Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Convenient for the war cemetery.

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Papendal was convenient for the Arnhem commemorations. The price was comparable. The room was clean. We struggled a bit with the in-room bathroom which meant we had to walk through the bedroom to wash our hands after using the toilet. The lighting wasn´t good. There was no bedside lighting as such meaning one couldn´t read without all the lights on allowing the other to sleep. Also the proximity light in the toilet woke the other when one used it. The beds weren´t the most comfortable we have slept on. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PENARTH

Modern hotel in attractive setting!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Staff,cleanliness,accommodation,quiet situation,car parking.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Beautiful woodland location great for walking and running.Approx. 3 miles into Arnhem,very easy drive into town.Hotel ideally situated near motorway .
A modern ultra clean spacious hotel situated in extensive woodland forms part of the National Sports Centre.It is used by sports teams as a training base and for conferences.During our stay the Netherland National Volley ball squad were in the hotel,but despite the large numbers involved it did not impinge on our stay in any way.The rooms were very good,simple,clean and spacious.Bar facilities and restaurant excellent and the staff VERY friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Cornelius

Top notch hotel at a surprising value

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is a bit out of the way, but absolutely amazing. Obviously a mecca for athletes and sports enthusiasts, this was a great place to come and recover after the Nijmegen march. Rooms were very comfortable, and the onsite restaurant and pub had healthy and delicious options at fair prices. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by Semiah

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel location is not good. Far from the center of arhem so if you dont have a car then open transportation n in that neighbourhood will be complicated. But overall it it a nice hotel Room are ok. But no airconditioning.and i was not aware of that too. Will not stay there anymore
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Reception staff were very obliging and had great communications skills. There were a couple of minor problems in the room which were attended to promptly eg (TV not working and water not getting away in bathroom sink) An excellent buffet breakfast served daily.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acessable easy convenient hotel if you have a car

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
All good breakfast staff a little rude
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rye

excellent hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
we cycled to Arnhem from Belgium. we were very impressed with this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Really Good. Very Happy.
4 out of 5
by steven

Good bargain near park

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
small, spartan room, but good value. Breakfast buffet good deal at 15 euro for two.
5 out of 5
by james from winter park, florida

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
excellent hotel to help adjust to our travels. the restaurant was exceptional and the staff was friendly and helpful. added attraction were the groups of athletes training at the facilities.