Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Es gibt doch Zeitreisen

Posted Jul 16, 2015
WARNHINWEIS: DIESE BEWERTUNG KANN SPUREN VON SARKASMUS ENTHALTEN. Das einzig Gute, was ich über dieses Zimmer sagen kann: Es war angenehm groß. Das gilt überhaupt nicht für die Nasszelle, die eine Größe von 1qm (gefühlt) und weniger als 2qm (tatsächlich) hat. Die Bezeichnung "Badezimmer" wäre scham- und maßlos übertrieben. Beim Benutzen der Toilette hat man sich die Knie am Waschbecken gestoßen, weil man Toilette und Waschbecken "bequem" gleichzeitig erreicht. Es gibt nur eine klapperige Schiebetür, die bestenfalls einen Sichtschutz bietet und nachts als Wecker dienen kann. Die Betten waren eine echte Katastrophe und nur durch unterlegen von zusätzlichen Decken einigermaßen zu benutzen. Die Sprungfedermatratzen waren in einem dermaßen abgenutzt, durchgelegenen und erbärmlichen Zustand, daß man jede einzelne Stahlfeder um Rücken spüren konnte. Den Untergrund bildete eine Sperrholzplatte (!), und auch das konnte man deutlich spüren. Der Fernseher war ein winziges Röhrengerät (13" ?) und wir haben erst gar nicht den Versuch einer Nutzung unternommen. Dafür hatte die Fernbedienung das Format eines Schneidebretts und hätte wohl auch beim örtlichen Blindenverein gute Dienste geleistet. Alle Möbel hätten locker als Requisiten für einen alten Edgar-Wallace-Film aus den frühen 60ern dienen können. Der WLAN-Empfang im Zimmer war schlichtweg nicht vorhanden. Wenigstens wurden wir am ersten Abend durch die Übungsstunde der lokalen Dudelsackgruppe unterhalten. Fazit: Never ever again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

not usual

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The spirit
Cons: A lot but maybe the spirit will go away. Thus it is fun like this.
Location: Natur , space and peace Beautiful paysage 15 min from Oban
It is a kind of central meeting point for local folks The food is excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Québec

hotel loin d'Oban

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: chambre spacieuse
Cons: salle de bain minuscule, signal wifi très faible.
Location: peu de choses à faire car au milieu de nulle part
situé géographiquement loin d'Oban. installations vétustes mais propres. le wifi ne fonctionnait pas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taree

Basic hotel, used it as a base when sailing

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: It was quiet at night, a good thing, and great to be able to leave luggage for a couple of days
Cons: TVs need replacing, the hotel is old and basic .
Location: Nothing to do nearby, Oban is about 30 mins drive
We used the hotel as a base when going on a tall ship for a couple of days. The room was basic, two single beds, and a very old TV. Tea and coffee in the room, which was an advantage . Didn't order breakfast at £10 each. The staff were helpful with directions to laundry facilities close by. It's about 30 mins to Oban and nothing in the town apart from the hotel for eating places, so not terribly convenient , although we were able to leave baggage there when we went on the ship. Staff were friendly .
4 out of 5
by Frank from San Francisco

Business & vacation combo

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
A business trip, however the hotel & staff were just wonderful & the surrounding countryside superb, just perfect. Great hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Passing through for work and it doesn't pretend to be something its not. Nice location. albeit a little remote, but did the job.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful local experience!

Posted May 29, 2015
This was by far the favorite place we stayed on our 10 day trip to Scotland. I'll be honest: I was at first frustrated because it was listed on Expedia as being in Oban, but was actually a 30 minute drive out of our way. However, it ended up being well worth it. The hotel itself is very old with an even older attached pub. The room was fine - homey, but clean. No elevator (as was the case with most of the smaller hotels we stayed in). The best part of our stay was the pub and people. We went down to the pub for a drink after a tiring day. We ended up chatting with the locals and had such a great time. One of the locals brings his dog Patch to the bar who was so sweet and made it such a unique experience. A local was practicing the bagpipe elsewhere in the hotel and came in an played a couple impromptu songs. It was such a fun experience and we will always remember it! The bar does take credit cards and had a couple cask ales (which my husband hunted for our whole trip) and standard wine selections for me. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and quiet. I would highly recommend a stay to this hotel, WONDERFUL people!! The hotel did have breakfast and dinner available but we were not able to have either. Wifi not in room, but free downstairs in the pub and lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

remote hotel on high level

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Service, quiet location and surrounding nature
Cons: add chair and improve WLAN connectivity
Location: really secluded... enjoy the nature or the bar ;-)
The hotel is about 30min away from Oban, the next larger town and therefore in a quiet an secluded location. The staff is friendly and competent. The room was large with spacious bathroom and proper shower. The building is old therefore a squeeling wooden floor. The room was clean but missing a chair, the stool was occupied by the teatime equipment. WLAN was not available on the top floor, only on the staircase and the lobby (also not in the restaurant and breakfast room). An old small TV was in the room with 4 programs. The restaurant serves delicious food. For breakfast a proper variety was offered, can't comment on the scotish breakfast. Parking lots are in limited number available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quaint, little hotel about 15miles past Oban.

Posted May 22, 2015
We arrived rather late due to late departure and hadn't realized hotel was past Oban. Dining room had closed and there were no other shops nearby. The proprietress whisked us up a tasty fish and chip meal in 10 minutes, which was much appreciated. The internet connection wasn't working very well but could be due to the location.
4 out of 5
by clive from Hull

Happy

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay, very friendly hotel good food and beer.