Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not a 5-star hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The majority of the staff were very kind and helpful. I also like that I had access to the Riu Palace Antilles
Cons: New furniture beds that are more than 6 inches apart an updated map better TV and shows available at the hotel.
Location: The location is beautiful the people are amazing no one harasses you its a great country to visit.
This is not the experience I expected for the price I paid I traveled with my best friend we requested to have a room with two double beds when we got there it was one king size bed we went back to the front desk and the lady there proceeded to tell us that all the rooms were the same and that she'd have someone come up and separate the bed. The move the bed so that they were six inches apart and everyday that the room was cleaned the beds were pushed back together. The furniture was old and dilapidated the fixtures in the bathroom or falling apart. The map that they give you when you check in as inaccurate so you spend most of the time lost or you just give up looking for what you want. There were no postings of any of the activities or shows provided at the hotel however. We soon found out that all of the shows are at the Riu Palace antillas which you have full access to. Also the hotel says that they have 24 hour room service which they do however the only options available on the menu are two salads nachos and a club sandwich that's it so really if you're hungry eat when the buffet is open. Also the resort has Dish cable and it rained quite a few days that we were there and everytime it rains the cable went out if you can't be at the pool you at least want to watch TV. If you want to go to the gift shop or the spa that's where you have to go so in short if you want the real palace experience that your promise go to the Riu Palace Antilles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

RUI hotel in Aruba is a ripoff

Posted Jan 4, 2017
While traveling to the nicest place on earth, Aruba, I would not recommend this hotel for your stay in paradise. The front desk are amazing rude and called my wife inappropriate names. What's disappointing is this was our second year at this hotel. We are moving on from here based on their actions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

A very pleasant experience!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The beach at the Riu is beautiful! I loved how easy it is to sit on the beach. There is no waiting in line early in the morning to get a chair.
Cons: The sheets were very pilly. They never felt clean, though I saw the cleaning person change them. The alcohol options were all low end brands.
Location: We rented an off road jeep to drive along the coast, but otherwise there is nothing really to see and do in Aruba, except water activities and eating.
A very pleasant, relaxing experience. People told me ahead of time that I did not need to be at an all inclusive in Aruba, but I am very glad we did. We still went out for a few dinners, but the dinners at the Riu were good, with a large variety of options. Being able to get breakfast, lunch and drinks with ease makes the all inclusive worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good choice, one of the better, some drawbacks

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Please read the full review.
Cons: More hut space on the beach, solution to the "theme restaurant" problem
Location: Advice – rent a jeep. The North shore is wild and beautiful. See the caves in the Arikok National Park (take route 7, 11$/person entry) and more ...
Location – very good. In the middle of the Palm Beach. Restaurants within short walking distance (if you want to skip in-house eating for a day). You need a taxi ride to go to Oranjestad for an evening (not much there). Airport is about 20 – 40 min away and $25 fixed. Facility – good. Pros: Clean. Recommend junior suites in higher floors (9-10), closer to the beach better the view. Recommend South tower with North facing rooms (or vice versa) for a great view of the pool area. Cons: Noisy. Continuous loud music at the central pool during the day. Even the beach is not immune to the noise. And noisy shows at the terrace at night until 11. This could be a plus if you like it. If you are looking for a quiet adult place try elsewhere. There is a “smelly” casino you have to enter if you need an ATM! Food – ok/good. Highlight: The main restaurant (large) with buffet, lunch and dinner is very good for an all-inclusive place. Lowlight: There are four “theme” restaurants: Japanese (sort of), Italian (best), Gourmet (worst), Steak (2nd best). They are small. Either be there at 6:10 to make the 6:30 opening, or be there at 8:30 to take a second sitting. Do not try in between. They close at about 9:30 but you can finish if you are in. Beach – good/ok. Not enough shaded space, a common problem in these hotels. Tip: if you go to the North end of the beach space to the back, you can almost always find a hut. This is also the quietest place of you want to read a book. Service – very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good choice for family's of all ages

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Loved the facility it was extremely clean. Food was fantastic. Staff is top notch.
Cons: Teenagers always looking for things to do at night. If they had a place where they could hang, listen to music. Something for them get together.
Location: On the beach, walk on the beach during the day to see all the other resorts. All water activity is right there.
This was our first time at the Riu. It was perfect for our family. Our children are 17 and 14 years old. There was something for all of us. Kids enjoyed the pool, beach, nightly performances and my son played beach volleyball everyday! My husband and I could relax at the beach, get a massage and workout at the gym. My husband loved the Adult Riu that connected to our hotel. He would head over there at the end of the night for a game of Texas Holdem. The staff is amazing. They are friendly and helpful. My son loved Robert. He remembered his Shirley Temple everyday and they talked a lot of baseball. Food was great, and we are in the food business so we are picky about our choices. King crab legs, sushi, tuna, gluten free options, you name it! We ate out at restaurants some night to change it up but there really is no need to if you just want to stay at the resort. You can walk the beach and check out all the other hotels. We were going to stay at another high end resort but decided to try the Riu, glad we did. This was a better choice for a family trip as there are so many more options for all of us at the Riu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely nice all inclusive!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The view were spectacular and the accommodations and amenities were perfect. The staff was also insanely amazing (with the exception of like one guy lol). My only complaint was the humidity in the rooms was so bad that everything just stay somewhat moist the should time. Aside from that I would highly recommend Riu!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington County

Everything to do inside the resort.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Vacation was wonderful. What a great way to spend your birthday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Room was great!
Cons: The room service food was terrible.
We had everything we needed for a girls vacation, birthday trip. I wasn't blown away by the service or the food but a good time was had by all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Beautiful hotel; mediocre all-inclusive

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the pool, our room and balcony and the close proximity to all the activities we wanted to do.
Cons: The food could use a vast improvement. I don't expect greatness from an all-inclusive, but the food here was really sub-par.
Location: You can go tubing right outside the hotel on the beach or sign up for boat tours of the area. Paddleboarding is also included. Do the UTV tours
Overall, we had a really nice stay at the Riu Palace in Aruba. The resort is located on Palm Beach with the other high rise hotels. The beach is clean and very pretty, if not a bit crowded from all the other people staying at the resort. We had a great view of the ocean from our room and a spacious balcony that we loved. The pool was beautiful and a great place to spend time if you wanted a break from the beach. The exterior of the hotel was beautiful, with almost a middle eastern look. While the hotel itself is really nice, the food was so mediocre. We ate at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants, and I was disappointed at every meal. The people working there are fantastic, but the food itself is not good. There are so many great restaurants off resort (and it's safe and close to walk), that I'd rather stay somewhere else that is not all-inclusive and try out the local restaurants instead. You'll probably end up spending around the same amount of money because Aruba is super expensive, but the food would be better. The well liquor was also not great (although you can ask for Smirnoff or Absolut vodka - not sure about the other brands).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vavation

Posted Dec 5, 2016
It was our second trip to the RIu Palace, and we would highly recommend it you literally want for nothing !! The staff is extremely friendly and the whole experience is amazing !