Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arequipa Peru

The Libertador is one of my favorite places.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Everything. Food, staff, service, comfort, accomodations, grounds, and the giant turtle on the property.
The staff makes everything easy from check in to check out. The food is fabulous and the hotel has an old world charm to it. Modern, comfortable and rich in history. Close to the plaza to walk and enjoy fine dining, see the sites, shop, feed the birds, and a park across the street.
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Our favorite place to stay in Arequipa.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great place from which to conduct business, or use as a base for exploration in and around Arequipa, Peru. Quiet and comfortable, with a great spa and pool area. Plenty of acreage to enjoy the outdoors and a great view of Chachani. We especially enjoyed dining outside around the pool. Beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, as always

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We live in Arequipa and love to stay at the Libertador for an in-town getaway (with the help of good deals on Expedia!). Highlights: friendly & professional staff, ample park-like grounds, outstanding breakfast (with generous hours), well-appointed rooms, very comfortable beds, ideal location (close to downtown, but not IN it)... overall peaceful atmosphere. Our favorite rooms face the inside courtyard, as these are extremely quiet. We've had dinner in the restaurant a couple times and found the food and service to be excellent, but more expensive than equally good options downtown (La Trattoria del Monasterio being our favorite). (While I'm at it, I'll also recommend oCacao on Calle Palacio Viejo for fantastic Belgian chocolate treats and drinks.) Enjoy your stay in Arequipa. We love this city and its people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical 4*

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is a "typical" 4* hotel. Some of the staff could brush up on professional courtesy and cheerfulness to guests. A bit of a walk from the main square but taxis are very cheap. Inside colors are beautiful and the bartender was a gem!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Good

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: They have a swimming pool
Location: Nothing. You need to take a taxi to everything
The Hotel gave me the farthest hotel room from the lobby While I was taking a bath, Housekeeping entered into my room without touching Finally, when I ordered a burger to the room, I was forced to pay cash without option to sign to pay when in my check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clifton Springs

Excellent hotel within walking distance of city ce

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The lobby and bar areas were traditionally elegant.
Cons: We were only there briefly, late arrival, early departure, but I don't think they had a pool.
Location: The town appeared quite safe. An easy 20 minute walk took us to the beautiful town square. The tour of the monastery (convent) was amazing.
Rapid check-in to comfortable room. We then walked 20 minutes to the main square, found a goof restaurant. We slept well and the hotel provided a good breakfast before efficient airport transfer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TO

Used to be one of the best Hotels...

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The location is Prime Real State ... beautiful surroundings.. to bad it is not well managed.
It is with sadness that I came back to thi Hotel after 30 years. Long gone is the luster and the ambiance created for the visitors. Unfortunately for the visitor, management believes that less is best and overcharging guesses is the way to go Disappointing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Hotel Libertador in Arequipa

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and quiet, you can get a good night sleep here. The food is very good quality.
A very nice hotel in a quiet area surrounded by parks. It is too far from the plaza to walk, but taxis are very inexpensive. There s also a nice pool area which is a great place to relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels