Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch??

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Cons: Treat customers like guest!
Location: No comment
I would like to share with you our experience when we went to Divi Dutch Village Beach Resort in Aruba for our anniversary this past April 9th, 2016. We arrived from the airport at approximately 4 PM, after ten hours travel time, to the Divi Village check in and went to the counter. Important to note this was our Anniversary trip back to Divi, where we celebrated our honeymoon last year. Our Anniversary plans were placed through and paid for with Expedia. At that time I requested a ground floor due to medical reasons, same as last year when we went to Divi on our honeymoon. We are an older couple and I have back issues that prevent me from doing stairs and there are no elevators at Divi Village. It was all fine I was told, both by Expedia and then a couple weeks after when I called the Divi customer service line to make sure. They advised the resort would take care of it. We went up to the counter and the male clerk there welcomed us and found our paperwork, he advised it would be $400 (four hundred dollars) more because we requested a ground floor, although it was still a basic standard studio. I advised this has been planned since January and there had been no mention from Expedia nor Divi of any additional costs. And now to be surprised upon checking in that in order to stay at Divi we would need to pay an additional $400 more! Both my wife and I were shocked. Seemed like a bait and switch now that we have traveled 10 hours to get there. We could not figure out how no
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny Tiny Room but Clean

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The first floor units - it is terrible being on the 2nd or 3rd floor - feels like being in a box and not vacation.
Cons: So much. I don't think anyone works at front desk. They could be trained a little in customer service or be nicer to guests who call with questions.
Tiny tiny tiny room - with no views or windows. Worst part is that these are connected to larger suite that you heard every word spoken. It was terrible - I called front desk several times but they didn't do anything. Before checking in I called front desk to see if we could get a ground unit and lady was so rude - I called Expedia who told me they they couldn't get in touch with hotel but would call me back within 2 hours and never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us to continually improve the guest experience at Divi Dutch Village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

No lobby, inconvenient

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Grounds were pretty, could have been better lit.
Cons: Almost everything, poor condition. Needs a lobby with amenities.
Location: If you don't rent a car, there is a shuttle that will take you to the casino - very smokey.
All rooms are in dire need of renovations!!! Drawers couldn't open, all furniture was badly scratched and worn. No wheelchair access, no elevators to rooms. Beach was very near. Three pools were ok, but no people, very few at beach, yet was told no rooms were available. (?)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Divi Dutch Village during your visit to Aruba! We apologize that your experience was not was you anticipated. We will share your feedback with our Resort Management and Staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol CT.

good location near beach

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: good location
Cons: Hotel lobby not near by. Main lobby is 1/4 mile and across the road.
quiet area near the beach, nice room and overall pleasant stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Jim, Thank you for choosing Divi Dutch Village during your visit to Aruba! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation experience with us and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope that you will visit us again for another stay!
1 out of 5
by Bertil from Stockholm

Dålig valuta för pengarna

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
Stort hotellområde, nära hamnen, långt till en bra strand (ex Eagle beach), långt till receptionen från hotellområdet, hotell området nedslitet
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Divi Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us to continually improve the guest experience at Divi Dutch Village.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

Nice. Close to beach and rest.

Posted Feb 26, 2016
I stay on third floor without elevator. Hard to carry my luggage without help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thoughtful review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us to continually improve the guest experience at our resort. We would like to invite you to visit Divi Dutch Village, we appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent upgrade to beautiful room!

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The room and beach bar
Cons: Better information from the front desk about restaurants available at the hotel. I didn't find any restaurants on the actual property I was staying i
Location: Good location, close to everything necessary for a nice vacation.
Great room, great staff allowed me to have an awesome vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review of Divi Dutch! We are delighted that our friendly staff. Our entire staff is very appreciative that you took the time to share your comments with us, so thanks again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Right on a beautiful beach

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Beach, room cleanliness.
Cons: Not being able to get food or drinks anywhere , but the main pool bar that had limited options.
Location: Great location on a nice beach few miles from Palm Beach main strip of hotels, restaurants and shopping. not far from the airport.
The room was clean and the property is old but well maintained. Staff could be more friendly, but was ok. It is located on the more quiet and beautiful Druif beach with some free umbrellas. You would have to go a bit early to get one. It is always windy in Aruba and it seemed like this beach is located on a side that is more protected from the wind. The hotel has few different parts and they are spread out. They have small carts with drivers that take you around. The only issue we had is that we did not do all inclusive and had problems getting drinks and food at most bars and restaurants. You would need to buy coupons from front desk. This part was frustrating. The location of the property is few miles from the strip at Palm beach and a taxi ride is short and costs $9. There you can find a lot of restaurants and bars. Overall, if you are going there to enjoy nice weather on a beautiful beach with white sand and blue water, this is a good place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Divi Dutch Village. Thanks to thoughtful reviews like yours, we are able to constantly improve our resorts to better satisfy our valued guests. We greatly appreciate your kind words and the time you put into your review. Please come back and see us again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Bad Management, Contaminated Water

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: The hotel is actually quite far from a swimmable beach, the only good this is the trolley service to bring you there which is unreliable at times.
Cons: Better management, more responsive trolleys, water to not be contaminated, floor in hotel room to be swept (sandy).
Location: The hotel is actually quite far from a swimmable beach. It is a 15 min taxi drive to downtown shopping and the nightlife at the high rises.
I wish I could say my experience at the Divi was a good one, but unfortunately it was not. My friend and I both got sick with vomiting and diarrhea during our stay due to a water contamination problem at the Divi. The situation was handled unprofessionally by the management at the Divi who were horrible and secretive, not warning us to not drink the water as well as lying saying the water contamination problem was fixed when it was not. According to reviews online, it seems the problem was known and persistent since at least February 7th, at least a whole week prior to our arrival. By management not taking proper action and denying water issues when they knew there was a problem allowed countless people to unnecessarily get sick. At the airport coming back home, I met someone who worked for public health in the hospital and she said only recently they were informed of the crisis because Divi kept it under wraps as the Divi sent people to their private clinic instead of the hospital. Another reason why this whole situation was sketchy. This whole fiasco botched our experience at the Divi forever. We only got to enjoy 1 full day of experiencing Aruba, and the rest was couped up in our hotel room thanks to Divi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2016 by Juan Fernandez; Dir. of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not what you anticipated. At Divi Dutch, we always strive to provide the best service on the island. We will share your feedback with our Resort Management and Staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
They made it sound like it was a room with a balcony and some what of a view and as soon as i let them know I booked here just because I needed an extra night and the remainder of my stay was at another resort they put in what there staff called a transfer room bottom of the barrel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2016 by Divi Aruba Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Divi Dutch resort during your visit to Aruba! We apologize that your experience was not was you anticipated. We will share your feedback with our Resort Management and Staff.