Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Character hotel with a view

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Comfortable hotel. Welcoming staff. Good breakfast. Rooms clean but too hot! Need fans... No lift but staff helped carry bags up to room. Lovely garden and view over Clyde from room. Maybe consider gym facility for any future plan which might be useful for those clients who may want this especially given the cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle area

views were excellent. hotel easy to find. ..

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: the situation next to the loch. no traffic along the front.clean and tidy. staff friendly
Location: location excellent .handy for helensburgh and faslane
arrived mid aftdernoon. receptionist very friendly. had our keys ready. we had three rooms. all were clean and tidy. we were able to go and sit in the front garden with a drink. amember of staff showed us hoe to get into the garden. the breakfast staff were friendly and we were made to feel welcome. would stay again. indeed my daughter plans to go with her husband before my grandson sails from faslane.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremerhaven

Sehr freundliches Hotel in schönster Lage!

Posted May 5, 2016
Ich wollte der tollen Lage am Wasser und wegen des alten schottischen Stils schon letztes Jahr im Mai hier wohnen, war leider ausgebucht, aber jetzt hat es geklappt. Die Gegend ist ja großartig und das Rosslea liegt zwischen Helensburgh und Garlochhead, traumhaft ruhig gelegen. Zwar gibt es wie üblich in diesen alten Palästen keinen Fahrstuhl, aber das sehr freundliche Personal erledigt das Gepäck. Zu loben ist die Küche, sowohl für kleine Mahlzeiten im Pub, als auch im Restaurant mit bestem Service. Ich komme im Mai 2017 wieder hierher!! Meine absolute Empfehlung!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cw3

Excellent hotel with superb views

Posted Apr 29, 2016
I received excellent customer experience My room no 11 was spacious with fabulous views food in hotel was very good. Staff can only be described as excellent. Very friendly informative and made my stay more enjoyable
5 out of 5
by Aidan from Port Glasgow

cracking hotel and a beautiful location..

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
my wife and I had a great stay at this beautiful hotel, we would highly recommend staying here
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice setting

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Small pretty town
This hotel was awful, it is outdated and in need of urgent repair and renovation. The hotel was almost empty but my wife and I were put in a disabled room!! I would never go there again and I certainly wouldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Belfast

A very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. GREAT breakfast. No lifts, so not great for disabled or those with heavy bags!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, very friendly helpful.
1 out of 5
by Iain from Addlestone

Dreadful, Noisy Hotel in Picturesque Rhu

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Rosslea Hall Hotel is a lovely building that is neglected. It sits in a great location by the water, but the owners/managers apparently are incapable of making something of a prime spot. The hotel is noisy and there was no effort by management on duty to ask wedding revellers to try to keep their merriment to a respectful level in order not to disturb guests. I had to threaten to call the police at 00.20hrs to lodge an official noise complaint. Breakfast was not bad, but it was quite a challenge to find cutlery and crockery that was not soiled - disgusting! The wait staff wore soiled uniforms too, which was off-putting, although I must say they were friendly and helpful. At check-out the receptionist presented me with another guest's bill. I told him I had prepaid via Hotels.com, but he checked my room bill and said that I owed circa £77.00 (I do not remember the exact amount) for the room. I showed him my payment confirmation from Hotels.com and so he said he will check and that he will not bill me ".....unless necessary". I had better not be billed. Indeed, I think that a noisy hotel, run by inept managers and serving guests on filthy plates should not deign to charge guests for the experience. I am not asking for my money back; just stating a point. The bed was hard, the pillows were hard and the duvet was too short. This was not a pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teesside

A View Too Far ?

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Location and views are excellent
Cons: Ensure there is a constant clean supply of water and demand a meaningful explanation from the local water authority as this performance was below par.
Location: Good proximity to Faslane and Loch Lomond.
This Hotel is well positioned with beautiful views. Room allocation was on the third floor but there is no lift which proved difficult for my wife to negotiate due to a hip problem. The advantage of course was the beautiful view of the bay area. On the first morning we discovered that the water supply was cut off with no facility to wash or use the toilet. I had to contact reception for answers and we had to chase up a supply of bottled water to clean our teeth! Needless to say we were put at least an hour behind our pre arranged schedule for an important meeting. When water was restored it was dark brown and totally unsuitable for use. There was a complete lack of communication from the staff at the hotel and I have yet to be approached with any form of explanation or apology. On attending the breakfast room that same morning we were not greeted by staff for table allocation or guided by any form of instruction regarding service. Both containers of orange were empty and I had to walk through to reception to try and locate someone. The reception desk was vacant and I had to stand about before a lady with a wash bag went through to the kitchen area to alert staff of my presence. This extended our delay further and I was on the verge of leaving the hotel altogether even though we had previously paid for our stay.The hotel improved its performance the following morning by us being greeted on entrance to the breakfast room and shown to a prime table with prompt service.