Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by vanessa from Saginaw, MI

Breathtaking but preceed with caution

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Gracious staff, magnificent surrounding, tranquil setting. The food was pricey and not a good value. For my final night, I ordered what I thought was a special dinner. I described my preferance for the temperature of my t-bone which was one of the most expensive on the menu. The first was so over cooked I could not eat it. The second steak was grossly under prepared. There was no special acknowledgement my first night but a fruit basket, slippers, and two extra rugs the second night. Housekeeping was uneven as an open bottle of shampoo remained untouched in the shower on my first night. The hotel was on the lake but there was no free access. Electricity had hiccups going off for 10/15 seconds repeatedly during dinner, relaxing watching action movies, and while in the shower. Annoying!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2016
This hotel has beautiful grounds and facilities. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate. It was very quite and relaxing. Would love to go back. I would mention that due to the location of the rooms, it is not handicap accessible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only OK

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, friendly staff and good food. Also the rooms were lovely.
Cons: Cleaning showers - remove mold. Replace the awful beds
For $240 a night I was surprised by the lack of decent internet, mold in the shower and extremely uncomfortable bed. The breakfast was really nice and the grounds are stunning. Hotel staff was also great.
5 out of 5
by ltb from London

Lovely Gardens

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our two night stay at the hotel during our honeymoon. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the setting is lovely. The hotel is also very interested in helping people in the local area, which we really appreciated. The restaurant and food were pleasant and the room was clean, well furnished and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

A MOST ENJOYABLE STAY

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed location, park, house, bungalows, very friendly and well trained staff and management, good food. Wonderful and most recommended.
Cons: Really nothing striking in that respect. Only disapointment was there is hardly any access to the lake. Don't go there for the lake!
Location: A little remote from the city center but close to it. Very secured area.
We were two families traveling individually, with 4 kids aged 11 to 16. Two nights at Serena Duluti Lake in 4 separate bungalows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Slice of paradise

Posted Jun 23, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel & it's lovely cottage styled rooms are set in exceptionally verdant & tranquil surroundings, with Lake Duluti nearby & the mighty Kilimanjaro a distance away, which can be seen from certain points on clear days (although I didn't get a glimpse from here). The rooms are clean & reasonably spacious with large bathrooms. Service was warm and always with a smile, which seems a typical trait of Tanzanian hospitality. The food was very good (asked for some chicken with pepper sauce off the menu, and it was excellent). The main building which houses the reception, bar and restaurant was a charming colonial styled building. I was here only for one night on business, however would love to come back at leisure to spend more time exploring the surroundings & enjoy the peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
by Jai Menon from Nairobi

An Outstanding Place to Stay

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: Location, Landscaping, Overall Design and Facilities
Cons: No free WiFi & Bathroom Fittings Need Immediate Upgrade
The Serena Arusha Mountain Lodge is a total surprise. From its breathtaking location, in a verdant, virtually rain-forest lush setting on the banks of Lake Duluti, to its friendly and responsive staff. Nothing I found to complain about. Certain issues need looking into. To have no free WiFi in a hotel in this day and age is, well, self-defeating. No matter how good the hotel, given a choice, people today - especially professionals and tourists who intend to stay a week or more - will opt for the one which offers free (both hassle and cost) WiFi. Bathroom fittings are important too. They should work, should be of high quality and preferably of a known brand. One of the most used items in any hotel room are the bathroom fittings - taps, showers, flushing systems - and these need to be top of the line. But these are just recommendations. As a peripatetic traveller, both for business and pleasure, I recognise that not everything can be done at once. The people at the Serena Arusha Mountain Lodge were responsive to my requests, as well as the above recommendations, promising to take it up with management. All in all, I would visit this wonderful little hotel again - probably every time I visit Arusha from now on, which will be several times a year.