiful hotel, the great resort and our thermal experience. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Good to stay in tabacon. Our family enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Sungwon, Thanks for sharing your review about your visit. We are glad to read it was good to stay at Tabacon and also that your family enjoyed the stay. Thanks for choosing our hotel and taking the time to let us know about your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HP

Excelente hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Excelente lugar de aguas termales, existen muchas actividades cercanas como: actividades en lago, rio, zip line, paseos a pie, en bicicleta y a caball
Me encantó, es un hotel padrísimo, vale lo que cuesta. Espero regresar pronto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Gerente General, Hotel Management
Hola Marko, Gracias por compartir a través de este comentario su experiencia en Tabacón. Nos enorgullece saber que nuestro hotel fue de su agrado y que además pudo disfrutar de nuestras termales. Así como lo menciona , nuestra ubicación facilita a nuestros visitantes poder practicar actividades recreativas que ofrece la zona. Agradecemos su comentario y esperamos que esta sea una de muchas visitas a Tabacón. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner Gerente General
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Dream like hot springs

Posted Oct 24, 2016
My wife and I spent our 6 year anniversary at Tabacon and just loved it. The hot springs are a magical sight to behold. the spa offers great service and I recommend getting a massage in the outside cabanas that sit on the thermal river. The rooms are nice and spacious if you get the honeymoon suites your view will be the valcano arenal. The food was ok I think it was a little pricey for the quality but if you don't want to eat at the hotel you will need to make a 20min trip into La Fortuna. The town is worth visiting. My overall rating is a 4.5 and well worth the money. We traveled on 10/15/16 yes during the wet season and maybe we got lucky but rain was not a big issue. Remember they call it a rainforest for a reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Greg, Thanks for giving us the pleasure of hosting you during such a special occasion. We are happy to read you enjoyed your visit.I am glad to inform that we have a new chef that is actually working in our menus and new culinary experiences, so both our menu and our prices will change.It's wonderful to read your experience was well worth. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Clean Private Staff Shuttle
Cons: Nothing really - maybe some free snacks : )
Location: It's pretty close to downtown La Fortuna where you can see the town square or check Lake Arenal, the Volcano, or Waterfall.
We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the thermal springs are amazing. We liked how there were enough spring pools that you could really have your own private area. The shuttle service was convenient, and the staff really did great to accommodate anything that we asked for. We would love to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Dan, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at Tabacon. It's wonderful to read you liked our grounds and our amazing thermal springs as well as the fact that you found enough spring pools to have your own private time. It makes us happy to know you found convenient our shuttle service and that our staff did a great job accommodate anything you asked for. We appreciate you review and we look forward to serving you again. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Extremely nice resort! Fantastic staff and amenities! Only slightly negative thing I can say is the food is only ok and a bit overpriced. Already planning my next trip here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manger, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort, the service from our staff and the amenities. We are sorry to hear we were not able to exceed your expectations in relation with our food prices, your opinion is very important to us and thanks for bringing this to our attention.We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager