Ratings based on 1,394 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Stay somewhere else!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff not that friendly nor accommodating. Food was mediocre at best. Not worth the money!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The pool area, beach and the food is very good
Cons: The furnishings in the rooms.
We have stayed at the Riu Palace 4 years in a row. I feel the furnishings in the rooms need to be updated, especially the mattresses. The cleanliness at the resort is excellant. The food at the dining room is very good. Will be going back for the fifth time. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Decent place to stay, but be ready to pay...

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, most of the food, namebrand booze.
Cons: Hotel is beginning to show it's age. Not too many activities unless you're willing to go off the reservation.
Location: Good proximity for sourcing food from local restaurants .. which is helpful as you will tire quickly of the above average buffet.
Not a bad hotel. As it was all inclusive, we planned to eat at the hotel often. The buffet was a 7.5 (1-10) and was reliably not terrible. The "Japanese" restaurant? Nah .. 3.5 at best. The steak house was pretty good .. 8. Pool was average with plenty of "forced activity" by the friendly entertainment employees, i.e. contests and such. Beach was nice, but is bordered by a very boat busy pier on the right and the "adults only" complex on the left. Almost no surf, good for kids, boring for anyone over 10. Room was okay, if older. If you're bringing young kids and are hoping to NOT have them sleep in your bed, you have two choices, 1) the hotel staff will pull the single oversized king into two full beds, the kids get one and you and your (hopefully skinny) significant other will share the other, or 2) order an extra twin bed and put it by the loveseat ... then order another one the next night for your other kid. They didn't want to bring us two extra beds in one night, so we waited and the guy we spoke with the following day was more than happy to provide another roll away twin. There is just enough room in the "sitting area" for both beds if you set them up right. All in all, it wasn't a bad stay, but I feel like, for the money, there are better deals out there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
By far the best all inclusive resort I've ever been to..the best beach on Palm Beach..just beautiful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Scam

Posted Feb 12, 2017
This hotel quoted me $85 a day to add a child to a reservation yet it had to be done when we arrived. We get there and it's $140 a day forced to pay it since the child is 5 and manager wouldn't even come out to speak to me. We were told we had to be treated as a walk in - yet we had 12 people in 3 rooms staying there! They should be ashamed of themselves. The food was mediocre and the liquor is basic - 10 glasses of wine and no buzz = watered down!! The bed is like sleeping on a rock. The entertainment was childish and most of music in Spanish. Never again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod, Mass.

wonderful vacation

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: the food and the staff
Cons: eliminate smoking in the outdoor bar area.
Location: plenty to do like snorkeling and cruising trips and other water activities. We didn't leave the hotel area so I can't comment on other things to do.
More than we expected. The hotel was very nice, clean and the food was great. The staff was very friendly and catered to our every need. The beach was very nice and the pool area was full of excitement with something happening all the time.As an extra bonus the entertainment was very good with different acts each night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great place to stay and enjoy the views.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The views of the sea and pool. Also the service was incredible.The Nautilus dining room is a great place to have diner and watch the sun set
Cons: Rooms could us a little maintenance. Not too much to distract from the overall excellent experience.
Location: Right on the beach within walking distance to some great night life.
Had a great time and enjoyed the great hospitality. Don't be afraid to ask for something. Plenty of dining options, no need to pack a suit and tie. It is not required to dine. The Japanese steak house had the best steak overall. The Nautilus dining room is a great place to have diner and watch the sun set
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Wonderful all inclusive.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Cons: Mid range food as expected. No complaints. High end restaurants struggled to provide B or B+ food. Atmosphere and service: great. Food: hit or miss.
Location: Great location. Went off grounds few times. A couple times to shop, explore wonderful food options. We did less touring than we planned.
Rooms, common areas, beach, pool, entertainment, staff were great. No complaints re basic food options. Good food, atmosphere and drinks. The high end restaurants (all included) meals were somewhat disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mays Landing, NJ

Quality hotel with attentive staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Palace. The room and view were more than we expected. The beach was beautiful. The Don Nichols restaurant was the best and surpassed the other smaller restaurants. We had a really good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, Nh

Room seems to always be damp. A/C did not seem dry

Posted Feb 5, 2017
I loved the facility, the employees, the food was tremendous and the weather great. I will definitely return in the future.