Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Calaveras Big trees redwoods and relax

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Close to the Calaveras Big Trees redwoods groves, the old gold mining towns of Murphys, and Mark Twain's Angel's Camp of frog jumping fame. Condo had front and rear patios great for enjoying out doors, two bedrooms with baths, and kitchen with living room. Works well as a family vacation/romantic get away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing and Unique

Posted Jul 11, 2016
The people there were extremely friendly, as they would always greet with a good morning or hold the door, etc. The room we had was great as well, it was very big and could fit all of us. They had a bunch of great movie channels on the TV and rentable DVDs. The best part was the office though because they had a fooseball table, a pool table, a mini library, a wii/movie room, and a pool. There is also a country club nearby which was pretty cool, and there was free popcorn in our rooms. Overall the stay was very warm and welcoming. If i were to come in the area again, i would most definetely come back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
Looks like bathroom need extra TLC as some water damage around shower. Kitchen sink focet was old and very stiff a few times I thought it would break. The quiet and peacefulness of the resort made up for the needed maintenance issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condo in the woods

Posted Apr 19, 2016
We were visiting the nearby caverns in Murphys and planned to stay in Arnold overnight. Found a great deal on Expedia at this hotel/resort. A little dated, but happily found a three-story condo/townhome to settle into. Nearby country club restaurant was quite delicious. We will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2016
The cabin had no problems and even had a fully stocked kitchen.
5 out of 5
by Jorge from Plumas Lake, CA

Hidden Gem Close to Big Trees...

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent getaway at the Mountain Retreat Resort! This was an excellent place to stay, given its proximity to Big Trees. The Hotel staff/front desk where courteous, and friendly. The condos were roomy, clean and spacious. The resort pool, hot tub and sauna were outstanding. Although I didn't have an opportunity to golf, the golf course itself was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salinas

More than expected

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Attention to detail is apparent in this hotel from friendly service to housekeeping. Even though the interior is apparently dated, my unit 22 was spotlessly clean and spacious. There was plenty of room to lounge around and plenty of storage. It feels closer to three star facility, with pool, public kitchen, office, game rooms, library, workout room, restaurant across the street, golf course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello ann mother of 4. Thank you for taking the time to provide a response of your visit. We are thrilled that your unit was spotlessly clean and spacious enough to house your belongings. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of your company again whenever you’re in Arnold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice accommodations great location!

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The size and cleanliness of the rooms and the convenient locations.
Cons: The same staff attendant was there every night and couldnt' be less helpful. We got the feeling that everything we asked for was an inconvenience...
Location: Amazing location - just below the chains needed snow line, but within a half hour of skiing, snow activities, near Calaveras Big Trees and Murphys!
While the accommodations are dated and the common areas are small, the individual units are large and nicely located in the trees. It is really nicely located between Murphys - a cute little town and Calaveras Big Trees State Park - a must see experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Susan. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and letting us know how we did. The team really appreciates your comments. We look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The receptionist wasn't welcoming

Posted Feb 21, 2016
All the rest was perfect The room has all you need