Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful, romantic place - Perfect honeymoon!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The staff! And the wonderful thermal baths! Los perdidos especially.
Cons: We found it kind of frustrating that baths and activities don't start until 9am. We are morning people and would have liked to do things earlier.
Location: There's so much to do there - tubing, horseback riding, the pools, or just lounging in the beautiful rooms or on the balcony enjoying the birds.
Everything here is beautiful and there's so much to do. We never saw the volcano (rain and fog) but we enjoyed the hotel so much and all the various activities to do there, we didn't mind. What makes this place even more special is the staff. Everyone at the hotel went the extra mile to make our honeymoon romantic and memorable. It was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TORONTO, CANADA

Hotel was spectacular, needs better accessibility

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Views, pools, spas, and staff.
Cons: Wheelchair accessibility
Location: Hotel has alot of activities on site at the Club Rio, but we didn't have time to check it out after 2 full days of relaxing!
Stayed here for 2 nights, hotel and staff were magnificent. Accessibility should be better in a 5 star hotel this new. Elevator didn't go to bottom floor, so no wheelchair access to alot of the pools and spas as well as the pool bar and restaurants without going up several very steep and long ramps. Rooms were great overlooking the volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indpls, IN

This is by all the best hotel we've ever stayed.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Everyone was friendly, accommodating very eager to help you when needed. Beautiful hotel and surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Nice property by the rio celeste and tenorio

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: the pools , spacious rooms and tiki bars plus the service and the staff
Cons: signage to get there - the dirt road is long and poorly marked people are lovely and felt badly for them as they were hit by a hurricane late Nov
Location: hiking birdwatching rappelling white water rafting waterfalls to see very beautiful zip lining
we got there late and it was a long dirt road with no signs to get to this property but once you got there it was well worth it stunning surroundings
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Absolutely wonderful! You will want a 4x4 SUV to drive the gravel road but once you are there it's worth it. Drinks and food were delicious on site. Friendly staff. Enjoyed our time in the pools and hot springs/ be sure to check out Club Rio and the water slide!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Blown away

Posted Dec 14, 2016
I knew this place was going to be nice but was blown away by the experience. It was a surprise for my wife and she was in tears by the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Arenal

Posted Dec 10, 2016
A great stay at the Springs Resort and Spa. Relaxing and adventurous all on one stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New London, PA

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The Springs is a fabulous hotel! The location is absolutely spectacular!! You have views of the Arenal volcano everywhere. We felt very secluded from the rest of the world. The staff was extremely helpful and made you feel very welcomed. The rooms where spacious and clean. Our terrace was a very comfortable place to relax and view the volcano or simply listen to the rain. We all loved the hot springs. The mineral springs were warm and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Bedding is horrible, very long walk uphill to room

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The food was excellent. Waitstaff great. Rooms were great aside from the horrible bedding and pillows. I had fun in the pool on a rainy day.
Cons: Golf carts should be included in room rental especially for any older people. The walk to the room is ridiculous. Bedding and pillows were horrible.
Location: You don't need to leave the resort. Going into town is a ridiculous drive. Road is unpaved and unlit making travel at night near impossible.
The hotel and grounds are absolutely gorgeous. Very friendly staff. My biggest complaint is the master bed in my suite was two beds put together and was so lumpy it was horrible. I'm a single man but if I had a wife or girlfriend I would have asked to move rooms. Where the two beds met they put a blanket under the sheets to make it feel like the bed was one piece. This resulted in a huge hump in the middle of the bed which was a real chore to roll over to the other side. Paying this much for a room I expected much better in bedding. The pillows were also horrible. Another thing that is misleading for you that want a view of the volcano as I did. I visited dec1-5 it rained all day everyday and because of the fog it's impossible to see the volcano. After speaking with bartenders and waitstaff who told me it is very rare to see the entire volcano, if your lucky it may be visible for 5-10'minutes on a clear day. I stayed in a room that was a far uphill walk to the room. I spent over 1500$ on the property in 2 days just with drinks and food. And an ATv ride which was great by the way. Everything is quite expensive here At this resort. The only way I would go there again would be if I was given a golf cart to get to the room and back. Golf carts are 70$ per day rental. This should be included in the inflated room charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A quiet, romantic, and tropical paradise

Posted Dec 1, 2016
I went to Costa Rica in 11/23/16 and I found a great discount for this resort, so I decided to book a room for my wife, son, and myself. In the 2 days we had to explore the area near the resort we had a blast; from going in river rapid attractions and adventuring nearby towns. One of the most memorable attractions was the naturally temperatured hot tubs. The rooms were near excellence. The only con I had about it is the amount of insects that frequently entered the room like dragonflies and mosquitoes. However, that is surely understandable because the resort is in a tropical environment. I mostly recommend this resort because of its its plentiful amount of attractions visitors can attend. If you want the best experience, try booking a stay from September through November, when it is barely crowded.