Ratings based on 1,539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Room View

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: I like that they had a Starbucks
Cons: Not charging for a simple cup of hotwater
Location: it was downtown Aruba, which was close by everything; however, I wanted the beach. We went to the private island, but it wasn't a well-kept beach.
When booking the room with Expedia, we were offered an ocean front, which indicated that the hotel was on the beach. We tried to question Expedia representative helping us, but she didn't seem to know. Nonetheless, we paid extra for the ocean front room, but the hotel was not on the beach. I guess this comment is more for Expedia staff rather than the hotel. The hotel was over all ok, but the restaurant staff was not very accommodating. I wanted a cup of tea, but they couldn't find the brand I wanted even though just that morning they had it. However, I decided to settle for a cup of hot water and they wanted to charge me for just hot water. I thought that was ridiculous. I guess the staff saw what I meant and didn't end up charging me. Simple dishes and drinks were quite expensive. We paid a lot less for the same food and drinks at other venues (e.g., the Ritz).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Feb 8, 2016
This was a great experience. The only complaint was that the room was configured weird but overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Excelente el hotel y lo que más vale la pena es la isla privada con la que cuentan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Perfect location

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Private island, view from the marina pool looking into the marina, great restaurants in walking distance, great service, free parking, and casino.
Cons: Not much. However, I wish the casino had a craps table.
Location: Private island, great restaurants, beaches, and snorkeling.
I chose the Renaissance because I wanted a hotel that was located well and had plenty to do. I hit a homerun with this hotel. Many of the big hotels in Aruba sit along Eagle Beach, with is a 10-15 minute drive from the town of Oranjestad. Not the Renaissance though. This property is in the heart of the downtown, but also sits on a beautiful marina that overlooks the ocean. There were plenty of good restaurants to walk to, casinos, plus shopping, and we could get to any part of the island we wanted to in a short drive (I would recommend a rental car in Aruba, plus the Renaissance has free parking). There was a great pool at the marina hotel where we stayed, but the highlight of the Renaissance is a boat that literally goes into the lobby of the hotel and picks you up and takes you to a private island beach off the coast. We went to Flamingo Beach on the island and it was perfect. Finally, although not associated with the hotel, if you like tropical fish and snorkeling, I would highly recommend reserving a time with "Aruba Bobs Snorkeling" before you arrive. They will pick you up at the Renaissance, give you all the gear you need, and show you the best time snorkeling I have ever had at a coral reef off the shore. The marine life you will see is beyond explanation. Great time at the Renaissance and in Aruba!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & service

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Next to shopping and several dining options Renaissance island that belongs to the hotel has great beach. Great central location. But, missing facilities such as jacuzzi and steam room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Average Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The rooms had been remodeled in the last year. Nice pools, plus adult only pool on Marina side. Can use your room key for drinks and meals.
Cons: not much of a beach area, can't go for long walks on the beach. the private island was OK, but after 1 visit, didn't feel I had to go back.
Location: Casino on site, plenty of shopping, but compete with all of the cruise ships. Took taxis to restaurants for dinner and all were excellent.
Had a little trouble checking in as Expedia had used my "middle-last" name for the reservation, thankfully I had the confirmation number. Got dropped off by taxi at the Marina side, but they let us check in and had to take the shuttle to the Ocean side. 2nd visit to Aruba, stayed at Marriott first trip, liked it better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ede

fijne locatie zeer vriendelijk personeel

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: ligging en gevoel van welkom zijn
Cons: kitchennette heeft geen bestek en borden
Location: voor ons de de fijnste locatie.
eigenlijk was alles ok, Fijn restaurant Aquarius aan de overkant met alleraardigste bediening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Island Paradise

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Private island, location
Cons: Room air conditioner
Location: Barefoot, Driftwood and Yemanji were good eats. Breakfast at the bakery in the market place and marina buffet are the best.
Love this hotel! The location is perfect and the private island the best. Walk town and the best restaurants, shopping and your home town favorites (Starbucks and DD). Pools at the beach are recently renovated and gorgeous. Lynda concierge, is very good as well as all the staff. The Island, we call it the cove, although the past restaurant isn't built yet has everything you need. Bar staff were attentive. The only reason the room was just pleasing was the air conditioner is very loud. However the upgrades to bathroom and hotel are on the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good except for the music

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Convenience
Cons: For the cocktail hour the music is extremely loud. You can hear it way down the street. It's not a club and the music blares like it is.
We made reservations by Expedia but they were not at the hotel. We got a room anyway. The rooms were fine though the AC was frigid. Front desk was very helpful. The hotel deducted $100 from my credit card immediately. That is not usual in hotels that I deal with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Excellent service, boat comes right into hotel to pick you up and take you to private island. Would def recommend