Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by MEI MEI CELIA from hong kong

Not an honest hotel, staff are rude.

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is old, a bit worn out but acceptable. Staff are rude and no one can communicate in English. I booked half board (hotspring dinner and breakfast) for 3 adults and 2 kids under 5 when I made booking. When dinner was served at our room, there's nothing for the 2 kids. I raised my request in the reception, the lady said meals for children are excluded. I argued it's a package for all guests staying here, and there's no special conditions staying meals are not included for kids in the voucher or anywhere when I made the booking. Then the lady said the hotel didn't charge room rate for the 2 kids. I was super made, I searched the hotel with my phone at hotels.com instantly, I showed the lady the price are different with a combination of “3 adults only” and “3 adults + 3 children”. I questioned her and asked her to explain why prices are divergent if the hotel won't charge for kids. She had no words but said ok ok. I never encountered such a rude and deceived Japanese people and service in my more than 10 times’ visit to Japan. I strongly recommend you NOT to stay with them.
3 out of 5
by Jessica from Singapore

Authentic ryokan / onsen exp, dinner is a let down

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Booked an overnight stay at the Ryokan as we were passing through from Osaka, which was my husband's first stay at a ryokan. We picked the 10 mat japanese style room, and the room was very spacious including closed balcony area with some seats. We topped up to include dinner service and breakfast, as I wanted my husband to experience a full ryokan experience with in-room dining. However, considering the price we paid, the quality of the kaiseki dinner, while pretty to look at, was rather lacking somewhat in standard to someone accustomed to fine japanese food. We did however opt to book a private family onsen, of which the hotel offers 3 choices - 1 partially open air, and 2 closed ones. We picked the "wine" one - water was literally the colour of red wine, and a good soak. Plenty of other free onsens to try out - some covered, and some outdoor. Only other thing to be mindful is the hotel is rather dated (but still clean), but if you don't mind that, it does make for an authentic ryokan / onsen experience. Far more intimate experience than larger onsen hotels i've tried in Hokkaido. Only reason why rating is lower is because of quality of kaiseki given the price point.
5 out of 5
by Grace77bristol from Hong Kong

Perfect place for relaxation

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
Situated beside the river, the surrounding atmosphere is so calm and beautiful. The room is spacious with traditional Japanese decoration. You can try on Japanese yukata provided by the hotel. We had the dinner in our room. The best part goes to the hot spring. It is particularly wonderful to enjoy the outdoor onsen.
4 out of 5
by Agatha from HK

Comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels
Relaxing
5 out of 5
by Alvin Ng from Singapore

Excellent onsen getaway

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
A beautiful and authentic little onsen that is value for money. The rooms are comfortable and some of the rooms are even able to tap onto the free wifi network at the hotel lobby. This is definitely the onsen to go to in Japan. Many people including myself, specially made the trip down to the onsen from Osaka. 5 stars for the onsen!
5 out of 5
by Dreamliner from New York

Excellent services

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels
We arrived late about10:30pm because our flight to Osaka delayed and the car navi a little good in English but finally we arrived they still waiting for welcome with traditional Japanese dinner, peach Sake was impressive and wonderful I/we will go back again....
5 out of 5
by miki from canada

Highly recommended!

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful Ryokan to experience authentic Japanese style accomodation in the heart of Arima hot springs area. I called the hotel and the shuttle bus came to pick us up from the train station within 5min. The building was old, which adds its traditional atmosphere, but our room was very clean. Several different baths to choose from, we also booked two of their private baths with views in advance(with extra charge), the limit of 40min is a little too short but we really enjoyed it. There was also a small bath tub in the room which we never needed to use. We chose to have dinner in our room, it was amazing! Great food and great service. We were both very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
by G from Singapore

could have been perfect

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
the food served in this onsen hotel is superb. so are their female staff. biggest let down are their male front desk staff. while their pick up service is efficient, the male greeter did not even bother to help with the bags on arrival. he only did so reluctantly when asked to help a female passenger. same thing happened on departure. another male door staff did not assist the female guests when they obviously struggled with their luggage. very unbecoming for a top class Japanese hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Denise

pleasant stay

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels
It was easy to get to this hot spring hotel from Osaka. We took the express shuttle bus and it only took us around 1 hr one way. Hotel staff was very nice, we were given a free little bottle of sake of our welcome gift. We stayed there on a Thur and it wasn't a lot of visitors so we were able to enjoy the hot spring more privately. Dinner in room was the best part, it totally filled us up and the service was very good. Bedding was also very comfortable. The down side of this hotel is that it's a little dated, it didn't bother us though, it adds into the "tradition feel" of the hot spring resort.