Ratings based on 995 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Food was excellent at every restaurant and buffet. Great hotwl.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Close to the beach.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
THis hotel is more for older people. I'm 30 years old I think I was the youngest guest. The rooms were ok. The rooms need a lot up updating. The furnitures are old. Upon check out the front desk wanted to charge us 130$ for laundry services. We washed about 6 pieces of bathing suits. We were informed it would cost between 30$ and 40$.i asked the staff Josephine to speak to a manager and her reply was NO. After about 15 minutes the manager finally came out I guess from the commotions. The manager gave us us a 50% discount after the staff Josephine had already charged our card 130$. We ended up missing our transportation to the airport because the staff took a long time with our check out process because of the huge laundry bill. We had to pay an additional fee for a taxi to the airport. I would not recommend the Riu. They do not care about their guest as much as a smaller chain hotel would. This is my second time staying at a riu hotel and my second bad experience with the front desk staff. That's it for me with the Riu hotel. Besides the discourteous staff Josephine. The food drinks entertainment was awesome. I will definitely return to Aruba. I will not stay at the Riu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Riu Palace Soul Beach Fest Weekend

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Loved the breeze from the Ocean Front Room Balcony.
Cons: Bathroom shower, tub, and bathroom itself needs to be remodeled. Furniture is old and needs to be replaced. After hour restaurant needs a wider menu
Location: Good bus system to get around.
Hotel was nice, enjoyed Aruba. Liked the swim bar and beach,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Very nice, clean, friendly staff. Nice beach space and pool areas. Good food variety, best food I've ever had at an all inclusive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Cons: reservations for restaurants
Hotel is nice, beach is beautiful. RIU next door appears to have nicer restaurants, but we couldn't use them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Hotel was Beautiful, at check in we upgraded to room on the end with a double balcony with views that were spectacular the suite was very large and the king size bed was Very comfortable. the staff was very nice and service was excellent, food was delicious with so many choices, we will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

A Keeper

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, staff, food
Cons: Have tissues or paper towels in hotels public bathroom. The electric hand dryers are not good for the face or runny nose
Location: Everything you need is within walking distance
We have been to most Caribbean islands. Riu Aruba is by far the best: great weather; terrific social staff; delicious and abundant food/drink; very attentive general manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Hard beds, couldn't sleep for 5 nights (length of our stay)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Oceanfront Is the Way To Go

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Customer service was outstanding. The food was actually incredible, and I am picky. All restaurants were great. Buffets were amazing. View was perfect
Cons: Smell of mildew in the hallway, updates to hotel itself, water issues and TV issues in our room, cig butts on the beach, garbage in swim-up bar pool
Location: Location is perfect on Palm Beach. One can safely leave the resort to walk to t e shops etc. There are plenty of tours for various things.
This was my first RIU experience. Having been to two Secrets properties in Jamaica and Mexico, I am used to a certain level of quality. But not everyone has been to those brand hotels and the RIU Antillas is pretty close to being great with just a few things to work on. If you want a true oceanfront view, ask for Room 1800 or a high floor and you will be treated with two balconies. We got the Junior Suite Oceanfront. It was one of the renovated rooms, but still had small issues (water cutting out, TV being fuzzy and remote issue.) The bed was not as comfortable as it looked, but I like a softer bed. The views made up for that. The food at this place is incredible. If you wanted, you could eat lobster and filet mignon every night -- but be prepared to line up between 6 -7:30 for at least Palm Beach and the Malmok Arubiana, because they only let in a certain amount, and then offer beepers for everyone after. We got to PB at 6:30 and didn't eat till 8:30. The buffet for all 3 meals offers anything you could ever dream of. Food absolutely ranked up there, if not better, than Secrets. The pool areas were nicer at Riu Palace; the one swim-up bar pool at Antillas had constant garbage in it. There weren't too many kids at the Palace either to detract from a relaxing atmosphere; we were happy to visit both sides. The beach is great except for some trash. The water was crystal clear, no seaweed in the swim zones. Also, we didn't get one mosquito bite! Overall pretty great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Cleaniness and staff was excellent
Was great overall..when checking in I asked about an upgrade and was willing to pay for one,but they gave me one for free,and the room was great..another great thing was not having to get up at 5am to reserve pool chairs like at the riu palace next door