Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Armando, Hotel Management
Wow, four stars! Thank you very much. We are still working on getting those five. New for this season? Improved breakfast in all rates! and discount on THe Peruvian Cooking Experience to all of our guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

6 night stay Oct 2015

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The garden and quiet (not much traffic). Bed was good too.
Location: It was about a 10 - 15 minute walk to downtown. Not much to do/see in the immediate area.
We enjoyed the quiet relaxing atmosphere at this hotel and would stay again. It was far enough away from the Plaza De Armas to that it was quiet but only a 10 - 15 minute walk away. The staff were v.g. Breakfast was OK. There was the option to buy a cooked breakfast. We enjoyed having breakfast in the garden each day and also relxed there in the afternoons. The shower water was cold our last monring, but we just waited for an hour or so before showering. I did feel that we were overcharged for our laundry, but no big deal, would pay up front next time rather than at check out. Overall a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Armando, Hotel Management
And now you have cooked cereal! and sorry about the shower, gas system did not worked. We take good care of that this season. Laundry in Arequipa is a little expensive because we are in a desert. About 1.04 dollars per kilo. We were very happy with your visit. Thanks
4 out of 5
by annia from Phoenix

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was great! They were so helpful and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Armando, Hotel Management
Thank you so much. All our staff works hard to make your staying comfortable and this commentaries motivate us. Remember we have cooking classes for guests at great discount prices. And we don t charge to keep your luggage if you arrive before check in time. Neither for the coffee or juice we invite you as welcome! Thanks
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Garden

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Garden grounds were relaxing and beautiful. The bed was firm but very comfortable. Breakfast was minimal. You could pay extra for eggs/pancakes and fruit. All the other hotels where we stayed those items were included. That is the only negative, otherwise it was lovely. Only stayed there one night. Did the cooking class the next day which was great and convenient. They stored our luggage with no problem during the day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Armando, Hotel Management
And you can still relax and suntan yourself in our garden, even its winter! . Breakfast has changed. Now you have eggs included and ammount has increased in varieties. Served as buffett, no limit. So happy you enjoyed the whole package including the Cooking Experience. Thank you and keep in touch!
4 out of 5
by Rosanne from Australia

Relax and enjoy this place!

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Casa de Avila is a big place centred around a lovely sun filled garden where you can enjoy your breakfast. Great breakfast Highly recommend this place. While u are there u can do one of their cooking courses which was fabulous & professional. Or take Spanish classes. The rooms were nice, quiet and bathroom a good size. The hot water was just hot enough not to complain about, we would prefer hotter. Very good English speaking staff. Short walk to main center, safe. Make sure you do the free walking tour it's the best way to get the most out of Arequipa , such a nice little town .
5 out of 5
by Jovita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Simple but with beautiful large garden courtyard

Posted May 3, 2015
Location: Arequipas center is very charming. Lots of culture, churches, monasteries and cafes and restaurants in little courtyards. Great Market.
Very friendly and helpful staff, safe, very pleasing place. The large garden courtyard has lounge chairs and is full of trees and flowers. The rooms are simple, but sufficient. Good walking distance to everything. For longer stays the place offers Spanish and cooking classes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Cozy hotel near city center

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Clean and comfort rooms; lovely incourt garden (turtle there!:-) and super-friendly and helpful staff. Small breakfast that is runing out of everything very quickly. There is no hairdryer at the room and no complimentary shampoo. Very comfortable location. Would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, qc

Good location and nice garden

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Staff very helpful and smiling. Thanks to Alex, Raquel and Natalia Room is clean and has basic facilities The garden is so nice though we didnt have time to enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis near downtown

Posted Jan 7, 2015
In my opinion, the beautiful garden with the huge tree in the middle was the most important characteristic. It made my experience very pleasant, specially because I wanted to relax. You can lay down on the armchairs all you want, surrounded by the beautiful scenery. This place is like an oasis, because even though this hotel is only 5 block from the plaza de armas, you cannot hear all the noise. In addition, their breakfast is well served, their rooms are clean and pretty decent. Their service was very good, I highly recommend this hotel!