Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e. new york

Wonderful pool area with many hot pools

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Volcano Springs is a wonderful retreat from the volcano. The suites were great, but overpriced . What is special is the pool area which is soacious around swim up bar. Check in was easy, but help is non knowledgeable about sites and tours. Breakfast included is aversge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, The Perfect Stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: It is closely situated close to all the activities in the Arenal area. The staff was very nice, clean quiet room, and the hot springs right on site ar
Volcano Lodge and Springs is one of the nices hotels we have stayed at in Costa Rica. If yo are planning a trip you have to include this one in your itinerary. As Costa Rica goes the value for dollar was good. Nice country but expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Hotel has Hot Spring and regular pools

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: This hotel provides transportation services between San Jose and local airport and the area.
Cons: It appears they are not accustomed to provide written receipts for cash to their guests.
Location: There are tours. The hotel can provide van services to local area at a very reasonable rate.
I booked this hotel because I wish to soak up the natural minerals of the hot springing to help my arthritis. It is exactly what I expected. There is a three level small fall that has flows in helping to massage the shoulder and back as well as the spine. The water is hot and is good for arthritis. It is well maintained and staff check the temperature regularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Nice hotel close to Arenal

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Stand out feature was virtual 24/7 access to their on grounds hot springs pools. Nice for late night soaking within view of the Arenal Volcano.
Location: See the Arenal Volcano, shopping, La Fortuna waterfall, lake around the Volcano.
Nice hotel close to Arenal Volcano. Nice on grounds hot springs. Great free breakfast. Friendly staff. Best thing we did not see in other hotels was virtually 24/7 access to their on grounds hot springs pools. This was nice for late night time to enjoy the hot springs within view of the Arenal Volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best in the area

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Room with prívate hot springs was a unique experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lots of thermal springs

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Great place with a second set of new thermal springs. Great location near Arenal National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with private jacuzzis for some rooms.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The hotel is really nice. We did not have a view to the volcano but having a private jacuzzi is better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the mineral baths

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good gave us good info on what to do
Cons: Explain about the personal mineral bath when we checked in. It was dark &owe didn't know til morning
Recommended a great restaurant Downtown. Helpful & friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great experience here. The hot pools were fantastic and the rooms were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello, thank you so much for your positive comment ! Thanks for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs! Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Great hotel, clean beautiful and great hot pools. Good breakfast and good coffee.