Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Roger from Parwich, UK

Great little hotel in Arusha

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in McEllys for 8 nights in June/July 2015. A very comfortable, spotlessly clean and reasonably priced hotel situated just of Arusha main street. Staff were all excellent and helpful with very good English skills - reception, restaurant, bar, Manager and domestic staff all strived to make the stay smooth and pleasurable. Breakfast good and evening meals menu limited but well cooked, tasty and good value. Fantastic views of Mt Meru from some rooms and the roof. I would highly recommend McEllys as a comfortable and secure base for a visit to Arusha.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Breakfast very average
2 out of 5
by Epifanio from London

Overpriced for what it is.

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Average Hotel,too overpriced for what it is.Customer service isn't the best- food at restaurant barely edible.
3 out of 5
by Cheung CHAN from Hong Kong

Good for Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels
A convenient hotel for overnight stay to catch the early morning bus to other destinations. Wifi connection in the hotel was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything I wished it would be.

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels
I was looking for an overnight stay in town before joining group next day to climb Kili. Hotel clean, well located with good breakfast. Safe. Good value.
5 out of 5
by M and M

Impressed with personal service

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed in Arusha at McElly's for 2 nights, either side of a safari. Starting from before we checked in, The staff were all very helpful and willing to help. I emailed the hotel on a couple of occasions and I had lovely prompt replies from the manager Sayuko, which was very reassuring.We were only given one towel between two of us (as seems to be quite normal around these parts) and the extra towel asked for was promptly sent up to us. We also left some of our luggage at the hotel for 6 days while we went away on safari. this was no trouble to them at all. Sayuko also got us out of a jam when we wanted to change flight dates, and let us check out an hour or so late. My husband and I were particularly impressed to see him speak to each guest individually, making sure all was well. this was done both in reception, at breakfast and evening meal. The area around the hotel was not particularly wonderful, but that seems to be normal around the big cities. We did not feel particularly comfortable walking out at night and indeed were warned not to do so but get a taxi instead, particularly as it was round New Year's celebrations. We chose to eat in the hotel at nights.Not a problem during the day. All in all a very comfy stay.
4 out of 5
by Gabriel

Ok

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast nothing special. Use of computer for internet was ridiculously expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

McElly's Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2012
The hotel is in a noisy location, the meals are limited and of inferior quality. Linen is old, towels grey. No place for toiletries in the bathroom. Closet had one hanger. Overpriced for this experience. Would not go back. Internet access is free but the network is slow and intermittent. Hotel number is also incorrect which can be tricky to find if our end up with a taxi driver who speaks no English!
2 out of 5
by prudence from South Africa

a NO!!!

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: none
Cons: not comfortable
Location: terrible loaction
the hotel is in downtown arusha and quite unsavory but seems safe. if youre coming back from back packing its a luxury but thats about all. there is no air conditioning, not sure if the water for hot water worked. if no other place to stay then stay but would not recommend