Ratings based on 1,463 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Not worth it

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The nicest thing about the hotel was the pool and view of the beach. The food was mediocre. The room was clean but the bed was uncomfortable,tv didn't work, and it was outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Right on the beach all inclusive

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Food good. Pool area wonderful, as was beach.
Cons: The tile used in the pool and guest areas, as well as the room, is extremely slippery when wet. An older person should pick a different destination.
Location: Shops, restaurants, water sports, scuba, day cruises, para-sailing. You name it.
It was a nice stay. The food was generally good, the view, pool area and beach quite nice. The staff is generally friendly and cheerful though there are exceptions. We ate at their buffets and specialty restaurants. The buffet is very good, and better than the Japanese and Crystal specialty restaurants. The service at the Crystal was bad. The halls were quite narrow on our floor. If the maids were working, it was a tight squeeze. The bed was quite hard and not the most comfortable and the halls were quite narrow. AC was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice well maintained hotel with lots to do

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Lots to eat and plenty of activities
Cons: better wi-fi out near beach and pool
All the Riu hotels we have stayed at have been excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Great hotel, great staff, awesome vacation!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We stayed in one of the upgraded jacuzzi suites, and everything was very nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. The hotel was very clean, and the food and drinks were all very good. I'd book this vacation again without hesitation....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: Availability of beach and pool umbrellas and chairs
Nice hotel, had an unfortunate incident staff wasn't very helpful, all beach cabanas were taken in very early morning and hard to find place to sit in shade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Review of Aruba Trip

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and very helpful. Booking restaurants and activities can be done in the main lobby of hotel. The spread of food was my favorite
Cons: I truly don't have anything negative to say. Maybe, I would have a broader selection of beer but hey that's just me.
Location: Again, ATV is a must do. can drive single or double. All around the island. Use a tour guide who knows the way. Horseback riding was a blast.
Stayed 8 days 7 nights at Riu Palace. Excellent overall experience. Transportation to/from airport is quick and easy. $25 taxi ride each way. Check in is not until 3 pm so keep that in mind when booking flights. Arrived around 1pm and had to hang around until 245 to check in to my room. Used that time to get oriented with the hotel and the general area. Room was spacious and clean. Recommend requesting a room with balcony facing pool. Room cleaning is on point everyday. Towels replaced daily and fridge (balashi beer) restocked. Room service menu is lacking but just don't miss the scheduled meals and your all set. Restaurant food is great and the spread in the main buffett is overwhelming. The staff literally caters to your service. I would always tip a few dollars each meal but that is up to you. They only have balashi (arubian) beer so don't expect Corona or anything else. You can take a walk or ride to the Super Food supermarket and purchase just about anything. Weather is incredible, along with the ocean water. Pool is huge. Cleaned daily at 7pm. Pool bar is convenient and the staff walk around and serve you drinks. I truly have nothing negative to say about my experience at the Riu Palace. The service was A+. Recommended activities :ATV is a must do (wear crappy clothing i.e mud) and horse back riding was a great experience (wear pants). Highly recommend Pinchos for dinner and Texas De Brazil, if you don't eat at hotel. Hotel attire for dinner can wear shorts and t shirt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort with great food.

Posted May 28, 2017
Was our first time to Aruba. So glad we stayed at Rui Palace. The resort is beautiful with great food. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Would visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Couples Vacation

Posted May 19, 2017
We were not allowed rooms together. Our room had a broken toilet and A/C. Were moved to a worse room and no money refund for the room down grade. Buffet food was excellent. Staff need to learn manors and politeness. Smiles go along way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
We had a great experience at the Riu Palace! Loved the hotel room, loved the pool, loved the beach, loved the casino!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overbooked

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: Please stop overbooking
When we went to check into our room which we were so excited about, the woman at the counter let us know that they had overbooked and that they did not have a room for us (though we had booked 2 months prior and received a confirmation email). They sent us to another hotel down the street which was decently nice, but not what not what we paid for or wanted. This new place put us in a room on the first floor facing a parking lot, though we paid extra for a beach view at the RIU. When we returned to the hotel a few days later, we were given an upgraded room which was appreciated, but we only got to enjoy it for the remaining 2 and a half days. Overall, what was meant to be a relaxing trip, turned out to be quite stressful as we were never able to fully unpack and get comfortable. Lovely resort and the staff was pleasant, just wish we had gotten to spend the full 6 days there that we paid for.