Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Aruba Occidental

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pretty good overall, the only thing I was not happy about was that I paid for an ocean view room and got o view of the pool area. If I wanted to be by the pool or look at it, I would have requested that. Overall, everything was good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Old Bridge, NJ

Nice hotel, clean and the staff and food is great

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I enjoyed my stay, nice property all inclusive worth the price for the quality of service, food, drinks and entertainment they offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Angelo P, It is always rewarding to receive great feedback like this and we really do appreciate you taking time out to review us here. It is good to hear that you loved our pool, our beach, the restaurants, the buffet, particularly our omelettes station, the overall service and the nightly entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel! Warm regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location. It was right on the beach. Also, that it was all inclusive. The shows that were provided every night were entertaining.
Cons: Some of the restaurant dining at the resort were not that tasty. However, the buffet restaurant was great!
Location: The hotel is located right on the beach next to a bunch of other resorts.
This was a nice all inclusive hotel. The price was very decent. The shows provided were entertaining. You can tell the dancers in the show really put in work. Most of the employees where very nice, however, you would get an occasional pouty person, but that wasn't a big deal to me. One thing I didn't like about the place was the slight musty smell in the rooms. However, you are in Aruba and it is humid out there, so I doubt the hotel could really do anything about that. It wasn't that terrible though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your review. It is always rewarding to receive great feedback like this and we really do appreciate you taking time out to review us here. It is good to read that you loved our beach, the buffet, the overall service and the nightly entertainment. We especially appreciate your tolerance with the musty smell but as you may have noticed this is very difficult to control. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort. Warm regards, Occidental Grand Aruba Management Aurelia Croes / Quality Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good experience

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Nice pool. Close to the beach and activities. Need a few more restaurants. Were only allowed to make 4 reservations for a 7 day stay, then you had to try, hit or miss, to get in any other night. You had the option to eat at the buffet which had a variety of food, though quality was not at pare with the restaurants and was usually luke warm, if that. Overall, the place was nice and we had a good time. I would go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your review. At Occidental Grand Aruba we take great pride in providing you with a memorable and enjoyable experience. The resort boosts 7 specialty restaurants including the buffets. The reservation system allows to make only 4 reservation ahead of time than after the 4th reservation you can always go back and make more reservations if you want to and if there is availability. We are currently upgrading the buffet meaning that when you come back you will be pleasantly surprised. We look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Hotel staff left a note under our door asking us to see the front desk. At the front desk they asked why we had not checked out yet 4 days before our departure date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking your time for writing us a review and for addressing your concerns. It's a pity we do not have any more information to track back your case and find out what went wrong. We apologize if this mad you feel uncomfortable and we are sure there is a reasonable explanation. Whatever the case we do hope that you did have a good time during your stay and that you will return in the near future. At Occidental Grand Aruba we aim to provide our guests with a pleasurable and memorable experience so many repeat visitors have grown so fond of. Looking forward to hosting you again. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Nice hotel, terrible front desk service

Posted Sep 14, 2016
When we got there our room was booked so they made us stay in a different room and change the next day. Offered complimentary spa service for inconvenience- never gave it. Construction every morning at 8am. Loud. Casino closed due to renovation. Paid extra for ocean view- had parking lot view and if we stood outside the balcony and put our body halfway out and looked to the left we saw ocean. Amazing restaurant and bar staff. That was the highlight. Also clean hotel, can't take away from that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sanam, On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We apologize for the inconveniences encountered. It is a pity that no one followed up on your complimentary spa service. Currently the resort is not under construction however we are installing new ice machines on every floor and that may have been the noise you experienced. The Casino is indeed close for renovation however there are many casinos around the property within walking distance. We are sorry you did not like your room view but very happy that you did enjoy our restaurants and our staff. We work hard to provide our guests a memorable experience and we look forward to host you again in the near future in order to provide you with an amazing time. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at Aruba

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Amazing beach and pool. Restaurant and buffets amazing food. Taxi access and able to walk to other hotels and casino. Never wanted to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to know that you had such a wonderful time here at Occidental Grand Aruba. Best regards from Sunny Aruba, Jacky C. Croes Quality & Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location on the beach. Close to everything.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Nice quite property. Laid back environment. Restaurant reservation process is some what lengthy and confusing. The Japanese restaurant- Koyote has excellent staff, provides personal service and delicious food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by Jacky, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you had an awesome time here at Occidental Grand Aruba! hopefully it won't be the last one and that soon you will be back to enjoy the New Barcelo! Best Regards from Sunny Aruba, Jacky C. Croes Quality & Guest Experience Coordinator
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Bad hotel bad food and the service sucked would never come here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, First of all we would like to thank you for writing us a review. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations in terms of food, service and accommodations. Occidental Grand Aruba offers a wide variety of food in our daily buffets, ranging from Italian, Mexican, Asian and Caribbean. We are so sorry non of the available choices did not meet your satisfaction. At Occidental Grand Aruba we take great pride in providing our guests with a pleasurable and enjoyable vacation. should you have contacted our Guest Experience Coordinator we are sure she would have addressed and taken care of your dissatisfaction. We hope you will re consider and visit us again in order to provide you a wonderful time which so many of our repeat guests have grown so fond of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehhh, it could be better

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: All inclusive
Cons: Front desk staff, helpfulness
Location: Explore, stores are closed on Sunday's
View was nice but it wasn't the room I booked, disappointment as soon as I walked into the hotel. The staff at the front desk wasn't too friendly, didn't seem like they wanted their jobs or to be working. The restaurant staff was great, no issues there. The room was very hot at night, turned on the ac but it made an extremely loud noise the entire time it was on, which means sleep in noise or wake up drenched in sweat every hour or so, I did both. The fan worked, but it wasn't enough. Food was ok, restaurants are probably better but you must have a reservation. I tried one restaurant and it was ok. There is no room service, although I was told that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by Aurelia Croes, Quality Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, On behalf of the Occidental Grand Aruba Management we would like to thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations about your room booked and the level of service received from our Front Desk personnel. We are constantly working on providing our guests with a memorable first impression and it is a pity we did not comply in your case. Please accept our apologies. In the case of your AC did you notify this to the Front Desk or Guest Experience Services? Should you have done that we are sure they would have taken care of the problem. We do hope you will return one day in order to share the improvements with you.