Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by daniel from Albany , New York.

Great hotel in Arles

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay to visit Arles. Close to everything. Lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

the best staff in all my France trip

Posted Sep 14, 2015
The hotel was great, awesome location and beautiful decoration. My wife and I stayed there while traveling through France. The staff was the most helpful on all of our trip, The receptionist helped us with dinner reservations and sightseeing a recommendations. The only reason I rated it 4 stars is because the elevator shut down for a malfunction while we were there.
5 out of 5
by JackL from Milwaukee

Hospitable Gem in Medieval Arles

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel D'Artlatan's staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. They are proficient in English. The ancient building is decorated in Provencal/antiques in the room, while the shared spaces are post-modern and art-focused. The lovely courtyard has a swimming pool and breakfast seating. The breakfast was the best we had in France, with a wide variety of locally sourced products. Staff help you to navigate the challenging streets of Arles if you have a car and parking is secure. Would absolutely return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleep in some history

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was for one night only and very glad we chose it. Perfect location, so close to the square of restaurants, the Van Gogh foundation and short walk to the church and the amphitheatre. Being in the old Count's residence it made for sleeping in a little history. Very boutique with it's own personality. Enormously high ceiling in the room with canopied beds in some and we had a terrace. Yes, some of the floor tiles were loose, it is a little run down in some areas, some paint may be chipping but part of the charm and then there's perfect pieces of antiques. They've nicely combined some modern common areas with art in both furniture and painting. The courtyard for breakfast is beautiful although I'm not sure the bright blue of the classical statute was a good choice. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Being able to have the car parked was great and not overly expensive but be aware, driving around the ancient streets is very very tight and difficult around the corners.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from Florida

cool hotel and loved the pool in this hot summer!

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing historic hotel. The location was great to walk around and driving there was an experience on its own! The pool was a blessing with the heat, so if you travel in the summer keep this in mind. The only negative was when we decided to have breakfast on our last day, we got there with an hour left in breakfast and there was not a lot of food left. But the hotel was full. Staff was great!
5 out of 5
by Oscar from Valencia

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

A historic oasis in central Arles

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Historic character in all rooms - garden courtyards - pool
Location: Central to all major sites in Arles - forum, theatre, Van Gogh Foundation, museum
The charm & beauty of Arles was heightened by our stay @ Hotel d'Arlatan. The historical ambience, character filled rooms, court yards, garden & swimming pool was a highlight in our experience in Provence. The hotel's central location was an added bonus. Courteous & helpful staff were also appreciated.
2 out of 5
by John from OKC

Not any more

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
I visited this hotel 8 years ago. It has gone down hill a bit since. Toilet lid was loose. Man came to fix it. Continued to be loose. Air conditioning ran continuously and still could not keep up. No shower, just a handheld and a bathtub. And this was their nicest $250 room. The garage was $15 per night and someone has to park your car it's so narrow. They give you a code to get through a street stantion in order to even get to the hotel. Took 15-20 min after leaving hotel to get a mile away. Better to stay on the outskirts and walk in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Brilliant location hidden in the city centre.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for just one night when visiting Arles. Perhaps the most tricky thing about this visit was actually getting to the hotel but they did provide us with some excellent written instructions when they confirmed the booking . To get to the hotel you are likely to have to drive down streets which suggest you can't and you may also need to use a code, which the hotel gave us, to remove an electronic bollard. The hotel offers parking, which is really important because there is and match in the city centre. They park the car for you . Rooms are simple, furnished in a Provencal manner. Curtains have Provencal prints, there are tiled floors, and simple bedroom furnishings . The hotel does also feature a range of quirky, old pieces of furniture which are more conversation pieces than for use! Breakfast is served in an internal courtyard which is full of planters and flowers. It provides a very peaceful setting to start and end the day. Breakfast is plentiful and of good quality . There is also a swimming pool, although we didn't use that because of time constraints The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. We both agreed that we would probably return to this hotel in the future based on its excellent location and value for money .
5 out of 5
by Chang from California

Must stay

Posted Jun 28, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location and beautiful little town with immense history and sites concentrated within.