Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila

Amazing I will be back

Posted May 22, 2017
This was my first time in Aruba but it won't be my last. The resort was everything. The food was delicious And they have plenty of water activities on site . Night life is directly across the street. Not even a Two minute walk. And last but not the least the Party bus was everythingggggg please please please stay here u won't be disappointed. The staff was great I can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful hotel, clean, modern.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly atmosphere, all of the different restaurants. Of course all inclusive.
Cons: Your french toast for breakfast. Should be thicker. Creamer with coffee not only milk. More seafood. Casino, let people win a little something
Location: Never left the hotel
Had a great vacation. Hotel room clean, everything about the hotel was perfect. Pool, beach very clean. Went sailing around the island. Can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Helena, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pros and cons with us. We will surely use your observations to keep improving. We are so sorry you did not win anything at the casino. Hopefully on your next visit Lady Luck will be waiting on you. We look forward to seeing you soon again at our property. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great location

Posted May 19, 2017
Just returned from a 4 night stay. Great location - beautiful beach - friendly staff - clean resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you for sharing and thanks for visiting. We look forward to be able to host you again in the near future. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville TN

Great Experience

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Balance of plenty to do but not overcrowded. Met and mingled with other guests in bar which was included. Took the romance deal and was glad I did.
Cons: Hot water appeared to be in short supply in afternoons
Location: Do the Segway! Had a blast. Also Scuba dived with pickup right at the Hotel. Location is as good as it gets on a great beach, and near lots of opti
Really great location. Good beach and shops nearby. Hotel had great accommodations - bar, pools, Casino. Food at Italian Restaurant was best. Buffets were actually pretty good. Staff was friendly and helpful. All-inclusive deal worked for us. Easier to get a table for meals and saved time and $. We would go there again! Really had no significant issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for choosing Barcelo Aruba for your getaway and for sharing your experience with us. Certainly it appears you had a wonderful time and we are so happy for that. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

STOP reading all the negative reviews!

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly, restaurants were really fast and amazing views
Cons: Only thing would be more water in the rooms. But I was hung over a lot :-)
Location: I walked to Starbucks every day and had coffee and did some work, and the night life is directly across the street! You can walk to the bars.
I first read a lot of the reviews on this hotel and was discouraged by all the negativity towards the staff, food and service. I am in a different country every 10 days for work, and let me tell you, this hotel and staff is fantastic! I had my free dinner and wine each night on the waterfront watching the sunset in one of their many restaurants, and not once did I have a 'bad' experience with a staff member. True, they do not have pool cocktail staff, so walk over and get your free drinks yourself, no big deal. I was friendly to everyone, and everyone was very friendly to me. Each night I would walk into breakfast or dinner and was greeted like I had been staying there for 5 months. Then again I was really nice to the staff as well. I saw one or two guests be kind of rude to the staff, but where do you think that is going to get you? I wonder what the guests complaining on this site did to have staff be not friendly to them? There were complaints about fines for feeding the wild life? I had Iguanas sitting on my lap eating lettuce, and the staff showed me what they like to eat! The rooms were very clean, and I had one or two special requests and the hotel was very accommodating. I'm in Aruba three times a year and from now on this is the only hotel I'm staying at! Don't buy into any negativity about this hotel, it's not true.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you so much for this review. It goes to show that positivity goes a long way. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here with us and we are more than happy to be your home away from home from now on. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel but lousy food and drinks

Posted May 12, 2017
The hotel was clean and staff was nice and very helpful but the food and drinks were not very good at all. They have a very small alcohol selection and the only food that was good was the restaurants that you had to reserve for dinner. There wasn't a lot to do at the hotel either. We got pretty bored very quick at the hotel. Meanwhile next door they had music and stuff going on a lot. I went to bed early every night I was there which wasn't what I wanted to do while on vacation. The pool and the beach are nice but in the evening there wasn't really anything to do at the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ciara, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so sorry to read that you got bored. On a daily basis we have outdoor activities going on which are posted daily in the Grand Journal that is delivered each night in the rooms. We also have nightly entertainment each and every night in the ballroom ranging from Latin to Vegas style shows. There is also a dj booth at the Lobby Lounge for your entertainment and a small casino just a stone toss away. I am so sorry you missed out on all of that. We hope you will visit us again and experience everything you missed while being in house. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel!! Home away from home!!

Posted May 4, 2017
My wife and I have been coming to this resort for years. This was our 8th visit. First time under new ownership, Barcelo. We were very happy with the experience. The staff were all very friendly. The room they gave us was Amazing!! The food was very tasty. We especially enjoyed the Mexican restaurant. The addition of more palapas on the beach was great; unfortunately, we were sad to see the bar at the beach gone. A little annoying to walk to the pool area everytime we wanted a drink. The new casino was a disappointment. No life. We had to go to other hotel casinos to play. The new lounge was very nice. Big improvement from the little 10x 10 space they had previously. Overall we were very satisfied and look forward to returning in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laurence, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you liked the improvements. We also have wait service on the beach in case you don't want to walk back to the pool bar for drinks. We look forward to host you again soon. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Being close to the beach and the pool was probably the only positive. Found the staff not very friendly or the clientele. Check in was difficult. The hotel needs a policy regarding feeding and picking up the wildlife within the hotel. Clientele should be warned that if they feed or pick up wildlife they will be fined or least tell them it's not allowed for the safety of the clientele and the animals. I wouldn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. We are not sure what caused this unsatisfaction and we regret that you did not contact our Guest Services Desk to vent. Many of our guest enjoy feeding the iguanas and the birds. And we only encourage the feeding of the iguanas with lettuce. We hope that you will change your mind someday and visit us again in the near future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Hotel & perfect for families

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: It's on a public beach so get a spot by 6 AM in order to be in some shade.
This hotel was great, very clean, the food was good, the staff was really nice. Thanks for Martin for all of his help! We would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kerry, Thank you very much for your rating and for choosing our property for your vacation. We look forward to host you again in the near future. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Disappointing

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The only thing that I could say that was good about this hotel was the location but there are better resorts in the same row.
Cons:
My husband and I were so excited to return to Aruba since our last time there 9 months ago. We were even more excited to be coming with our brother and sister-in-law and our two nieces who had never been to Aruba before. Although we loved our time in Aruba, we were very disappointed with the Barcelo Aruba Resort. This was the first time that my husband and I have done an all-inclusive resort in Aruba. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency resort on our last trip and LOVED it but thought we'd try an all-inclusive with our family which we thought would be great. Although there was always a buffet for breakfast and lunch, the food was sub-par at best. There was a variety of types of restaurants that were open for dinner, however, left alot to be desired. When speaking with other trip-goers who stayed at this resort, the consensus was the same. We were all for spending the extra money for the all-inclusive but saw no benefit to it when the food was not good and the bars didn't even have much variety either. Our rooms weren't too bad, however, the towel rack (which had a bar and shelving for folded towels) fell right off of our wall and almost hit me on the head. When someone came to repair it, I was almost made to feel like they were put out by having to fix it or that it was our fault. Also, our family's key cards just stopped working which locked them out of their room. They had to walk down to the front desk 4x before someone would come help them which took over an hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Aurelia Croes, Quality MAnager, Hotel Management
Dear Cynthia, Thank you for choosing Barceló Aruba and for taking the time to write a review. We are truly disappointed to read that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. There is no excuse for poor service and not responding to guests' needs, and for that we are truly sorry. Your feedback is important to us as it highlights many areas for improvement, which we will address with our team immediately. We sincerely regret that your stay was not as pleasant as it should have been and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one for all the right reasons. Sincerely,