Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Friendly staff, amazing hot springs, close to lots of activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our amazing hot springs and the lots of activities the area has to offer. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida USA

Great hotel, close to lots of activities.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Resort was great, restaurants were excellent with local food. View of Arenal Volcano from our room window. Close to lots of activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for visiting us and share your experience through this review. We are glad to read you enjoyed our resort and the excellent dishes from our restaurants.It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the beautiful view of Arenal Volcano from your room and the lots of activities Arenal area has to offer. We hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PEACEFUL PLACE.

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Cons: The check is a little confuse
It´s a beautiful place, with excellent gardens, the best springs of the zone. I felt the power of nature and how blessed we are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for visiting Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our facilites as well as our hot springs. We are please to read you felt the power of nature and how blessed we are for being surrounded by nature. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Can't get better than this!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The hot springs, breakfast buffet, and staff made our stay unforgettable.
Cons: The buffet and dinner options. The restaurant provided the same menu each evening. The buffet had some good choices, but they lacked flavor.
Location: Zip-lining, waterfall, horseback riding, exploring La Fortuna downtown, hanging bridges, volcano hikes, and volunteering at wildlife centers.
Upon arrival at the resort, we knew we were in for a treat. The staff went above and beyond to assist us without being pushy. We were also happy that most of the staff spoke English to an extent. Other resorts we stayed at during our trip provided us with a wider language barrier. We had a Superior room which was spacious, clean, and flat out beautiful. I cannot imagine what the suites must look like! The breakfast buffet was amazing, fresh, and one of the best we have had in all of our travels. Unfortunately, the dinner options/buffet were lacking compared to the breakfast. The hot springs are natural and purely magical. We had to stay at another resort in the area, but noticed that Tabacon hot springs are superior. There are so many to choose from that even during the busy "Easter/Holy" week, we were able to find our own to relax in. Compared to other resorts we stayed in the area, Tabacon focuses more on it's resort guests and lets fewer outside guests/tours in. This gives it more of a private, all-inclusive feel that other resorts lack.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Laur, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star experience and that you enjoyed our hot springs, breakfast buffet and our always attentive staff service. At the same time, it's wonderful to read you took advantage of our great location having the opportunity to experience many of the attractions that Arenal area has to offer. We are sorry to read we didn't exceed your expectation in relation to our buffet at Ave del Paraiso restaurant, however we appreciate your review and letting us know the experience you had as you opinion is very important to us in order to keep improving all our services. In the other hand,it's great to read you enjoyed the privacy and relaxation from our more than 20 thermal pools. We appreciate your detail review and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Very comfortable room, nice break fast, hot spring was amazing, close to zip lining
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a very comfortable room, a nice breakfast and an amazing hot springs experience. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to host you again in the near future. Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities are nice and room is clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is great. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and that you liked our breakfast buffet at Ave del Paraiso restaurant. It's wonderful to read you had a great time at Tabacon. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Super beds great breakfast buffet The private hot spring area is the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Psm, Thank you for sharing you experience at Tabacon with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed our private hot springs area as well as our beds and breakfast buffet. We are glad you had a 5 stars experience with us and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location and access to hot springs

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Beautiful gardens with pools and waterfalls. Excellent restaurants. Tours from hotel are expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Gerry, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are happy to read toy enjoyed our beautiful gardens with thermal pools and waterfalls that are directly heated by the Arenal volcano. It's wonderful to know, that you had an excellent experience at our restaurants. We regret what happened in relation to the prices of the tours however this is an external service offered by an external travel agency to the hotel. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Amazing hot spings

Posted Jan 25, 2017
This hotel is perfect for this area you can do great tours everyday and enjoy the hot springs every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Julie, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon with us. We are happy to read you enjoyed your visit as well as the different tour Arenal area has to offer. It's great to know you enjoyed our thermal pools which as you mentioned, our hotel guests have complementary access to our hot springs so they could visit them each time they want during the stipulated time. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Awesome vacation

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Great room, large, comfortable with awesome view of Arenal and rain forest
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is 10 minutes from La Fortuna, in the rain forest, 5 minutes to Lake Arenal
Great place to relax as well as to do a lot of things. The hot springs area is amazing. dozens of small and large hot pools. Restaurants are great! Food is excellent, service Very nice and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Hello Helmut, Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon. We are happy to read you had a wonderful experience with us as well as to know you enjoyed all our services and facilities. It's great to hear you had an awesome view of Arenal Volcano and the rainforest from your room. It's wonderful to read you consider Tabacon a great place to relax and to do a lot of things and at the same time to realice you had an amazing experience at our thermal pool. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon! Pura Vida, Marcel Stittner General Manager