Ratings based on 1,335 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel close to Arenal region

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Thermal springs. Proximity to activities in area. Staff. Gardens
Cons: Restaurant food was good but we found better options in the area.
Location: ATV/Ziplining/Sky Bridges/Hiking/Thermal Springs/River Rafting/Bars/Canyoning/Pretty much anything involving nature
We were greeted with delicious complimentary fresh made juice smoothies during check in. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous and the thermal spring pools were fantastic. We booked a room with a private thermal tub for a minimal price increase and it was worth every penny. The staff was very accommodating and the maid service left the rooms spotless. We also booked 2 activities through the hotel, ziplining and an ATV tour. Both activities included shuttle service from the hotel to the activity area and back. The providers they chose were exceptional! The zipline guides were great with children and extremely safety conscious. The ATV guide was knowledgeable of the Arenal Volcano park we were riding though and was a wealth of information regarding the regions history. Overall my girlfriend and I had an amazing experience and checking out was a tough pill to swallow as we felt like we were leaving paradise. We will most definitely return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent value

Posted Mar 29, 2017
We loved our stay at Volcano Lodge. Room was clean, great views of volcano if not cloudy, close to town with short car/taxi ride (not walking distance), staff was awesome, they helped with opinions on what tours fit what we were looking for and the company they partner with (Desafio) was great too. We did canyon repelling and it was so much fun! Overall, a good value hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello Susan, thank you for your review. As you mentioned we strives to have our property clean and well mantained. We have the best view to Arenal Volcano from any place of our lodge. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you again for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs for your vacations. Kindest Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Great hotel with excellent hotsprings

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast but dinner expensive and not very good.
Stayed one night and couldn't get reservations for the next, but came back when opening available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello Suzanne, thank you for your review. We will consider your contribution about the dinner in our restaurant. Please visit us when you want. I will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
We loved everything about the hotel. The rooms were very unique and worked with the environment. The breakfast was great and the trails and the view were nice. Loved the lobby with the books and the fireplace
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello dear customer, thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience during your stay with us and that you enjoyed of our trails, room and service in general. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kindest Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
i am so surprised the environment of this hotel is so so good,hot spring is not too crowed ,so quiet ,relax and enjoyable .hotel staff is nice and kindly.they even provided breakfast take-out service because i left so early every morning for the tours.and price is so reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear customer, the Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services. We are pleased to read that you liked our hot springs and our environment which is very important for us. All the staff strive to give you a high quality service. We hope you can back soon. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Comfortable rooms - Easy Access to facilities

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Built amongst lovely gardens on ground level meant easy access to rooms while enjoying the local flora
Cons: Advise customers that if walking the resort track or near pond / dam areas BE AWARE that snakes may be around. Snake aware Signs should be on display.
Location: Mineral springs & spa at resort kept us there. Great Pizza restaurant 200m from resort on road heading toward La Fortuna.
Ground level rooms means easy access for all to enjoy. Door stoppers ensures no unwanted local wildlife or insects visit - no flywire when doors are left open. Most rooms back onto Volcano - great view when cloud clears. Air conditioning was effective ensuring a good night sleep. Extensive network of Mineral Springs on the property around the restaurant area means plenty of personal space to enjoy this facility. The shop sold some items at very good prices. Overall we enjoyed our 2 nights here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
One of the best hotel experiences we have had. Loved this place !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for this lovely review. We are pleased to read that you had an amazing experience in our property. Best hotel to the best guest ! All our staff strives to give you a high quality service always and we are happy to see that we were able to exceed your expectations. Once again thank you for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Location: We did the zip Line and Horseback tour as well as a day pass to Baldi - it was another amazing property with awesome pools and water slides.
Upon check-in, Allen was a blast to work with - I appreciate everything he did for us - and upgraded us to our room we had requested. We did have to move rooms as we asked for an additional night, and they were very accommodating. The pools were very impressive, the springs were equally impressive - we had a superior suite and it was amazing, our own private Jacuzzi. Kids and wife loved it.. It is hot water. Loved it, ready to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello, the Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services. We are happy to know that you enjoyed of the area and of our lodge. As you mentioned our junior suites rooms has own private pool and the perfect view of Arenal Volcano. We hope you can back as soon as posible. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

great Gardens, great hot springs pools

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Lovely, spacious rooms and public spaces, splendidly designed pools tucked away among tropical greeneryand helpful staff, especially in the restaurant
Location: We enjoyed the Hanging Bridges tour with a Desafio guide, also an informal walking/jogging path around the hotel property .
We found it an ideal place for a restful stay, for views of Arenal, and as a base for going on day tours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear Mibb, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us. Is a delight to read your comments about our property and services, and we are truly pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the hotel. It was a pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope that you can back soon. Kindest Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel and everything about it was the best. Beautiful rooms great food beautiful hot springs we really loved it. Recommend to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello dear customer, thank you for this positive review. We are very happy to read that you had a good stay with us. As you mention we have beautiful rooms and hot springs where you can relax after a hiking tour around the Arenal Volcano. We hope you can back very soon. It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best Regards,