Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, Michigan

10th Anniversary

Posted Oct 11, 2016
This was our first trip to the island of Aruba, but it won't be our last. The thing that stuck out most to me was the friendliness of the staff. Nelson at the pool bar actually created an atmosphere where you want to come back just to see him again as well as the young ladies that would greet/seat you in Atlantis. The resort decor was nice, the rooms could have been a little more updated, but I wasn't there for the rooms. The options for dinner were plenty and the food was very good. One downside for me was that the entertainment starts a bit later than other places I've stayed, usually around 8. I would highly recommend this location to anyone curious, I can't say enough about the staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staten island ny

service is excellent with the most friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: submarina excurrison excellent shopping malls and resturants depalma tours very helpful
bathrooms need upgrade leaks in bowl and shower water to hot burning washers out laudry service do not use big hassel if laudry comes back broken also uncomfortable to have cleaners come into bathrrom when your doing your bussineess especially in mens rm by pool pool also needs to be skimed and cleaned more frequently pool nice size people spill drinks in pool service carrys thishotel excellent bar service and entertainment personel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just average

Posted Oct 8, 2016
My first trip to Aruba was right as Hurricane Matthew was becoming hurricane and decided to turn away from aruba; no hurricane but very little sun either. The staff was very pleasant and professional. The hotel is right on the beach and offers ocean view rooms. The shows were good and the food was decent. So why just average? The hotel was purchased by riu. Although i don't know what it was before it reminded me of your typical marriott turned all inclusive resort. The roof leaked in multiple common areas. The tile was chipped in the bathroom. The rooms and halls just didn't feel like the all inclusive resorts i have stayed at in the past. I also felt like they told me no more than i would evict for the amount i paid. When ordering nachos from the minimal room service menu i was told they were out of nachos but was able to go down to the cafe and get some myself. They ran out of the ice cream they use for iced coffee. We went to the riu palace next door one evening to try the Japanese restaurant since we were under the impression we could use both resorts only to find that we could only eat at the buffet at that resort. When we asked for late check out due to our flight time we were told they could not accommodate that either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couples only!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
My friends and I are single. Not a place to go for single woman. We got stared at and judged by all the guests. We absolutely love Lydia and Nelson ( staff by the pool) they were very welcoming. We did meet some really nice ppl by the pool and we just enjoyed our time with them and each other. My room was ok. My floor was constantly wet from the dampness and my also my expensive clothes. A woman coming in sweaty wet floors with heels on after a few drinks is not safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

Rooms and halls

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Wait staff and the food
Cons: Rooms
Bed were not comfortable at all and the room had a musty smell and the room was very damp
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adult only hotel is the way to go

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Wonderful hotel staff & excellent food. 5 different restaurants & bars on site. Nightly entertainment included! Within walking distance to several local attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Easy walk to surrounding eateries. Clean pool and beaches. Only bad thing was I could smell cigarette smoke when I thought it was a non smoking facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Trip of a lifetime!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: It is within walking distance of shopping and having access to both the Antillas and Palace is a definite plus!
Cons: The rooms are a bit dated. The salt air and humidity have taken a toll on the flooring and walls. Yet they are kept clean and fresh.
Location: The butterfly farm is a must! The adjoining resort is a definite plus and the Palm Pleasure sunset catamaran tour is the best!
Our stay in Aruba was an amazing experience. Check in was easy and the hotel was immaculate. The staff was beyond welcoming and the food was delicious. As someone who prepares meals at home daily, it was a joy to have such a large selection to choose from. The buffets were well stocked and beautifully prepared and presented. The rooms are a bit dated but they are kept clean. We did not spend much time in our room because we wanted to enjoy the island as much as possible. While I have read some reviews that talk about the lack of a high end liquor selection, that was not an issue for us. The Aruba beer was delicious and the water made for a great trip. The sun is HOT so too much alcohol would not have been a good mix for us. The evening entertainment shows leave a bit to be desired but we knew we were not in Las Vegas so it was just nice to have a little something to do after dinner and before the Disco opened for the evening. The grounds are immaculate. The beach and the pool are clean. You should go down to the beach or pool in the morning to secure a chair. Just leave your towel or beach hat and no one will bother it. The people are pleasant, willing to serve and a joy to be around. Everyone was so professional. The employees really know how to make you feel welcomed and appreciated for staying at their hotel. We tipped generously because we were thankful and appreciative of their hard work at making our stay and wonderful one. We highly recommend the Riu!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The restaurants and bars were very good and the service was excellent.
Cons: The rooms could use a little updating, and that was probably the part that we were least happy with on our trip and the hotel.
Location: The location was great and there is easy access to cabs and rental cars. Several hotels, casinos, bars, and the beach within a short distance.
Overall the hotel was very nice, the food was good, location was great, and right on the beach next to RIU Palace. The staff was very nice and did an excellent job making our stay very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beverly MA

Clean hotel Beachfront

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Loved every thing about RIU , staff was very good. Location is excellent! Very clean in the Villas where we stayed. Only thing missing in the room was a phone charging station .