Ratings based on 756 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great All-Inclusive Stay at Aruba

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Cons: Their a la carte dinner restaurants could be improved in terms of overall food quality (their regular buffet dinner seemed better option).
Location: Plenty of excursions including horseriding, UTV off-road, and submarine. (Off-road UTV is a must!)
I had a great time at Riu Palace Antillas; the breezy tradewinds reminded me of Chicago. The staffs at the hotel's buffet were always nice and attentive. Noticeably, Justin, the manager of the hotel always did his "round check" to make sure everyone was having good time. We were a party of 6 (family trip) and our rooms were all on the 15th floor which had great view of the ocean. Aruba, indeed, is one happy island, and I hope to have another trip already!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

This place is a disaster!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Pool bar staff were cool
Cons: Tear down the building and build a real hotel
Location: Good location. We could travel off of the "resort" via foot & be in an area with many shops, restaurants, entertainment, etc. & short cab ride to town
Prior reviews equating this to a third world lodging experience were spot on. For the money that we paid to receive the accommodations that we did is a total rip off and severely disappointing. No electricity for numerous hours; no AC during the majority of the stay; only 1 or 2 elevators out of 7 were working; water service interruptions; food at buffet was cold and mediocre at best; etc. It was very frustrating that despite all of this the hotel made absolutely no attempt to fix anything at a reasonable pace or offer any concessions for the immense amount of money paid. The prior reviews where management says give us another chance is just another example of the do-less attitude. Why give this hotel another chance except to only pay an exorbitant amount to receive another horrendous stay. Why not provide some type of refund or reduced price on a future stay as motivation to give this place another chance? Everyone's request for assistance and other accommodations were met with deaf ears. We are easy to please and have traveled all over and have never written reviews, but we could not let this experience go without the proper review. We loved Aruba and do intend to go back to Aruba, but we will certainly not stay at this place. We had a great time off of this "resort" and throughout Aruba, but Riu sucks and is a total disaster. STAY AWAY!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct

A Perfect Place

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Pool Staff and Buffet Staff.......
Cons: PIZZA.....use real Dough....
Location: PERFECT....SO MUCH TO DO
Aruba is the Happiest Place on the Planet, then The Riu Palace is where the people of Aruba go......From the friendly Check In, to the Buffet Staff run by Gomez are all amazing.....Great Food every day, and most important the choices change every day.....The buffet staff constantly cleaning, filling glasses, and offering great conversation with the guests.... The wonderful smiles of the ladies whom greet you at the door of the Buffet and escort you to your table......along with management always being "HANDS ON" during our 7 days...We loved the "FUN Staff by the pool. Playing Volley Ball with Paola and Jenny, to wonderful conversations with Tamika and Jessica....This hotel is in the center of action, so getting to anywhere in Aruba is easy....LOOK NO FURTHER!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville. FL

fabulous hotel with best beach on the island

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: the location and the best sand and beach
Cons: the casino dealer called Candy was very unfriendly. did not smile at all. try to play with Arubian dealers born on the Island, they are happy folks!
Location: snorkling, paddle board, kayak all water activities lots of restaurants and fun places walking distance
check in was easy. friendly check in staff and bell boys. high end drinks for an all inclusive and food was very good. especially breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island,NY

Staff was Amazing!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Had an awesome experience from the moment we arrived! I was confused about the difference from water front balcony and Ocean view which Expedia never clarified.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculous!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Hotel rooms smell like mold. The hotel had issues with a transformer that blew the previous week. Hotel was running on generator and power from hotel next door. Hallways and lobby areas had no air conditioning. Power went out three times resulting in no air confitioning, no elevators, and 1 time no water. When power went out the emergency lights in hallways did not work had to take my elderly mother down emergency exit stairs which had very few lights luckily we had our phone flashlight. One of the days there was a sign that said power would be out from 10-1. Hotel did a good job having people in hallways that day to help people down emergency stairs but this was not the case all the days. Power ended up being out until 6:30 not 1. I realize this might have been a situation that is not normal for the hotel and would have been more understanding if the communication was better but instead you felt when you asked questions you got the run around. I visited the Rui palace next door I would suggest that hotel over the Antilles. The Antilles was a Westin hotel which the Rui bought. This hotel does not have the feel and look of the typical Rui property. Food was average- breakfast and the specialty restaurants were good. Pool staff was great. Overall this was not a good experience and probably goes down as one of my worst beach vacations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your vacations and for taking the time to write a comment about your stay. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to improve in the future. Like you already mentioned in your comment, we had some technical problems the last days at our resort. During the repair works and testing process there were some new electricity cuts, but we have had no further problems since the reparation works that took place on Wednesday, August 10. During all this time, our employees are working very hard in order to ensure every guest´s safety and satisfaction. It is also important to note that we recently had a hotel safety and security inspection in which an outside company was very impressed with our safety standards and processes and we scored 98 out of 100. We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts. With our best wishes we remain, Riu Palace Antillas Online Reputation Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice Hotel & beautiful beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: the beach
Cons: being more prepared to assist when the power & water go out
Location: There was a lot of local shops to buy gifts for loved ones. There were a lot of restaurants that were walking distance that were spectacular!!
Everything was great until the power & water went out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pate

Horrible stay. No AC, food was disgusting,

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Never experienced this kind of stay-no air condition in main area or rooms They say all inclusive but hardly no food was good n not available. Room service was not available cause no food. Out of 4 restaurants, 2 were closed Food was worse than 3rd world country NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience

Posted Aug 10, 2016
No ac in room, food was prepared nice but tasted really bad, the staff were really Not knowledgable about the things you can do around the island, the rooms were poorly clean there was other people hair in my tub and bed. The food at the hotel was bad because not properly cooked and the buffets were complete disgusting. The drinks at this so called all inclusive were diluted to the point it was water. overall, I would have stayed at a different hotel due to power being out on our last day of travel and had to leave the hotel to head to the airport at 6am bc the elevators will be down the ac was out the whole stay and our flight didn't leave till 4pm that evening. I would not recommend staying at this hotel if your life depended on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Online Reputation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write a comment about your stay and for expressing your concerns. As a service minded hotel chain, it is disappointing to hear that you encountered inconveniences in our property, because it is very important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. Like you already mentioned in your comment, we had some technical problems the last days at our resort. During the repair works and testing process there were some new electricity cuts, but we have had no further problems since the reparation works that took place on Wednesday, August 10. We hope you will choose to visit one of our RIU hotels again and give us the chance to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts. With our best wishes we remain, Riu Palace Antillas Online Reputation Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensburg PA

We love the Riu Palace

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach - clean - strong sense of security
Cons: Earlier breakfast - but I am being rela picky here!
Location: We had 2 good tours - One of the island - the other a snorkel tour... great...... Shops and other restaurents very close
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Riu Antilles Adults only Food, service and staff were 1st class……. Justin Carson Assistant Manager runs a tight ship and provides great supervisory skills to his staff……. Great job Justin….. Thanks to all the staff for the impromptu celebration during our anniversary dinner Unfortunately during our stay there was a power outage for almost 18 hours creating some inconvenience, loss of facilities & amenities for my wife & I Justin, Dany and his staff provided prompt updates, information, options available during this time as they learnt of the progress of the repairs/timing/restoration of power etc. They both handled the “disgraceful angry mob antics” from other guests with sensitivity, dignity and patience …… Great job Justin/Dany Our overall experience with Riu was extremely positive – we will choose Riu again Loved the evening shows........