Ratings based on 3,599 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Celebrating our wedding anniversary.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
The hotel staff helped make our stay very memorable. The manager sent us a bottle of wine and a lovely cheese plate. A few of the guest joined us in celebrating as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Free bus shuttle to airport and metro.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Free bus shuttle to airport and metro.5 minutes walk to supermarket. The room is very clean and the bed is super comfortable. I stayed at other 5 stars Hilton hotels and the room is almost the same. Highly recommended for the reasonable price and the room quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Lindsay B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the awesome review! I am happy to see you were able to enjoy the room and have a comfortable stay. We look forward to having you return next time you are in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, MD

Disappointed with Hilton

Posted Sep 17, 2017
I have stayed at many different Hiltons or stems of a Hilton and have always been impressed. Unfortunately with DoubleTree I was not. My experience consisted of waiting in line for 25 minutes then when we finally reach the front of the line an employee looked directly at us and decided to go in the back for 5-10 mins without even a "one moment I'll be right with you." Then on top of not really being super impressed with the rooms, at the end of the night we decided to stop at the sky zone for a drink and yet again were disappointed. Besides the view it was nothing special. Lastly, before leaving we are told the 50$ put down per night for "incidentals" was now being kept for a 32$ parking fee we were uninformed about and when leaving our keys didn't even work to let us out of the parking garage so we had to hold up others while waiting for assistance to leave. Over all, this hotel was a very bad reflection on Hiltons and we will not be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Lindsay B. , Hotel Management
Asia, First, let me start by saying thank you for choosing to stay with us at DoubleTree, and for choosing Hilton as well. I am disappointed to see your review, as typically many of our guests leave happy and with a great impression upon the Hilton brand. I apologize about the initial impression you received at check-in, as I know this can set the tone for the rest of your stay. I am not sure what exactly the situation was that the employee had to step away from the Front Desk abruptly, but I can assure you there was no intentions of making you feel ignored. I will be sure to relay this information to the Front Office Team. Our parking fees are listed on our website, and as you enter the garage as well. I'm sorry that the charges were not clearly communicated to you as well. I'm sincerely sorry that we were not up to expectation this time around. I do hope you can reconsider as we will take this feedback and work on improvement for future stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville Florida

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Convenient to DC sites. Comfortable beds. Must drive off site to park and use metro transit system to get to sites of interest. Good food at revolving restaurant atop hotel. Able to see Pentagon and other national treasures will enjoying dinnet and drinks. Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Lindsay B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the response! I'm glad you were able to enjoy the city & the Skydome while you were here! We look forward to seeing you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No a good experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I was told that Expedia have not sent my information to the hotel, although I showed them confirmation number but they said my name is not on their system
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Lindsay B. , Hotel Management
I am sorry to see that you did not have a good experience. I know this caused frustration. This could have happened for several back-end reasons, but I do hope that we were able to accommodate your stay. Please come back and see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great staff and very helpful. Hotel is very big so it's a little confusing to find your room however the staff was very accomodating to me and my family!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Lindsay Bishop , Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. I hope it wasn't too complicated trying to locate your room! It can be confusing sometimes for guests since rooms are located between 2 different towers, but, our staff tries their absolute best at giving directions and explaining how to get around. I'm happy to hear our staff was accommodating for your family. We look forward to welcoming you all back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted Sep 11, 2017
From the moment we pulled in, the staff was inattentive, rude and disrespectful. I will stay at DoubleTree again, but never this one!!! I would have given them a terrible for Hotel Staff, but the lady that checked us in was nice and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Lindsay Bishop , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. I am so glad you enjoyed the experience you had with our Front Desk Agent. I am so sorry you were left with a negative impression of the staff. Hopefully, you as well as readers of this review read the many other recent reviews to know that this impression is far from the norm. I hope that besides your impression, you had a comfortable stay. We truly hope you reconsider staying at our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Excelent hotel. Near the airport. Great sleep. Great food and drinks. I recomend it a lot. Good price also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Lindsay Bishop , Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! It's awesome to hear you found great value in your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Good Location but...

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: 1. Reduce the parking rate. Your guests should not be gauged, when other hotels have lower rates! 2.Front desk check in clerks could be friendlier.
Location: Convenient to the Mall and other local shops and restaurants.
I selected this particular hotel based on the location. It is convenient to the local mall and a short drive to Washington,DC. My 3 major issues were the following: 1. Parking Costs: excessive rate for parking. $32 for self parking and $34 for valet. Other hotels close by offer parking for $20 to $25 per day. 2. The interior hallways in the hotel are not properly ventilated and very warm/stuffy. 3. Overall the hotel is a bit dated. Needs a refresh.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Lindsay Bishop , Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback! I'm happy you found the location of the hotel to be convenient to many attractions. I do apologize about the issues you faced during your stay. I'm happy to relay all of this feedback to our Executive Team to improve future guest experiences. I hope you choose to return to our hotel, as we would love to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking Issues !

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: Parking ! and making sure the consumer is made aware of any additional charges before they happen !
The room was Nice, clean and without issues other than Parking - The Hotel had a very large number of guests Saturday evening so we had to park across the street at the Pentagon and WALK back to the hotel. I expressed my disappointment to the front desk and was told they would wave the U$ 30.00 parking charge. We were at no time ever aware that an additional charge of U$ 30.00 for parking was applicable ! So, in a nutshell they gave us something we were not aware of in the first place and made no effort to compensate us for the inconvenience posed by us having to park across the street in an open parking lot. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Lindsay B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. I am so sorry to hear about the issues you faced in parking. We do charge for parking, as it is listed on our website & on the large sign when you enter the parking garage. I do apologize the parking charges were not communicated clearly with you before, during, or after your stay. I will be sure to relay this feedback to our Front Office Team to ensure that we are communicating more clearly to our guests about parking. I hope that did this not deter you from choosing to stay at our hotel again, as I see you enjoyed the room & your stay! I look forward to welcoming you back.