Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from goodyear, az

Great stopover hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Clean, new, quiet and many food places to eat. Next street to Outlets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neat place to stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016
It was only for one night but it was worth it!!!ww enjoined this place !!! I will definitely recommended to any one
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A central valley caravanserai

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Good location and quiet room.
Cons: Dining choice are plenty and growing but many close at 10pm and are of the fast food variety.
Location: Factory outlet shopping at the Tejon mall. Not much else is there other than fast food joints.
As mentioned, my wife and I usually stay here when driving between San Diego and the Bay Area. Heading north, the drive is three and a half hours from our starting point. This means we can leave after dinner and still get to bed at a reasonable hour. The next morning, we get up at our normal time and leave the hotel after the free breakfast. We usually arrive into the Bay Area in time for lunch and still have the rest of the day to do what needs to be done in the area. Perhaps given the relatively late hour at which we arrive, check in is really easy and quick. Perhaps by virtue of booking through Expedia, we usually end up with room 108 or 109 which are either next to the breakfast area or elevator. Nonetheless, the rooms are very quiet and also the draperies do a great job of blocking out the bright central valley sun and heat. Check out is similarly quick but I still don't understand why hotel receipts are a challenge to obtain. The word I got on this trip was that a receipt could be printed but it would be better to obtain such from expedia since what they print does not show the room rate or amount paid. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Opportunities for improvement would be with the breakfast (really snacks and fruit) and the cheerfulness of front desk staff. The staff seems bored and don't seem to exude any appreciation of our patronage. That said, it is still a good stopping point when driving along highway 5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Goodyear, Arizona

Love the hotel!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Great stopover, safe, quiet, with food options and shopping near by!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairly new modern hotel. Very quiet.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I enjoyed my overnight stay. The hotel staff was friendly and the amenities were good for a modestly priced hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Just ok

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Hub and I decided to stay the night on our way home from San Diego. Purchased the room online from the car. The Microelectronics ad stated, Hurry only 2 rooms left." The place was practically deserted. The woman who checked us in was very nice. We got to the room to find that it was a special needs handicap room. Not really a problem but why rent us this room in an empty hotel? Breakfast was not good. Fruit was old and so was the cream cheese. The room was clean and the bed was hard but reasonably comfortable. Television would not go above 11 on the sound, I could barely hear it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Very nice employees that go the extra mile to help you.
Cons: There is some bulbs out of one of their big signs that needs to be replaced. It mad it hard to find the right drive way to enter the driveway.
Had been traveling all day and went on expedia to find a room. They were very helpful to find us a room that was non-smoking, and we were only six blocks away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Everything great except very unreliable and very slow wifi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A nice mid-way stop.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Good location and very clean.
Cons: Better toiletries which include lotion. Also, it's hot in Wheeler Ridge. A pool would be a nice addition.
Location: Next to the Tejon outlet mall. Lots of fast food joints and gas stations in the area. Area is growing with new businesses cropping up all the time.
For me, the Microtel is the true definition of a caravansary. It is located in Wheeler Ridge - which, by my estimation is the actual "middle of nowhere". There's no town to speak of in the area, the area is dusty, hot, and has a strong sense of remoteness. However, I drive frequently between San Jose and San Diego and the Microtel is almost exactly at the midway point between these two cities. As such, I often leave San Diego in the evening after the commute has dissipated and head to the Microtel for an overnight stay. Then I get up the next morning for the second leg of the journey. I usually arrive refreshed in San Jose and still have a good portion of the day to get things done no matter the destination. The hotel is relatively new and so everything is in good shape. I have made perhaps nearly ten stays at the hotel and the service is always friendly and efficient. On this last stay, I could not get the TV to work and the "fix" was made post haste. I did ask for a receipt upon my departure (two days ago) and was told it would be emailed to me. It still has not arrived. The hotel is next to the outlet mall at Tejon Ranch; and so, if shopping is your thing, you'll have something to do. The hotel is not fancy as there's no pool, restaurant, nor fitness center. It is just basic accommodation at a reasonable price and that's all I really need.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to rest

Posted Aug 4, 2016
I did not stay long enough to say much but, this hotel is good enough if you need a safe place to rest after a long drive.