Ratings based on 910 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Staff does not care about customers or customer lo

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: It had a casino.
Cons: Staff has a terrible attitude.
My plan was to spend one night at this hotel. irline problems caused me to miss that night. Hotel charged me any way. Stay anywhere else where they care about customers. Airline problems may cause you to pay for nights when you simply cannot make it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Horable hotel, construction site

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Hotel is horable And outdated. It's under construction they should have close it until the construction is complete. Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Check in took long! They dont make courtesy local calls for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel for a holiday

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, close to beach, entertainment for kids
Cons: Food service
Location: That was great, lots to see
It was a wonderful stay, great fun, the kids had a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Loved this hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Our room was much bigger than we expected! It was very clean. The cleaning staff came by every morning & refreshed our towels & offered to clean & change bed linen if we wanted it done. My only complaint is it could use another elevator our room was on the 4th floor and a nice distance from the elevators. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tropicana Hotel across from LaCabana Resort

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Not impressed.
Cons: Get flat screen TV's in bedroom, upgrade applicances. Change counters, cabinets in kitchen. Make space feel more comfortable, hip and accommodating.
Location: Access to pool across the street is best that they can offer you. The pool might be another plus for the kids. Get better equipment in training room.
Tropicana hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. The property is not impressive. Feels old and outdated. The rooms are acceptable, but not totally comfortable in my opinion. Some attempt is being made to make some changes. Tropicana has pool, Tourist shop and Dunkin Donuts nearby. The major issue is the internet access. I don't think they understand their customers needs. Help at the front desk is spotty, slow and not impressive. Atmosphere is dark and bleak. If you just want a room to sleep, it might work. Best I can say, it will be ok, just make sure you get a cheap rate to stay here. Anything over $100 a night is way too much to spend. Go across the street to LaCabana Resort, its much better is terms of accommodations, atmosphere and comfort. You will pay more, but you'll enjoy it better because you won't have to walk across the street to access the beach. That's where all the fun is!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aruba

Wrong choice

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Bad choice. Tropicana is under construction. Rooms smell funny! Mold! Bad service. No one is allowed to visit. They don't want to sell daypasses as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

The security was good but the Wifi and comfort bad

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Pool was great and food was good - casino had friendly staff and parking was great.
Cons: replace uncomfortable furniture and improve Wifi for guest
Location: Location was great for children just minutes from downtown and shoping. good security at beach. jet ski and tour pick up at hotel for various tours.
The Wifi was horrible making the guest flock to the front desk area or the casino next door to get wifi signal. The room was spacious but the Couch and chairs were very uncomfortable. the beds were comfortable and the cleanliness was good but the water pressure in the bathrooms and shower was poor at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ma

Beautiful hotel and planning to visit again.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: no comment
Location: no comment
This hotel is huge with friendly staffs and cleaning crews.Everything is up to standard.Accomodation is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Decent hotel steps away from the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: I like the fact that it was close to the beach and the room was pretty big and clean
Cons: Their customer service skills need a little boost, the servers at the main restaurant need some more training.
Location: There is a supermarket less than 5 min away. The hotel next door la cabana has some nice restaurants.
I was looking to book a room close to $100 per night and I came across this hotel with rooms on sale for $117. I was surprise to notice that the room was pretty big with a living room and fully equipped kitchen plus a terrace. Above all, it was super clean. The beach is 2 min away. On the downside, I found the staff not to be very welcoming, they were just doing their job, not very cheerful. There was not a lot of restaurants in the hotel, the main one was a bit disappointing, we had a not so good experience but the manager did her best to accommodate us, which was very nice. Overall, I had a great time there.