Ratings based on 1,444 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Couples Vacation

Posted May 19, 2017
We were not allowed rooms together. Our room had a broken toilet and A/C. Were moved to a worse room and no money refund for the room down grade. Buffet food was excellent. Staff need to learn manors and politeness. Smiles go along way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
We had a great experience at the Riu Palace! Loved the hotel room, loved the pool, loved the beach, loved the casino!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overbooked

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: Please stop overbooking
When we went to check into our room which we were so excited about, the woman at the counter let us know that they had overbooked and that they did not have a room for us (though we had booked 2 months prior and received a confirmation email). They sent us to another hotel down the street which was decently nice, but not what not what we paid for or wanted. This new place put us in a room on the first floor facing a parking lot, though we paid extra for a beach view at the RIU. When we returned to the hotel a few days later, we were given an upgraded room which was appreciated, but we only got to enjoy it for the remaining 2 and a half days. Overall, what was meant to be a relaxing trip, turned out to be quite stressful as we were never able to fully unpack and get comfortable. Lovely resort and the staff was pleasant, just wish we had gotten to spend the full 6 days there that we paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont

Aruba Honeymoon Vacation

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Design, the pool, beachfront.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a changing menu at the buffet restaurant. More variety at the restaurants as well.
Location: It is a beachfront resort and walking distance to a shopping plaza.
Riu Palace Aruba was a great choice. The location was perfect- beach front and within walking distance to shopping centers, restaurants and bars. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food was good- what you would expect from an all you can eat resort (not fantastic but better than ok). Be sure to bring at least one pair of pants (one restaurant is no sleeveless and no shorts). We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite- it had 2 of them, one Jacuzzi on the balcony and one inside of the room. Our wing had 2 elevators but occasionally one was out of service and that caused longer wait times at the elevator. The pool was nice and big. Be sure to wake up early to save seats at the pool and at the beach. I was unsure whether to tip or not- I saw many people that did not tip but were still given great customer service by the staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nightmare

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Can't say we didn't spend enough time at the Hotel to settle in and enjoy.
Cons: Sales, Booking and customer service
When we arrived they told us they were overbooked and made us go to another Hotel We were told the rooms and accommodations would be the same they were not and our vacation was a night mare from beginning to end
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Worst customer service ever

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Cons: Customer service
They were overbooked and we were forced to go to another hotel the Barceló this is the way we started our vacation It was a nightmare. We were promised the same accommodations however it was far from what we had paid for. We had no choice in anything that happened to us during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice luxury feel and view of beach!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Upon arrival the experience wasn't as great due to overbooking. The hotel worked to provide comparable amenities at another all-inclusive nearby. The RIU itself was a beautiful hotel overlooking beach and pool with room to stretch out without overcrowding. There are plenty of activities and staff works to provide a pleasant stay. Overall I'd definitely recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Great Hotel at the beach with all inclusive!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities, rooms, service and staff.
Cons: Almost all the staff at the steakhouse in the Antillas building should be retrained. Please try not not overbook the rooms!
Location: The location is perfect! We didn't have time to visit the nearby places.
This is a great hotel! We had some issues at check-in that were resolved quickly and efficiently. Josue Santana (staff) was key in fixing the problems with the accommodations and a dinner reservation issue; very professional staff. Rooms, food, drinks and amenities are great. We are fans of "all- inclusive" so the place fit our needs and went beyond. Turndown service included, room service included, shows every night with good performers, great pool and pool bar. The hotel is at the beach which is great and ample. The bars are very close to the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I booked RIU for a wedding, get there and they are over booked at BOTH RESORTS!!! They sent me to a nasty resort that was 70% cheaper than RIU! RIU wasn't even accmodating to try to get me to the wedding the day of OR let me stay there with everyone else!!!! I had to be there for the wedding and it was awful! I was not the only person, they sent hundreds of people away no matter where you booked from!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Beautiful

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: My room was large, clean and cool. I had a perfect view.
Cons: 1 elevator broke.
Location: We were walking distance to a dunkin donuts.
Can not say enough about how awesome this hotel was. I never left the buffet wanting more. The entertainment team was great.