Ratings based on 1,342 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel with lots of room at pool and beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Loved the pool and beach area as we never felt we were on top of others.
Cons: However, the smoke that emanates from the casino can be smelled whenever you are in the main lobby and even upstairs in the hallways.
Location: Location is great right on the beach and best excursion is to absolutely rent a jeep for the day and do the other side of the island via 4WD.
Took a relaxing one week get away to the Marriott and had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly atmosphere, room design , and food.
Cons: Maybe not having Marriott Vacation Club sales people trying to talk you into a tour when your trying to enjoy the sun.
Location: Walking distance of other hotel restaurants and shopping mall.
Staff always helpful and accommodating. Hotel location was walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shopping. Pool and beach area were nice. Food was delicious at all restaurants on property. I highly recommend sun set dining on the beach at Atari. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and couldn't have had a more perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing Hotel!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything: especially service, beach, huts, sand and service.
Cons: Have happy hour drinks all day long!
Location: Its next to last hotel on the beach and I felt it was more secluded away from the centre and everyone else yet close to water sports, restaurants, etc
I am glad we booked this hotel because its huts, beach, sand, pools, drinks, restaurant by the beach, service, lobby, rooms, stores - I can go on and on, everything was just perfect, and I almost never say this. My next booking would certainly be back at Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NORTH CAROLINA

ROOM 211 IS LOCATED JUST ABOVE THE "COMEDY CLUB"

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: ADULT POOL, LOBBY BAR AREA AND NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT THERE
Cons: DO NOT BOOK ROOM 211 OVER COMEDY CLUB OR SOUND PROOF THE COMEDY CLUB OR MOVE ELSEWHERE.
NOISY ROOM ABOVE COMEDY CLUB UNTIL ABOUT 10:30 EACH NIGHT; OTHERWISE OK
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Overpriced and services are not great

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location is pretty good.
Cons: Service on beach (more people to help with chairs, meals, etc), better concierge service. This was just not an easy vacation.
The people in Aruba are wonderful. However, the cost of this hotel far exceeds the quality of the resort. Room service had to be called several times to change bedding in the room. It is impossible to get a Palapa on the beach and if you don't have shade, you will burn to a crisp. We were told that we had to move our beach chairs 5 feet to the left, because we were in a "child free zone" reserved for Tradewinds members (yes, the Marriott resort made me move my children even though I was paying over $800/night for a room). I had a $250 resort credit for booking through Expedia, but Marriott would not honor it until I showed them the e-mail from Expedia. The concierge messed up my dinner reservations. And Concierge only refers guests to De Palm tour excursions, which are very expensive and over-hyped. Not worth the money at all. I would not stay at this resort again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Cosmopolitan hotel with a great vibe

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Our Junior Suite was expensive but I would choose this hotel any day over the others because it was clean and stylish and it wasn't overrun with unruly kids or pot bellied vacationers. The photos of the room are accurate but they were definitely taken from an angle to give maximum effect. Wrap around terrace is quite nice and the room was fairly soundproof so you can relax even though there's a daily club atmosphere at the pool. But beware of the $45 Sunday brunch!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Seeking the Sun - Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Aruba stay

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Free Volleyball at the pool
Cons: Cost, food
Location: YOu need a 10 minute walk south to get to the parties and good restaurants.
I'll make it quick and sweet: Pros: 1. 50 dollar resort credits (again, it comes at a high nightly price) 2. Staff attitude, warm and welcoming 3. Pool and beach: well organized and easy access Cons: 1. Cost. Dinner buffet with breakfast, per person for two meals/day, over $200. A small breakfast at Starbucks was 40 bucks. I don't mind that, however, the food is JUST mediocre. With a 10 minute walk south, you can get much better breakfast and dinner for 1/2 of the price. Again, not about the money, it's about want I got FOR the money. 2. Loud atmosphere. Our door was facing right above the lobby, crowd and music were loud until late night. 3. Okay room condition. Light switches were old and had smudges, no safe in the room. 4. Too commercialized. Everything you see and everyone you talk to seems very monetarily motivated. No matter it's the vacation club, the jewelry store you pass by every day, the "free bag" coupon they give you at a store that wants you to make various purchases, the Bazzar that carries the 22 dollar Tylenol that is about 5 bucks here, and the "Mystery prizes" they gave you so you can turn in your driver's license or Passport to get ONE slot machine spin. LOL Overall, the stay was as plain was its food. Nothing special and IMO, NOT worth its price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel & great location.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything. Great music in the lobby every night.
Cons: Warmer pool.
Location: Too many to name.
Marriott was great we had friends staying at the Ritz Carlton whichnwas right next door, about a 5 min. Walk. Marriott pool was colder than the pool @ the Ritz, that's the only negative about the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ma

Very nice and quality hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Our stay was great at this hotel. First time in Aruba and we will go back. The only downside to staying here is keep in mind there is another $125 in fees between local taxes and the resort fee. I was surprised it was that high. When the average room is 500 a night that another 25% on top. Just be aware and enjoy the island
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hotel needs remodeling

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Rooms are small and outdated. Had to change rooms and wasted two days of our vacation. Holes in curtains . Lamps that did not work or fell apart in our hands . Wi-Fi extra cost unless you're a Marriott Rewards member . Limited towels and toiletries . Very disappointing will never go back there again.