Ratings based on 1,228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like cruise ships

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: The food needs to be reworked. It did not live up to a 5 star facility.
Location: The highlight of the trip was a boat ride and snorkeling.
If you like cruise ships this is the hotel for you. Everything is scripted and the nightly entertainment boring. For the money that you pay to go here you feel forced to eat the food and it gets really boring fast and the themed restaurants are awful. The casino smells so foul of cigarette odor that it permeates the lobby. All inclusive is not worth it if you don't drink and eat to excess. All water sports you have to pay for and the pool is closed at 7 pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great grounds

Posted Jan 23, 2016
We had a good stay at the RIU. The staff were super friendly, the pool area was beautiful. The only complaint I had was the quality of the food at the "specialty restaurants" at the hotel. We dined at the steakhouse, and to be honest the meal was terrible. The steak was really not good. I don't know if it was the quality of the meat or the way it was cooked. Either way no good. The food at the buffet was GREAT.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

No staff accountability for service excellence

Posted Jan 21, 2016
My fiance and I booked 3 nights at Rui Palace Aruba. We had the worst customer service experience with our stay. 1) Rui Aruba was over booked and we were forced to stay at Rui Palace Antilles 2) For our one night stay at Rui Palace Antilles, the room was not clean and the phone was non functional. The front desk was informed but did not take any action to correct the problem 3) Since we were in transition from one hotel to another, we were unable to book the dine in restaurants 4) We were promised a 3 day voucher for all the inconvenience. But I have not received anything despite all my efforts in following up with the hotel manager I stay over 100+nights at various hotels due to my career. I have never experienced the lack in accountability and poor customer service from Riu Palace Aruba and Riu Palace Antilles. I DO NOT recommend RIU Palace Ariba and RIU Palace Antilles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a place! Wow

Posted Jan 18, 2016
I will start by saying this. If someone gives this place a bad review they just need to stop going on vacations and stay home. We have stayed in a lot of 5 star places and this one just tops the list. We will definitely be back! They treat you like kings and queens. From the minute we walked in to the minute we left they catered to our every need, they wouldn't even let me carry my luggage they did it. You can book all your adventures right in the hotel lobby. So many places that eat inside the hotel and if you feel like leaving no worry a you're walking distance from 100's of shopping areas and restaurants. Literally don't pay the money for the cabs you are so close to everything it's a waist of money and such a beautiful walk. Thanks RIU for making our stay amazing! We are booking RIU in the Bahamas toda because of our experience there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Reallllly goood Im enjoy my self a lot great vacation Im planning to go back with my staff.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

family vacation

Posted Jan 8, 2016
We payed for an ocean view suite and the only way you could see it was off the balcony, front desk promised to change our room in a couple of days when I went to the front desk they said they had no record of that. Our room was very noisy because it was next to the show area. We booked 4 rooms and paid top dollar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

RIU - Not for Everybody

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: I like the location.
Cons: Your choices for the specialty restaurants were 6 PM and I think 9 PM. You can get better meal serving individuals rather than mass feedings.
The first impression of the facility was not so good. The lobby is dated and not very inviting and the decor is horrible. We were greeted with Champagne which was a nice touch. We stayed in a Junior Suite on the 10th floor and the rooms are nicely decorated with nice balcony but NO PRIVACY. The balconies are separated by a very low wall so you can see all the other room balconies. Furthermore , you definitely should confirm the balcony size if you enjoy sitting on balconies, as I do, because several rooms have tiny balconies meaning standing room only. For some reason they find it appealing to push two full size beds together to make a huge bed which at first is impressive until you sleep in it. The crack where beds meet is very uncomfortable. I think they would be better off putting king size bed in unit. Bathroom was large with walk in shower - time your showers! If you shower during peak time roughly between 4 PM and 6 PM the rain shower does not work because it doesn't have the pressure needed to operate. Bring your own toiletries-the toiletries provided are not deserving of a 4.5 star rating, they are more like something you would get at a standard hotel chain like Holiday Inn or something. We had the all inclusive package which we rarely do but wanted to try. I don't recommend doing it. We ate at the buffet for breakfast which was decent. But dinner was not very good it's not that it was horrible it was just okay. I would compare to a casino buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

BEACH HOTEL

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Nice location, the food is fabulous thanks to the dominican cuisine that has a clear distinction at the general public all inclusive restaurant.
Cons: no much to add on. there is always space to improve, but i did not miss anything in my 4 days family trip...
Location: Everything in Aruba is about touring. Any tour will pick you up at the lobby to taxi the island.
The Riu Palace is nicely located in one of the most beautiful Aruba beaches. No need to go anywhere else. Staff if friendly and helpful. As good as the Babaro Palace "The Reserve" in The Dominican Republic,but the Babaro Hotel has a little edge in Luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ARIZONA

BELATED 25TH ANNIVERSARY STAY

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: THE ROOM, FOOD & STAFF
Cons: A WAY OF BETTING THEM ON THE PHONE OR EMAIL
MY ONLY COMPLAINTS OF THIS FACILITY ARE THAT MY HUSBAND WAS IN A WHEEL CHAIR. I NOTIFIED THEM OF THIS AHEAD OF TIME. COULD NOT GET ANYONE VIA PHONE ALTHOUGH I TRIED MANY MANY TIMES VIA PHONE & COULD NOT GET ANYONE & I SENT SEVERAL EMAILS. THEY WERE GREAT IN GIVING HIM THE USE OF A CHAIR THE WHOLE TIME WE WERE THERE. THE ELEVATORS COULD BE BIGGER BUT THAT WAS OK. MY MAIN PROBLEM IS HIM IN THE WHEELCHAIR WE WERE GIVEN A ROOM ON THE 5TH FLOOR AND THE VERY LAST ROOM AT THE END OF THE HALLWAY. I WOULD HAVE PREFERRED A ROOM CLOSER TO THE ELEVATOR AND OUR ROOM WAS NOISY BECAUSE WE WERE DIRCTLY ABOVE THE STAGE. THE ROOM WAS VERY NICE, THE FOOD IS AWESOME & THE STAFF IS GREAT!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, fabulous food

Posted Dec 27, 2015
All facilities were clean- Lobby, rooms, restaurants, pools, beach, etc. Staff were super friendly and accommodating. Food was fabulous in terms of variety and quality.