Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel is very nice, with a well decorated courtyard and well decorated room. The breakfast is good too. The only thing is not all of the taxi drivers know the location. since it's on a one way street, there were several times taxi drivers took some time to find it. other than this, nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from londres

A very cute hotel in Yanahuara

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The feeling of tranquility and familly run hotel,
Cons: The breakfast was nice, but not included in the room rate which made it expensive for what it was.
Location: The location is Yanahura, a poshish neighbourhood of Arequipa. It is nice and has a great view point of the city,
The hotel was good, very comfy bed and very spacious. The hotel produces a very calming sensation. Thanks to its very well thought decoration. The staff was great, in particular Carlos and the mum of the owner, very helpful and friendly. They also allowed us to leave our luggage in the room while we were off to the Colca Canyon. In addition, the gave us really good tips for the trip. The hotel is not in Arequipa town centre but in lovely Yanuahara, 20 mins walk to the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, but a bit far.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hostal is great. A little far from the centre, but still good. Its about a 20-30 minute walk. But it goes by quick. When you step out you feel like youre in the streets of Italy. When youre inside it feels like youre in a completely different place. We arrived at 1:30am after our bus was late picking us up from Paracas and took longer breaks on the way to Arequipa. The front staff were still there, even though your booking will say front desk is open until 10pm only. Front staff are there. Great cozy place. Pretty fancy for a hostal. I didnt mind the walking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
What an absolutely fantastic place! My partner and I stayed 3 nights and we loved Azul Colonial. The breakfast was too notch ( it costs $4 pp however considering how reasonable the room rate was we didn't mind!). The hotel was spotlessly clean and was decorated in a great style with a pretty courtyard where you cold relax. Most importantly the staff were so attentive, friendly and helpful - I would particularly single out the lady who served is breakfast everyday who is a true credit to the hotel. I'm addition, I was ill during my stay and they organised an English speaking doctor to come to the hotel to assess me. I honestly could not rate this hotel high enough. If you stay in Arequipa, you must stay at Azul Colonial! Thanks to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gracias
5 out of 5
by Jana from Bern

An oasis of tranquility

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely and quirky hotel - fabulous courtyard with fountain with chairs dotted around. Very eclectic decorations. Bed very comfortable, super shower and best wifi that we experienced in Peru. Only downside is that it's a taxi ride (about $2) to central Arequipa but the open top tour buses go past the bottom of the road and it's a very nice neighborhood to stay in.
5 out of 5
by Mark from New Zealand

Travellers Haven in Arequipa

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Wow...loved everything about this boutique hotel from the front door, the courtyard and the room. Excellent Wifi, Hot Water on demand and luxury bedding. Taxi ride is 6 Soles from Plaza der Armas or 20 Soles from the Airport. Hotel is not in the main town area but if you like to stay somewhere special and don't mind a taxi ride this could be for you. Staff don't speak English but I managed fine. Room serviced daily and breakfast included.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The accommodation was very bright, comfortable and cheerful and the staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Liam from Dublin, Ireland

Lovely Hotel in nice neighbourhood

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here for 5 nights in September 2015 and was very happy with the experience. It is quaint, upmarket and modern, yet has a boutique like atmosphere. Rooms are lovely, if a little dark. The beds are beautifully made up with colourfull linen. WiFi is strong and the choice of TV stations is excellent - includes CNN. Breakfast is continental style with cooked eggs and hot pan loaf. A taxi into the Centro is available within minutes for about 5 soles which is less than Euro 2. The rooms are large so that's great if you need space for a little computer work. Friendly people.
3 out of 5
by Kristel from Guatemala

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
The main attractions of Arequipa are in the downtown, near the Plaza de Armas, this hotel is very far, it is very small and quiet. I didnt felt like been in an hotel, it was more like staying at a moms house, since they were asking the hour we were planning to come back, lack of security because they were asking for our keys. The hotel is beautiful.
4 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels