Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: The hotel was full of character. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Provided everything you needed. Good choice for breakfast.
Cons: Water wasn't always hot.
What a lovely hotel, full of character. A beautiful town, can't wait to go back and explore more of the area. We were only there for the weekend for a weeding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel near town center.
5 out of 5
by Greg from Binghamton, New York

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed here many time before. It is in a perfect location for exploration of Cortona. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Would easily stay again, no problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario

Posted Oct 20, 2015
If you're looking for reasonable accommodation out on the centre of it all you will like this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, N.Y.

Dissapointing

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Safety
I read reviews very carefully. After I booked this hotel, I read a review warning that the suites were difficult to access with stairs. I emailed the hotel informing them that my physical health would not allow that. The response was that there were only 10 steps and the suite had a balcony which I would enjoy. It had a balcony alright but to gain access after the elevator you needed to go up a stairway, then to get to the suite you had to climb a 13 step pitched stairway with narrow steps. You had to hold on to the bannister or you would fall. The stairway was very unsafe and pitched. You then put the keycard in and pushed open the door while holding on to the rail. The "suite" would not be termed a suite anywhere else. There was no shower. Just a tub. I would hardly recommend this place to anyone else and they have to learn that honesty is important.
2 out of 5
by Patti from Colorado

Disappointing

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
Of all the hotels on our two week trip, this was the most disappointing. The hotel is just old and no amount of air freshener (which they sprayed liberally) can cover up the mustiness. We have stayed comfortably in a number of renovated old properties in Europe, but this was a disappointment. Hard bed. Breakfast was ok. Front desk staff was pleasant but not really helpful. Location is in the old city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the old town.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
This was a charming hotel close to everything in the village of Cortona only steps from one of the main squares. The staff was friendly and patient and the room evoked a feeling of centuries long passed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great hotel close to main area!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Wonderful hotel and helpful staff! Great location with large clean rooms. Small shower and hard beds were only problem. Nice small buffet breakfast included. Would recommend!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel that's seen better days

Posted Sep 15, 2015
The hotel is nice, but it should t be a 4 star. I've stayed in better 3 star hotels in Tuscany. The location is excellent - just off the main square. The room was supposed to be EUR300 a night. This is a joke. It was big, but had no shower curtain. The bed was two single wire frames with a double (very hard) mattress over the top. The dinning room was immediately above us and we would wake to the tables being dragged around in the dinning room every morning. The courtyard was pretty, but no one sat there as it's nicer to sit in a cafe outside the hotel in one of many pretty locations, Overall the impression was of a hotel that was once very grand, which was staying alive because of what it once was. If I return to Cortonia (I hope!), I would choose a smaller B&B - of which there are many in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from u.

Grazioso albergo a due passi dal centro

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Hotel di charme in un palazzo d' epoca. Personale tranquillo e molto cortese. Camere piccole con odore di fumo che impegnava l'ambiente. Colazione discreta.