Ratings based on 1,620 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

The Private Island makes it

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Private Island, Seafood Buffet,
The hotel is a nice hotel. Always clean and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The restaurants are good with a little selection. The seafood buffet is very good. How could you go wrong with all-you-can-eat lobster tails, crab legs and tuna steaks? If you're going to be drinking then the All Inclusive is the way to go. I drink but my companion does not and the AI still managed to be worth it. The private island is what makes this hotel special. The boat picks you up in the lobby of the hotel, inside. Its a 10 minute ride (give or take a few depending on how full the boat is). There are two sections (with or without kids). I was without my kids, but chose the Kids section because it seems bigger and had more available palapas and tree coverage. You should get to the island early to get a palapa, but they seem to turn over pretty regularly. It is hot by the beach and although Aruba is a very windy place, there is not much wind on the beach. There is a very busy wait staff bringing drinks and food. What makes this island great is the general safety and exclusivity. You must be a hotel guest to go there. There are no beach vagrants offering wares or services. You don't need to guard your things. All you need to do is sit and relax. The water has no waves and is warm and pleasant. The swimming area is large enough that there is room to be by yourself.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pitrsburgh

I'd go back for sure

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This hotel is on a different part of the island than the other high rise hotels, about 10 minute cab ride away, but the location is one of the best parts of the hotel. It's not as crowded as the other hotels and because there is no direct beach access the hotel has a boat take you to the private island. The boat ride is about 10 minutes but the seclusion of the island is amazing. The other hotels have beach access but they are all also considered public beach access so they're very crowded. Also, there are tons of great restuarants within walking distance and you can always take a cab to the restaurants closer to the other hotels. I would definitely recommend the Renaissance and would stay there again myself.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good hotel for being close to downtown.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location. Had a casino, restaurants and shops under one roof.
Cons: Refrigerator in room would have been nice.
Location: Casino, shops (both upscale and local merchandise) sister hotel across street also had lots of stuff to do and see.
Hotel was close to shopping and eating places. The boat ride to the private island was a unique experience. The island was nice and had beaches for families and adults.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel. Very Well Maintained

Posted Jul 22, 2016
I really like Renaissance Aruba. Very well maintained esp the pools and island. Foods are delicious. Accessible to a lot of thibgs like shopping and restaurants. They have free shuttle going to Renaissance Marina where the station for the private island is located and the Renaissance mall. Market place is just few steps away where the Dutch Pancake is located and other restaurants and store are. Free shuttle go back and forth to the 2 hotels (Short wait). The boat from the private island makes stop at Renaiisance Ocean so you dont need to walk from the original boat station to Renaissance Ocean. Close to Royal Plaza where a lot of stores and restaurants are. I think this area is the most of a lot of thing when it comes to shops, restaurants...For my next trip to Aruba...I will definitely stay at Renaissance Aruba. (The only little thing that I dont like is the mold on the grout in the shower room. I dont like mold. Other than that everything is perfect!!!! Love it so much!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall is was a very nice stay.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Overall is was a very nice stay. During our stay the hotel was under construction resulting in 2 days of jack hammering concrete around the entrance of the hotel. This was very unfortunate and frustrating because we were not warned prior to our visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neenah, Wis.

Modern, international chic

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Central location, private island and shuttle service.
Cons: Refrigerators should be standard, HBO was fuzzy.
Location: Downtown is the most complete shopping district, with ultra high-end designer stores surrounded by steadily falling prices and a nearby flea market.
The adults-only side has a trendy, upscale vibe, with a pool deck overlooking the main street, and sporting a wide view of the harbor. The private island, teeming with wildlife, is a real gem, once again allowing patrons some space from the masses. The water taxis come by every 15 minutes, so it's a breeze to come and go. Mostly couples in their 20s, 30s, 40s and 50s. The poolside music is lively but not raucous, not so goofy or deafening to bother residents of the poolside rooms. Our room was just large enough, and generally well-appointed, though the poolside rooms lack refrigerators. Parking wasn't too challenging. It's a great hotel for couples who like to explore the island by foot or car, since it's at the center of everything. This was our third stay in Aruba, our first at the Renaissance. We'll probably stay at the Renaissance the next time we go.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venezuela

Excelente opcion

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Lo recomiendo, excellente atencion, cuenta con todas las facilidades para pasar unas vacaciones
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great place to relax

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Very clean hotel and restaurants located on site with great food.
Cons: Would have liked to have the shower water warmer.
Location: Close to shopping, casino and many dining locations.
The Renaissance is a perfect location for shopping and dining. Their private beach is wonderful and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Super hotel! Tres propre, si vous aller a aruba il faut vraiment aller au private island! Sa revient moin cher de louer une chambre que de prendre une passe pour aller a l'ile
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Love this hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: I like the fact that it is very clean and the staff are both very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The mattress on the bed could be a little firmer. My back was killing me when I got home. Also the check it time of 4:00 pm, 2:00 pm would be better.
Location: There are plenty of places to eat, shop and just enjoy.
I had an awesome time. It has a boat that comes into the lobby and picks you up to take you to its own private island and brings you back again when you are ready. I really enjoyed hanging out at the bar and the casino in the evening.