Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT SERVICE DOG FRIENDLY!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Management and staff screening and training
My son had a house fire and lost everything but his service dog. We needed a place for them to stay a few days. He had stayed there for a 5 days the week before without issue but this time was totally different. The maintenance man harassed him questioning him about his disabilities and why he needed a service dog, accused my son of trying to get the dog to attack a stray kitten on property. When my son went to the front desk to report this and ask for the manager he was told by the woman at front desk she wasn't going to call her until later, she didn't want to bother her, REALLY??!! Then the police came knocking, seem an "anonymous" woman make a vicious dog report, of course when the officer saw a well mannered service dog he apologized and left. Much later that afternoon the Manager showed up and told my son the maintenance man had been moved to another motel so everything was fine now......... very sad that a disability can still get such treatment. Will never use Motel 8 again.
4 out of 5
by Rosemary

Alumni Student at Chiulocco.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was a great trip. Attended the Reunion at Chilocco Indian School. Second time staying at the facility and it was great.
4 out of 5
by Lloyd

Trip to #ArkCity

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The recent reviews don't match the place. The property is under new ownership. There is a turnaround happening. The staff was very friendly. For the price, the facility would be worthy of consideration.
4 out of 5
by william

HOTEL.COM is LOUSEY

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Receptionist was very helpful. The hotel did not have this Hotel.com reservation however; so my review of hotel.com is LOUSY.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

If they offer to comp your room don't believe it!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Start over from scratch and hire better staff!
Location: It's sad the condition of this hotel as Arkalalah is a big celebration and the town needs decent hotel space.
The first room they gave us hadn't been cleaned. When we went to the second room my husband raised the covers on the bed to see if the mattress was covered and a used condom fell on the floor. At that point I went the car to leave and find another place to stay. The manager on duty offered my husband a complimentary night if we stayed and he agreed. We were supposed to stay five nights but our stay was cut short due to unforeseen changes. We were supposed to not be charged for Thursday and we checked out early Sunday morning. I was told we would only be charged for two nights, Friday and Saturday. But instead we were charged the five nights and refunded for only two nights. So we ended up being charged for Thursday, Friday and Saturday and not comped a nights stay at all. We will not be staying there again, I will go to Wichita or Ponca City instead and definitely not a Super 8.
5 out of 5
by Forsha

nice room

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
as nice as any upscale motel.Was very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ulysses, KS

Affordable hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: the affordability
Location: I know that you can't do anything about this, but having a dark vacant hotel for sale next door was rather creepy!
We came to town for the Miss Cowley County pageant and were very happy with our accommodations. The staff were very courteous and helpful! Thank you for the nice stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Orbitz
This staff was nice but they have bugs. Do not stay at this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was okay. I don't think the bathroom was cleaned as there was a dirty q-tip on the floor and blue goo in the tub. (Like a ring from the bottom of a shampoo bottle) We had a smoking room (for my husband) and didn't realize until an hour before we left that there was an attached sitting room with a window. It would have been nice to know that beforehand since I don't smoke. The continental breakfast was mediocre. (Just cold items..no eggs, bacon or sausage)