Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Week in Tuscany

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Cortona is about a 10 minute drive. It's such a lovely little town. Much less "touristy" than the larger cities. There are lots of little shops.
My husband and I had originally planned to do lots of day trips while staying at Relais Villa Baldelli. We enjoyed our Junior Suite so much that we tried to get back early each evening to have a picnic outside of our room with some wine and things we picked up at a deli in Cortona. The staff was so helpful with anything we needed as well as advise on traveling to different areas. We will be ging back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to many great historical sites/

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Location: in the heart of the historical area
Staff is very helpful and professional. Location is great. Beautiful property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay at a beautiful villa!!

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We spent a beautiful 3 days at this beautiful villa! The staff were top notch and our stay was perfect! We would highly recommend villa baldelli and hope to return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Very nice, quiet place. Only draw back was we had to use the hotel lobby for the Internet, we could not get it in our room. We would go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Received upgrade so cannot fault the hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Could have stayed there longer. Only fail was that it was further away from Cortona than we expected - taxi required, not a walk by any stretch of the imagination
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Faded grandure
Cons: Needs upgrading in places and better air conditioning
We decided to have a return visit after nearly 10 years, Villa Baldelli remains unchanged and just as charming, a little gem in the Tuscan countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and staff

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast and the scenic grounds are all excellent.
Cons: As with most Italian hotels, a more keenly priced bar would be an improvement.
Location: It's near the lovely, relaxed hilltop town of Cortona. Don't miss Pienza either - another stunning hilltop village. A lake is also closeby.
If you want to stay in an authentic hotel that provides a genuine taste of Tuscan life then stay at Villa Balbelli. It is a charming building with lots of sympathetically restored features and an excellent pool with stunning views of the Tuscan countryside and the hilltop town of Cortona. The staff deserve a special mention - they are amongst the most friendly and welcoming staff I have come across anywhere in the world! All in all, a fabulous stay on a memorable holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great small hotel in the edge of Cortona

Posted Oct 6, 2013
My wife and I stayed almost a week and loved the hotel. It is like staying in a an old Tuscan villa except with all the modern conveniences. The hotel has an excellent restaurant. The staff is friendly and helpful. Conveniently located for visits into the old walled city and for day trips into the countryside. Staying here is a true taste of Tuscany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Nottingham, UK

Excellent, friendly hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Small and friendly, excellent position, lovely pool
Cons: Muzak when eating
Location: Great views of Cortona and easy access to other hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria
A small, high quality hotel in a good position for exploring this part of Tuscany. Our room was comfortable and slightly quirky (interesting pictures on the walls), the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and the pool was excellent with superb views. The owner presented us with two bottles of wine as we left - a lovely touch. Negative points were minor: for our part we prefer silence to muzak; and the range of options on the dinner menu could have been wider, though I appreciate some careful balancing is required to control costs and quality. We would certainly recommend the hotel and will stay again if we come back to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony A from Ashford, Kent, UK

Great Hotel for Visiting Tuscany

Posted May 15, 2013
This was a lovely hotel with extensive grounds and only ten minutes by car outside Cortona. Only disappointment was that the pool was not open and the grounds seemed a little unkept, we would assume this is because May has been an unusually wet month in Cortona and is fairly early in their season. We could not fault the service,staff and the very enjoyable buffet breakfast. We would say a car is necessary if you are staying here as the town is a few kilometres away.