Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, charming, ideally located family hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Lovely picturesque family run hotel which occupies one of the higher floors of an elegant, porticoed building - from which it derives its name. We stayed ten days. On the very edge of the old city, five minutes' amble to the Piazza Grande and a few hundred yards from the railway station: ideally situated for an exploration of Tuscany by public transport. The hotel staff were charming and friendly, and always available. Sufficient breakfast. With temperatures regularly around 38-40 degrees the air conditioning was magnificent. Young Arezzo gathers in the late evening around the base of the building but we were never troubled by the distant comings and goings - high enough and shuttered enough to muffle the sound. Only eight rooms so intimate. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and Arezzo itself is a jewel.
5 out of 5
by Toni M.

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Molto gentile grazie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bulwick UK

Great family hotel close to everything in Arrezzo

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location, good breakfast and very reasonable price
Cons: Wi Fi was erratic, at times it worked and other times you had to go into the common areas.
Location: 5-10 minute walk from the train station, about15 minutes along the main shopping street to get up to the cathedral and Florentine fortress.
Wonderful hotel with exceptional staff. Very small and family run, it is a jewel in Arezzo. You are very close to the train station, restaurants and all the places of interest in Arrezzo. Staff speak excellent English and will go out of their way to help you.
3 out of 5
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Vicki from Oxford

Fantastic Hotel with Exceptional Service!

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The staff went out of their way to assist me at every turn. At breakfast I casually enquired if they have a pastry with custard (cornetto con crema) and when I was told they didn't, I was fine with that.But they kindly went down stairs and across the road to the local pasticceria and got me one at no additional cost! That sums up their exceptional service approach! The room was also one of the most charming I have stayed in, with views across the rooftops of Arezzo. The bathroom was also uncharacteristically huge by Italian standards. I have every intention of returning to Hotel Portici the next time I'm in stunning, medieval Arezzo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Italy

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, a/c worked, and the bathroms were large with marble.
Cons: Maybe during the hot summer months have some cold water to offer guest upon arrival.
Location: I booked this hotel for the location. I wanted to visit the largest antique market in Italy. It had everything big and small...so much fun!.
Upon arrival, Daniele greeted us with a big smile and made us feel welcomed. He answered all of our questions and personally escorted us , two couples, to our rooms. Arrezo is a beautiful Italian town in Tuscany. We arrived Friday night by car spent Saturday shopping at the antique market. We had so much fun looking at all the beautiful items that were for sale. So glad we went! On Sunday morning we drove to Cortona where Under a Tuscan Sun was filmed at least the Christmas and fountain scene.. To our surprise the beautiful Tuscan sunflowers were in full bloom on the drive between Arezzo and Cortona. A perfect weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, great location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
hotel portico was a very nice hotel in a great location in arezzo. the staff was very friendly. my only complaint is that because it is in such a great location the noise on the street was a little much for me. i wouldn't change the hotel based on this, i would just ask for an inside room. everything else was perfect!
5 out of 5
by glo from So Carolina

Great location and great staff

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Staff were all so kind (Seymones, Daniel, Julia and housekeepers), helped us with area information and made us feel very welcome. We had the room with balcony and it had a great bathroom! Hotel is very close to good restaurants and makes the city very easy for those without car. Great walking area is Corso Italia at the end of the block.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Recommend this hotel - enjoyed our stay very heklpful staff and nice clean hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Good location on the edge of the old town. Hotel on 4th floor of a building, free parking across the road. Staff very friendly and helpful.