Ratings based on 1,356 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
I had a good time the double down resturant was great,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Pretty cool spot

Posted May 19, 2017
Cool place for family, rooms set up like an apt. Reception area no AC since it's an open area outdoor, rooms clean, bathroom a lil outdated, pool areas are wonderful, supermarket across the st, Dunkin doughnut in the hotel for u coffee lovers (like myself), beach a very short walk, not far from the strip (where the restaurants, night life) it's an $8 cab ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SI, NY

Nice hotel, friendly staff, comfortable

Posted May 19, 2017
Coming to this resort 5th time in a row, me and my husband like a lot. Usually in this time very quiet, but now they did a lot renovations and was a little crowded on the pool but not bothering me. Nice atmosphere around beach area, enjoying to stay here in Aruba.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire, USA

Nice hotel 3 minute walk to beach.

Posted May 18, 2017
When we pulled into the Tropicana it was NOT love at first sight. The buildings appeared run down. We learned that it is currently undergoing renovations over the next couple years. However from check in to check out everything was great! We had a renovated room overlooking the waterfall pool. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean, and had a full kitchen. We were very pleased with it overall. The resort provided everything we needed such as dining, 2 large pools, gym, spa, hot tubs, casino. The beach was a 3 minute walk, grocery store across the street, bus stops nearby and nicely situated between Palm Beach and Oranjestad! Staff was so friendly and helpful, they answered all of our questions and made reservations and other arrangements for us. We will be going back again because we loved our stay at the Tropicana and the price was more reasonable then a lot of the other resorts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suriname

Nice Hotel & good for the price

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Great Swimming Pool, DUnkin Donuts & BR , EAGLE BEACH , Superfood ,there is actually everything u need in 1 area
Cons: The Room WIFI could be improved & the cleaning staff. I didnt like the way they cleaned the rooms maybe they need a little bit of training.
Location: eagle beach is nearby and a lot of restaurants and casino's. and also on the spot a great swimming pool.
The staff was very helpfull, giving us all the information we need and also the tours. if u go there and u see ALBERT he will help u with anything, u just name it. (WIFI - MiFi - Late Checkout - early check in ) and he talks DUtch ,english & spanish i think. The rooms were okey good enough to sleep in with your family very spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted May 15, 2017
This is our third or fourth stay at the Tropicana so we knew what to expect. If you want value for the price, this is the place! Yes, the unrenovated rooms are a little worn and tired, but they're clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, and everything works. We got a ground floor unit with a little patio. Warning: don't feed the iguanas! They get demanding. We loved the ground floor access. Also the full size refrigerator. I also used the gym and it was comfortable and in good condition. But of course the beach is what it's all about and Eagle Beach is the best (though I hesitate saying that so it doesn't get as crowded as Palm.) You do have to get there early if you want a palapa (and you'll want one!) But the staff on the beach is great. All in all, we wouldn't bother looking for a posher hotel (like La Cabana, that you have to walk through to get to the beach). I'd rather visit Aruba twice as often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted May 15, 2017
everyone was very helpful in anything you asked them, they are in the process of redoing to rooms, and making the place look great again....I've been coming to Aruba for 19 years, and staying in a near by hotel,and seen this place go from a 3+ hotel to a 1, and now it's working to a 4+ place......
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Where do I begin??

Posted May 12, 2017
Check in was fine. Staff friendliness was ok considering they did not want to accommodate our request for an updated room. Our room was extremely dirty and filthy. Garbage from previous guests was left. Hair on floor. The drainage was nauseating. When showering the tub from 1979 would fill up. My husband and brother in law refused to shower. Thankfully we were only staying one night (transitioning to the Marriott) because I couldn't have made it thru the rest of the week. This hotel is completely overpriced. I wouldn't recommend nor ever pay more than $50 per night in this hotel, taxes included. Breakfast was ok. On the other side of the hotel so we had to take a walk, which was wasn't that bad but something to consider. The pool area was ok. And so we're the bar drinks. Spend a little more and stay in a nicer hotel until they've upgraded 100%.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great stay.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Clean room and friendly staff. Fully equipped kitchen was a BIG plus.
Location: Grocery store is across the street. Beach is about two hundred yards from hotel.
Very nice property in the remodeled side of the property (nice clean spacious room). Friendly hotel staff a plus. Ate once at restaurant it was okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Enjoyable Stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms. Convenient location . Kitchen room is useful for those who want to eat on the balcony. Beds are very comfortable.
Cons: Rooms not modernized. Personally do not need the extras for short stay in that you are out of the room more than inside.
Location: Easy parking and close to town. Walking distance to super market.
Coming here for the last ten years and generally everything went well. Very reasonable and convenient to super market and beach. Nice pool and comfortable facilities. Easy parking and close to town .