Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by SHOUKAT

very nice

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
verygood stay thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
We booked L'Ippocastano because of its location in Camucia near the train station as we were planning on travelling through Italy on train. We ended up renting a car, and it was lucky we did - when we showed up at L'Ippocastano in Camucia, we discovered that we were actually staying at a different location, which would have been impossible to manage without a car. The other property was part way up the hill towards Cortona, with a fantastic view, so we were not disappointed with the change. Massimo took great care of us, even driving us to a distant supermarket when the local one was closed for a holiday.
4 out of 5
by Jill P from USA

Villa in Tuscany

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels
L'Ippicastano is a nice quite villa below Cortona. The owner is great and very helpful. The villa is close to a variety of cities. The price was good. Would recommend to others.
4 out of 5
by Lindsay from USA

great out of the way location convenient for car renters

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful apartments with everything you need to get comfortable and do your own cooking. Massimo the owner is extremely friendly and helpful but not much English. The rooms were wonderful but the bed extremely hard and uncomfortable. This was my only complaint. Beautiful outdoor area and gardens with pool. Hot tub doesn't work well and pool very dirty and not sure why its listed as having restaurant, bar and library as it doesn't have those things.
5 out of 5
by Feelgood33 from France

Super. Le début d'une longue série en vue. Allez-y

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels
On a été très chaleureusement accueilli par Massimo. On a passé un séjour super, très dépaysant, riche de bons moments. Le logement est idéalement placé pour visiter Cortona, Florence , Assise, Sienne. Il faut avoir vu Florence: c'est époustouflant.... Sienne est également très riche en histoire et curieuse avec sa vie en contrades. On a eu la chance de pouvoir assister au Palio en aout., même si cette manifestation est très contreversée par les locaux... Nous marchions dans Cortona tous les soirs en dégustant notre glace de chez Snoopy. A côté de ses grandes destinations touristiques, n'hésitez pas à essayer de sortir des sentiers faits pour les touristes. Pour cela, aidez-vous des conseils toujours bienvenus de Massimo: on est allé ainsi visité l'ermitage de saint François à coté de Cortona, Mémorable.... De même, la cuisine toscane est excellente, mais pour la tester , essayer "là où vont les italiens", les restaurants "slow food", les agritourismes qui cuisinent leurs produits, souvent bio... Pour les souvenirs, allez au niveau de la première porte de Cortona (n'oubliez pas de frapper à la porte de la ville , c'est la tradition...) et aller à la première petite échoppe, en bas de la rue à droite. Demandez l'adresse exacte à Massimo, il vous indiquera; la vendeuse est très sympa et a des pièces de poterie de la ville intéressantes. On est reparti avec pleins de bons souvenirs et avec l'idée qu'on reviendra....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

L'Ippocastano (self catering apartment)

Posted Nov 5, 2011 on Hotels
We had a one room with separate kitchen, for two people. Very warm and cosy although a little dark with the quite small windows. The apartment was showing its age, but consider this to be part of the charm. The apartment was very clean. We chose to eat our meals under the shared courtyard area and met some of the other tenants. The manager was extremely polite, helpful, and didn't seem to mind coming to open up for us when we arrived quite late at night. The manager asked for cash and we didn't mind this except we needed to go to a cash point first. This didn't bother the manager and he waited patiently and trustingly for our return. The hotel is a few kms from Cortona, but mlost people booking this type of accommodation would likely have a car, so it shouldn't be a problem. Car parking was outsid ethe garden walls in a back lane. Free, but we were nervous at leaving it there. We need not have worried, next morning we saw a number of prestigious cars alongside ours.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 15, 2011 on Hotels
This was a wonderful experience and close to all major sites if you are driving or using the train
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2011 on Hotels