Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Value for money

Posted May 17, 2016
Regent hotel is in a great location, interior is dated but clean, had a nice room with sea view. Have stayed previously and would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Just right for us

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Price, convenience, easy to book.
Location: Very convenient for the town, railway station and ferry terminal.
We wanted an overnight stay after a late ferry return to Oban. The hotel is in a very convenient location, we were greeted by friendly staff and the room had everything we needed including tea/coffee making facilities, ensuite, etc. The decor is not the most modern but everything was clean and well presented.
4 out of 5
by Johan from Scotland

April weekend

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Used as a base whilst touring islands right next to ferry port. Only downside was no where close to hotel to park car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Ayrshire

Clean, cheap but shabby.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Excellent location, places to visit by foot, car or various boats.
Picked the hotel as it was not expensive and on the sea front. The bedroom was clean as was the bed linen. Everything smelled fresh. The windows were single glazed and one window would not close properly but not much of a problem in early spring - winter would have been terrible. Excellent electric heating, but too hot when we arrived and switched it off. Later in the evening we were having a problem with the heat adjustment and switched it off again. Everthing needed a good freshen-up. Breakfast was great, good choice and splendid, quick service. Plenty of friendly and helpful staff. The price we paid was really low considering the great breakfast! Fixing the heating problems would save money for a coat of paint and other minor enhancements.
3 out of 5
by james from hamilton

Council,, get the parking sorted ,, ,

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel does not have parking , there is parking meters across the road ,2 hours max , £2 40, 9 00 am till 6 00 pm ,, parking at the end of the Esplanade is £1 00 per hour , no all day , when I tried to cover all day to go to mull on the ferry it would not take it , I had to get 4 hours then come back to feed the meter again ,so no trip to mull ,, the hotel was basic ,, clean ,, good breakfast , friendly staff ,,good location ,,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Great location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Location is great
Cons: General upkeep could do with a revamp
Location: The Oban distillery is right around the corner...well worth a visit and a dram!
The hotel has obviously seen better days but as a base to use to explore it was perfect. I only stayed one night though so my experience is limited. Coach parties of older people seem to be the main visitors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2016
If I were an overseas tourists I would have never stayed. The hotel needs a good air to blow away the cobwebs, and the bed, I felt every spring on my back. And as for the view all I saw was a backyard dump from other properties. Never again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Breakfast awful. No money spent on hotel so it is in a poor state. Would not stay here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Door to the room wasn't very welcoming. Couldn't work out the shower and sink has still 2 separate taps for cold and warm water. But overall, ok. Everything what you need for one night