Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely old-style hotel in the old town

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: very helpful and friendly staff. breakfast could be taken in the outside courtyard with fountain. many communal outside seating areas with views.
Cons: nothing within their control
Location: good location near to old town sights. the main tourist attraction for arequipa is literally just across the road. nice quiet location
lovely old-style peaceful hotel but with modern rooms. ours was large with large bath.
5 out of 5
by ryan

best hotel we stayed at in South America

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
La Hosteria was our last stay in our South American travels. The hotel was great. The staff were friendly and there English was good. They allowed us to use the hotel phone when we were having trouble booking some air tickets. The room was really nice with a separate terrace and sunken bath. If you are after a little bit of luxury after living in the other hostels of South America I recommend this hotel, and it wont break the bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe, CA

Beautiful Hotel with Great Location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The flowery courtyard is beautiful.
Cons: The bathrooms were too white. This kind of thing wouldn't bother me if it wasn't noticeable. It felt like we were in a Sanitarium.
Location: The Plaza de Armas is nearby.
La Hosteria has an absolutely beautiful courtyard and shared balcony area with great views of Arequipa. Our room was a bit on the small side, but still very comfortable and had a nice, affordable mini-bar. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke great English.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed one night; if returning to Arequipa I would stay there again and recommend it to other travelers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel in the Centre of Arequipa

Posted May 12, 2016
Beautiful Hotel in the Centre of Arequipa, this was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Peru. Everything about it was amazing, the Gardens, the Room, the Spa and the location was great as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

My First Roman Bath Experience

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: The balcony, the ambiance, the free breakfast
While we stayed at La Hosteria, we scheduled an hour of private use of the pool, sauna, and hot tub. It did smell a little off at first but you got used to it. The place is rustic and in the heart of the city. The Plaza De Armas is within walking distance as well as many good restaurants. The streets are bustling and full of life with people sitting on benches and stairs and just enjoying themselves. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony because it makes waking up against the backdrop of El Misti that much more impressive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, basic hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, basic hotel. Loud if staying in the back of the hotel from street noise. Beds hard but functioned for a short stay in Arequipa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Might be ok in the summer

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide heaters when needed. Maintain the property.
Location: Santa Catalina cloister
The hotel has no heat and the room was very cold from late afternoon until the morning. The flowers outside make the hostel look charming. There are some nice details in the room but the detractions cancel them out. For example the bathroom had a glass bowl sink but the ceiling was peeling. The staff tries but needs some more training.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Badly needs retrofitting. Take new 3rd flr rooms.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Room 208 has an awful stench of sewer wafting from the bathroom into the room. When we brought it to the attention of the reception, they didn't seem surprised, and while it was great to be upgraded to a third floor room (brand new, great beds, modern amenities), I wonder why they are still letting out rooms that have issues. The 2nd floor rooms also have Very Grimey Carpets. At 75USD, this isn't exactly bottom end. Also, reception did not tell us to let them know BEFORE 5pm if we need to leave early the next day (and hence have a breakfast box prepared). This is information that they had plenty of time to tell us, esp given we had waited more than an hour for our room when we first arrived.