Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel? Must see

Posted May 9, 2017
This is a must see hotel. Need to at least experience one night here if in Costa Rica. Worth the drive on the side winding roads. Loved our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for visiting Tabacon and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to read you consider Tabacon a mist see hotel. It's wonderful to know we had the pleasure of hosting you and we hope to have the opportunity of have the chance of hosting you again in the future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Friendly staff, amazing hot springs, close to lots of activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our amazing hot springs and the lots of activities the area has to offer. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida USA

Great hotel, close to lots of activities.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Resort was great, restaurants were excellent with local food. View of Arenal Volcano from our room window. Close to lots of activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for visiting us and share your experience through this review. We are glad to read you enjoyed our resort and the excellent dishes from our restaurants.It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the beautiful view of Arenal Volcano from your room and the lots of activities Arenal area has to offer. We hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PEACEFUL PLACE.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cons: The check is a little confuse
It´s a beautiful place, with excellent gardens, the best springs of the zone. I felt the power of nature and how blessed we are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for visiting Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our facilites as well as our hot springs. We are please to read you felt the power of nature and how blessed we are for being surrounded by nature. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Can't get better than this!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The hot springs, breakfast buffet, and staff made our stay unforgettable.
Cons: The buffet and dinner options. The restaurant provided the same menu each evening. The buffet had some good choices, but they lacked flavor.
Location: Zip-lining, waterfall, horseback riding, exploring La Fortuna downtown, hanging bridges, volcano hikes, and volunteering at wildlife centers.
Upon arrival at the resort, we knew we were in for a treat. The staff went above and beyond to assist us without being pushy. We were also happy that most of the staff spoke English to an extent. Other resorts we stayed at during our trip provided us with a wider language barrier. We had a Superior room which was spacious, clean, and flat out beautiful. I cannot imagine what the suites must look like! The breakfast buffet was amazing, fresh, and one of the best we have had in all of our travels. Unfortunately, the dinner options/buffet were lacking compared to the breakfast. The hot springs are natural and purely magical. We had to stay at another resort in the area, but noticed that Tabacon hot springs are superior. There are so many to choose from that even during the busy "Easter/Holy" week, we were able to find our own to relax in. Compared to other resorts we stayed in the area, Tabacon focuses more on it's resort guests and lets fewer outside guests/tours in. This gives it more of a private, all-inclusive feel that other resorts lack.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Laur, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience and that you enjoyed our hot springs, breakfast buffet and our always attentive staff service. At the same time, it's wonderful to read you took advantage of our great location having the opportunity to experience many of the attractions that Arenal area has to offer. We are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectation in relation to our buffet at Ave del Paraiso restaurant, however we appreciate your review and letting us know the experience you had as you opinion is very important to us in order to keep improving all our services. In the other hand,it's great to read you enjoyed the privacy and relaxation from our more than 20 thermal pools. We appreciate your detail review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Very comfortable room, nice break fast, hot spring was amazing, close to zip lining
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a very comfortable room, a nice breakfast and an amazing hot springs experience. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities are nice and room is clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is great. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and that you liked our breakfast buffet at Ave del Paraiso restaurant. It's wonderful to read you had a great time at Tabacon. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Super beds great breakfast buffet The private hot spring area is the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Psm, Thank you for sharing you experience at Tabacon with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed our private hot springs area as well as our beds and breakfast buffet. We are glad you had a 5 stars experience with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, huge room that was more than big enough for a family of 4. They provided a rollaway cot at no additional charge as the pull-out couch was too narrow for 2 people. Food at the restaurants was pricey. After the first day we went elsewhere for dinner, but enjoyed the breakfasts which were varied, delicious and had lots of Costa Rican choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing you experience at Tabacon. We are happy to read you had a lovely experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Just as you mentioned, we provide shuttle service from our lobby to our resort for all our hotel guests and with no additional charges. At the same time, we are happy to read you visited Los Tucanes restaurant and enjoyed the varied breakfast options we have to offer. We appreciate your review as well as your observation in relation to food prices. We would love to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hot springs

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Shangri la area is best. Only for hotel guests adult.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Annie, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon with us. We are happy to read you had a 5 stars experience during your visit. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed our Shangri La Gardens, which as you mentioned it's our private area for hotel guest only over 18 years age. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager