Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very peaceful

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, solitude.
Cons: I would suggest that a step stool be provided for the bed as it was very high and I struggled getting into it. Also, I couldn't find the thermostat
I enjoyed my short stay - slept well, was warm enough with the gas fireplace. It was clean, comfortable and very peaceful.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Arlington Inn

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: N/A
Location: Arlington, VT is 7 miles away from the NY border and we stayed there on our way to Cooperstown - home of the Baseball Hall of Fame!
Beautiful, historic inn, wonderful owner/operator, clean, and even has a resident ghost! (We didn’t meet the ghost though.)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Awful mildew smell

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Orbitz
I had such expectations for this hotel based on the reviews. I booked it’s a surprise for my husbands birthday. When we arrived the bed and breakfast left me un impressed the roof looked like it was falling apart. The reception desk was cluttered and very messy. We walked into our room the Lucinda Suite and immediately were hot with the smell of mildew. The inn had no vacancy so we could not switch rooms and nothing available near by. I had to spray air freshener and even then it smelled awful. They had a huge leak on the ceiling which was not painted and stains on the carpet. The jacuzzi faucet leaked all night long. We also had cobwebs on the ceiling. The sink in the bathroom had a crack in it. I can’t belueve I paid 345 dollars for the night. I will not be staying there again nor will I recommend this to anyone.... pictures are truly deceiving...
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Charming, romantic, convenient, quiet, GREAT!

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Cons: I didn't care about it, but some movie watchers might like a larger tv in the room. It was fine for what I wanted.
Location: Norman Rockwell's home and covered bridge close, Sugar Shack maple syrup house and Norman Rockwell exhibit, Hildene (Abe Lincoln's son's estate)
Loved our stay. Easy to find, easy to park, beautiful place, nice people, fantastic breakfast (choose anything you want off the menu.. omeletes, pancakes, eggs, yogurt with granola, blueberry muffins, bacon, sausage, juice selection) sunny solarium breakfast room, best coffee I've ever had served help yourself, high grade local Vermont maple syrup, nicely decorated room, beautiful dining room for dinner (optional of course). Cannot think of anything I would change!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The room was extremely dirty and dusty and smelled funny
5 out of 5
by Louis

Fall getaway

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
The Arlington is very nice. Big room and bed. Breakfast was great. The inn keeper was very accomadating. Good time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing Inn experience

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I always wanted to stay in this famous Inn in such a beautiful location. I have gone to Vermont one weekend every year for 30 years for fall foliage and have stayed in different towns each time. I looked forward to this weekend, fully expecting to pay higher than I normally do for a small motel, given I'm staying at this famous Inn. I found the person greeting us not super friendly or helpful. I knew our room was in a separate building from the Inn and was on the second floor. She told me the front door handle lock doesn't work well and if closed fully, the door gets stuck--so why not ever fix it? Unacceptable. The stairs leading up to the room were the most narrow and steep stairs I could barely manage--and understood these buildings date back 100 years--but advise that in your room description. The TV room with the twin bed smelled of fireplace-type smoke that was awful. The bathroom toilet never stopped running and had a pool of water on the floor from it. There was a clawfoot tub which again, fits the decor of the Inn, but with someone suffering from leg and back issues, it should be noted in the room description. The sitting parlor, dining room, breakfast room and breakfast were lovely and so was the waitress that served us breakfast. For the money charged, I am sorry I didn't stay in either another Inn or for less, a local motel or hotel. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Needs some TLC

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The structure is amazing. Everything beyond that is sorely in need of attention. The gardens need tending, the bath towels were musty, the person checking us in was so uninviting. This could be a gem so it is sad to see that no one is aware of the state that things are in. Hope to hear that things get back on track. There is a lot of competition in the area which requires one to be on their game.
5 out of 5
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We didn't stay as planned because Expedia booked us for the wrong night. We were billed for a night we were still at home. The night we arrived they had no reservation for us. We drove home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by AI, Hotel Management
Sorry about your experience with Expedia. We have all conferred and do not recall having a guest arrive with a reservation for a previous date. Had you been here and we were not sold out we would have happily transferred your reservation for the current evening.