Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Beautiful Colonial Building

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Rooms, courtyards and decor all lovely. Staff were helpful and attentive. Laundry service was very helpful.
Cons: Breakfast could be better managed.
Location: Central location with only a 5 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. Monasterio de Santa Catalina is well worth a visit.
This hotel is a converted colonial mansion, with two central courtyards immediately off the bedrooms. The rooms are very nicely decorated with comfortable bedding and the volcanic stone (sillar) used for construction keeps the rooms cool and quite throughout the day, despite the heat in Arequipa. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, attending to any request made with expedience. The hotel is in a central location, only a five minute walk from the main square - Plaza de Armas. Yet, despite the business of the streets outside the hotel, the heavy entrance doors gave the hotel a feeling of peaceful seclusion when needed. At times, the staff struggled to keep up with the demands of breakfast, but always endeavoured to meet the guests needs as quickly as possible. The hotel is reasonably priced, and I would happily stay there again, or recommend the hotel to any visiting Arequipa.
5 out of 5
by Anna from Manjimup

Amazing hotel in a private area.

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a nice quiet spot. Huge rooms just like the photos but not cold like other hotels we stayed in. Gorgeous courtyards and outdoor area. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Walking distance to everything but quiet and tucked away. Comfy beds and hot showers. Stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Colonial charm in a great location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location, and general ambiance.
Location: Close to the Plaza d'Armas. Wonderful authentic cevicheria one block away, "Foray Fay". The best we had in Peru. Also close to the Central Market.
We initially had a problem at check in as I had requested two beds (travelling with my teen aged son) through Expedia but was booked into a "matrimonial". There were no more rooms with two beds however the manager had one moved from another location to the hotel in order to accommodate us. I was very impressed by their willingness to resolve the problem and with good humor. The hotel itself is gorgeous with beautiful gardens and spotless rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast included a lot of variety. Beds comfortable, hot water reliable. The hotel is a short walk from the main plaza, shops, restaurants, and major tourist sights.
5 out of 5
by Tatyana from NJ

Great place

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay at this hotel. Instead of the triple room for the three of us, we were given a room with four beds. Two of the beds were on the ground level and there was a staircase to the second floor with two additional beds. It was the most spacious room! The WiFi works only outside of the room, but we didn't mind as the grounds of the hotel are very beautiful with comfortable chairs to relax outside. The shower was amazing, very strong with plenty of hot water. There was no hair dryer in the room, but when I asked for one, the hotel employee brought it to me immediately. It was very pleasant to relax at Casona Solar at the end of our travels in Peru.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrington, Australia

Water situation

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The hotel has a nice courtyard in which you can soak up the sun. WiFi is only available in the courtyards and hotel lobby and restaurant.
Cons: WiFi could be extended for the use in guests rooms.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the Plaza de Armas.
Unfortunately when we arrived Arequipa had been without water for 2 days. The hotel tried their best to make up for this shortcoming by supplying large containers of bottled water.
4 out of 5
by John from USVI

Historic Budget Casona all on One Floor

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
This was my second stay at the Casona Solar, this time for six days, in a quieter room off the interior courtyard that was farther away from the street. The foliage in the courtyards was beautiful, and the hotel retained its old-world charm. My single room had plenty of scalding hot water, a refrigerator, and the usual sillar-stone vaulted ceiling. Unfortunately, the bed was less comfortable than the one I had slept in during my previous stay. The staff arranged taxis to and from the airport (25 PEN soles each way). A modest breakfast of boiled eggs, fruit, tea and bread was included every morning. On the down-side: The electricity went out for 14 hours and the hotel had no back-up generator, so food in the refrigerator spoiled. The mgmt elected to have construction crews work on the building during a full house and a wedding, which was loud and annoying. The hotel tried to charge me an extra 10%, which it had not done previously, but when I objected, they removed the charge. Overall it was another enjoyable, reasonably-priced stay.
4 out of 5
by Elise from Calgary

Unique rooms not for everyone

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great location near the sites of downtown. The rooms are unique and not entirely in a good way. No airconditioning, no fans and poor ventilation. 108 is directly off the lobby/dining area and noisy because of this. 102 is immediately beside the doorbell which goes off frequently during the night and early am. Staff was very good WiFi was very poor unless in the lobby or dining area and even then slow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by steve s. from San Francisco

This place is terrific

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
The architecture was just great, the rooms comfortable and airy. The exterior spaces were comfortable, sunny,and the staff was attentive. We met people from all over - Peru, Europe, and N America. The breakfast was ample and varied. One of the best values I have received in many years of traveling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lewisville, TX

Great location and very nice

Posted Dec 31, 2014
My room location was very noisey so the request for a suit room was ignored. That said, I like lazy boy in room. Internet worked well and breakfast was nice. This indeed is a historic building and near to stay in it. The one issue I had was hotel messed up ordering a taxi for me, but given how quit airport is it ended up not being a real issue. Great value and I would stay here again.