Ratings based on 444 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location, beautiful beach

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Great location, beautiful beach
Cons: Room cleaning, room location should be clearer, would not have selected the room we had
Location: Fabulous beach, short cab ride downtown, many great restaurant choices
Nice hotel, nice restaurants, friendly staff. Room was just okay, cleaning prompt but not stellar
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate the feedback as we try to improve our services with our guest's comments. Thank you for the kind words!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Absolutely beautiful location, 100 feet from the ocean, free beach access, thatched roof huts, free beach lounge chairs, towels. Staff very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to see that you took advantage of our convenient location. It means a lot to hear that our staff was helpful as well! We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay and thank you for taking the time to review us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I was very delighted with the Amsterdam Mannor. My family of five stayed in the two bedroom suite overlooking Eagle beach. I was very impressed with how equipped the kitchen was since we cooked many of our meals in our little apartment. The grocery store was within walking distance which made everything easier. The view was spectacular from our balcony and I couldn't be more happier for choosing this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are glad that you had a nice stay and that you were able to enjoy the perks of our location! We hope you will return again! Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
We LOVED it!! Everything from the hotel location and amenities down to the friendliness of the staff was excellent!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind words! We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay! It means a lot to hear that you had such a great experience here. We hope to welcome you back to our island soon! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskogee, OK

low rise area - WITHOUT the Casinos

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location. The hotel is just across the street from the beach in the low rise district. Very family oriented, and staff is very friendly.
Cons: ? Not sure. The staff were wonderful, and the hotel was so conveniently located. It is an older hotel, but very well maintained.
Location: Located in the low rise hotel district and just across the street from the beach (50 meters or so). A 20 minute walk to hi-rise area and shopping.
Exactly what we wanted. On the beach (across street), and no casino. From check-in to check-out, the stay was fabulous. The breakfast staff, Juan and Marlene(sp) were especially gracious. All staff that we interacted with were very friendly. We stayed during the Christmas Holiday, and I'm sure that they would have rather been home with their families, but they were very cheerful and made our holiday a very memorable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the convenient location of the hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our staff and property and hope to welcome you back in the future for another memorable experience! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

One happy island

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Very nice hotel, 1 BR suite is spacious and comfortable 723 sqft. The full kitchen is a plus so you can save money if you are willing to cook breakfast; the supermarket is only two blocks away. The beach is nice but the waves could be rough for older people. AC units are in great condition. I will come back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear AJ Texas, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate the kind words. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC Metro

Not for me- too basic

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Basically this hotel totally sucks. I cannot explain too much how much it sucks but it totally totally totally sucks
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear NOVA, We are sorry to hear that our hotel was not to your liking. If you would like to provide us with feedback so that we may improve our services, please feel free to contact us. It is our goal to make sure all our guests have a memorable vacation and we are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

The perfect Hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: the architecture, the room design and everything was very clean.
Cons: The only issue was the water pressure. Some times it was very low and the temperature would go from warm to very hot and back during showers.
Location: grocery store within walking distance with everything i am used to in the States and the prices were similar to what i am used to as well.
My family loved the accommodations. The hotel is very close to the beach. The beach was not crowded and their were many activities to take advantage of. The hotel restaurants were delicious. The lovation of the hotel was perfect. The grocery store was within walking distance. The satff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Tobi, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed the architecture and design of the hotel and that our staff was accommodating. We have addressed the water pressure issue and hope that it will not be a problem in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel right on Eagle Beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Stayed at Amsterdam Manor this week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is positioned right opposite Eagle Beach , one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. We ate at so many top notch restaurants on the island , but by far my favourite was Passions on the Beach , which is opposite the hotel. Every single member of staff at Amsterdam Manor was friendly, especially Peter at Horizons Bar. He always had a smile on his face and he loves a sing-a-long! He helped my friends set up a surprise for us on arrival and was happy to keep them informed of our whereabouts. What a star!! My only negative ( and it's a small point) is their mini market . It's very mini !! Would definitely love to return one day
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Sallyr, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time. It means a lot to hear that the staff was accommodating. We have relayed your feedback to management about the mini-market. Thank you again for the review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

We could have stayed forever...

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We loved our stay at AMBR...steps from the beach, comfortable suite, friendly, helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you for the kind words! We are happy you enjoyed the wonderful beach and that our staff was helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for taking the time to review us!