Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlingame, California

A relaxing hotel, great breakfast

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: View of Volcano, hot mineral baths, breakfast
Cons: Bathroom can be updated. Water did not quickly drain in the shower and in the toilet.
Stayed 2 nights with 2 daughters. The room was cozy and comfortable. The best thing is the view of the volcano while soaking in the mineral pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Close to downtown and tours.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
This hotel was fantastic! If you want to escape the typical commercial hotel stay this is the one for you. Such a beautiful view to the volcano, and so many gorgeous plants. Staff was absolutely fabulous. Has a patio in the back where you can sit and also see the river flowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Location, the swimming pools and hot springs
Cons: Prices in the restaurant - not competitive with the area Decoration of the rooms - way outdated Cleanliness of the rooms
Location: Very close to the Arenal National Park
Volcano Lodge & Springs Hotel was pleasing overall, it has many swimming pools and hot springs one can enjoy. The hotel facilities are quite good but rooms need refurbishing as the furniture and look and feel of the room is very outdated and not pleasant. We had a funny smell in our room for the first two days of our stay which we reported to the reception. Housekeeping team were sent over to come and check the smell and they couldn't identify it so the only help we were offered was cleaning the room. This eliminated the smell which means the room wasn't properly cleaned in the first place. The other issue is the restaurant is really expensive (and not competitive with the area) but there is another nice restaurant (Que Rico) nearby with much better prices so we ended up going there most of the time. Beside the issues, it's a nice hotel near Arenal National Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear customer, thank you for your comment. We appreciatte your review because it help us to improve in all our services and procedures. We will consider your contribution about the room and restaurant. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with lots of amenities

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The amenities the hotel has are great especially the hot springs and pools
Cons: The food at the restaurants was ok and very pricey.
This hotel has great amenities and is very close to the Arenal National Park. There are lots of outdoor activities to do off grounds as well. The scene from your room is very pleasing. You can see the volcano and there is a trail around the hotel. There are several pools and the hot springs area is very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear customer, Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay in our lodge. Definitely our daily goal is to make the stay of our guests a perfect and unforgettable experience. Our staff works at all times to fully serves our visitors and your feedback will definitely help us to improve every aspect of our work. As you say, we have relaxing and beautiful hot springs. We hope you visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to serve you. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hote l

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Great hotel all around, we'll stay there again I. The future..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear Ray, thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to know you had a wonderful experience in our lodge. Please visit us in the future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great for the whole family.
Location: Hiked around Arenal, swam at la Fortuna, enjoyed Ecocentro Danaus (with a guide) - so much wildlife. Recommend renting a vehicle. La Hormiga for food!
The location was perfect, close to excursions, excellent views of Arenal. The hot spring pools were great. Breakfast buffet was convenient for starting the day with lots of options (including local dishes and fresh fruit) for the whole family. The grounds are well maintained with gardens containing a variety of flowering shrubs and trees (some labelled) that attract different species of butterflies and birds - we saw hummingbirds, tucans, a giant toad, lizards and interesting insects on our morning walks. Our room had a patio facing Arenal - we appreciated the in-room coffee machine so we could sip and take in the view bright and early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of your recent stay with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs. We are delighted that you mention our convenient location, the landscape and our natural hot springs like a garantee of our high quality service. We hope you had a wonderfull experience in our lodge and that you can back soon. It will be a pleasure to serve you again. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice hotel, great facilities, best value

Posted May 29, 2017
The customer service at the hotel was excellent. From the time we arrived until the time we left, the staff was very patient and considerate. Room was great with two queen beds and the thermal spa. It was the best to come back and unwind in the thermal waters. We even saw a tree frog due to the staff showing us when we got back from our trip. Truly an excellent stay for the value.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Dear Evelyn, Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent experience with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs. We are delighted that the room, hot springs and service of all our staff was a highlight during your stay with us. We hope you can visit us in the future. Pura Vida !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the volcano from hotel

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel is located on the foot hills of the volcano and when we woke up in the morning we were surprised with the beautiful view of the volcano from the room.. breakfast is nice but there were too much bees/flies around the pastries section which was annoying. Wish they could have put some fly repellent machine to control the issue. Apart from that the room was comfortable. Hot Springs is small but the water was hot and enjoyable. Hotel staff was friendly and helpedal with everything. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your review which collaborate with all the Expedia users and give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed our services in general. All our staff strives to give you a high quality service. We will consider your contribution about the breakfast and the flies. Once again thank you for your feedback and for recommended us to all the readers. Kindest Regards from La Fortuna, Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel out of town

Posted May 24, 2017
Cons: The wifi connection needs improving.
Location: A little out of town. You need a taxi to visit the town.
Great hotel. Beautiful pool grounds and had a really good time in their hot springs. Food at the hotel restaurant was excellent but pricey. Breakfast buffet had everything you needed. Rooms were clean and spacious. Great volcano views. Only problem was the wifi did not work well in the room. We had to go closer to the lobby or the restaurant to use the wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello Eleni, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you mention our perfect view of Arenal Volcano, the landscape, and our hot springs. Definitely we will consider your contribution about the wifi. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotsprings

Posted May 23, 2017
Had a little villa, very clean and spacious. Central area quite attractive, plenty of volcanic pools to choose from, one with a swim up bar. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Gerardo Pérez H., Hotel Management
Hello Rodrigo, we want to thank you for your feedback. Is very important to know the opinion of all our customer because help us to improve in all our services and procedures. We have beautiful and relaxing hot springs with a perfect view of Arenal Volcano. Also our buffet breakfast is one of the best in the area. Thanks again for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs for your vacations. Kindest Regards,