Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Horrible front desk staff

Posted Dec 4, 2017
We landed in Tokyo in the early morning and headed to this ryokan to put our luggage. It was raining when we stepped out of the train station. With only an umbrella and having to shelter a toddler I carried in my baby carrier and holding another preschooler with my other hand, we inevitably got wet by the rain. When I got to the front desk, I placed my purse on the receiving counter and was told rudely by the staff to not put my purse there. Then he told us that the room we booked for did not indicate that we had 2 children with us. I explained that the accommodation showed the room we booked could put up a max of 2 children. 1 of my children is under 2 years old. He insisted that we pay extra. We obliged. But his way of telling us to pay was very rude and belittling. He made us feel like we were begggers asking for free accommodation. His tone of voice was harsh and kept saying no no no. He even cut me off by hushing me. I have never encountered any service staff as rude as him.
3 out of 5
by Noriko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Traditional Experience Close to Asakusa

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The size of the rooms and the narrowness of the hotel are forgiven by the location. It is in the heart of the Asakusa shopping street which is situated within walking distance between Tokyo's attractions such as Ueno and Sky Tree. Breakfast is fabulous but the public bath is nothing to brag about and if you do not small, confined spaces, then I suggest you look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a place seconds away from major tourist spots, you have found it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Small basic Rykosan with helpful staff

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Location: as above
The staff were very helpful and cheerful, which was appreciated. The Onsen was simple but had a nice view. The room was probably the simplest I stayed in out of the Rykosans I resided with with, and the distance to central Tokyo was OK but you had to factor in c.40mins travelling time for each journey. It was also pretty tricky to find the first time, but after that it was close to interesting shopping and the subway access.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended.

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
This was an excellent choice of places to stay in a really great sight and shopping area. The street market leads right up to the shrine and you can see the Tokyo sky tree from the baths! The rooms were a nice size, the breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Lovely ryokan amidst the craziness of Tokyo

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Rooms were lovely
Cons: Bath was a little cold in the mornings
Location: Lots of attractions and shopping nearby
We loved staying in this ryokan! The staff were very friendly and helped us with all our questions. The rooms were full of character and decorated in beautiful traditional Japanese style. We loved coming home to this pleasant hotel after a busy day exploring Tokyo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful little Ryokan in the heart of Tokyo

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
I love this little Ryokan in the midst of the best part of Tokyo (Asakusa area). The hotel is clean, has an excellent location, and has a great Ofuro (public bath). I generally stay here when on business because the rates are reasonable and I love Ryokans. The only hesitation is the exceedingly grumpy older gentleman (owner?) who runs the front desk and growls at his guests. There are some younger people working the desk who are quite pleasant and helpful. If you can avoid him, you can have a very nice stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Small family hotel in old style Tokyo

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: The hotel is in the centre of Asakusa , a very atmospheric area, near the oldest temple, the river and lots of shopping.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location , convenient for Narita and Haneda airports, and good transport links to other parts of the city.
5 out of 5
by james

Nice hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
GreNice hotel, friendly staff. Great location in Asakusa near temple.