Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant location

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The bedrooms need some decoration and a bit more thought on the customer experience.
Location: If you are a walker, or have a car, there is loads to explore and if you're lucky you might just see a submarine!
Not the most exciting place to stay but it was fine. The hotel overall is a bit tired. The Garden Restaurant was nicely decorated as was the Bar area but bedrooms need some attention. The bedrooms were a bit stuffy, and the windows had restrictors so did not open too far (for safety reasons). The curtains were heavy and so at night it got really hot. If the windows could open a little bit further .... Tea and coffee was provided but the hospitality tray was a little poor. 1 pack of 2 biscuits for a couple to share and only 4 milk jiggers. The cooked breakfast was very nice. There was an average selection of continental items available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

House Hunting

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: It's location
Cons: Cleanliness . Housekeeping needs to be better . More attention to everything. Gardens need the services of a good gardener!!
Location: NTS The Hill House fantastic house designed by Macintoch. Lovely shops, coffee shops nd restaurants. Great walk on the beach.
We were up in Helensburgh looking for our next adventure..... We did not find it this time but will keep looking. Hotel made a good base for this search.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Fantastic

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Excellent customer service, they had plenty of time for my 5 year old and were superb with her. Room was very nice and clean. No complaints at all. Thank you for a great stay.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Hidden gem by the Clyde

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel down a hidden lane. Clean, comfortable, welcoming, lovely staff and even bettet breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
This is a lovely hotel. Plenty of parking outside and nice gardens. The room was spacious and comfortable with great views over the water. The breakfasts were very nice and staff were helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Beautiful setting

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Had a lovely break with my daughter, in a beautiful room. The breakfast was amazing and very tasty. We also ate in the bar and food was again superb, all in all a lovely place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly staff, good food. Staff were very helpful when planning day trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

good hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Setting, service and food
Lovely setting with great views from the front. Food and service in restaurant were excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel.

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't feel that this hotel was good value for money. Having "country house" in the name does not make it a top dollar residence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

very nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Good value. Set in pleasant location
Cons: I can not think of anything that could be improve
Location: There is plenty to in Helensburgh, Luss, and Dumbarton to name a few
Very nice hotel on the Clyde. Hotel staff very friendly and will help if you require anything. Breakfast was very good and plenty to eat. Room was very clean.