Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely loved it

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Loved this hotel. The experience of staying in a ryokan was wonderful. The baths were amazing- I liked the stone bath better than the wood but both are very enjoyable. Staff is super friendly and the location is great - mostly quiet neighborhood but close to subway and sights. Sleeping and sitting on the floor is a little uncomfortable if you have back or knee pain, but a good soak in the tubs helps and it’s worth the experience. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
We had an awesome stay at this hotel! Perfect if you're looking for a traditional Japanese experience. The staff were really friendly and accomodating and made us feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Gem in Asakusa

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location, the ryokan itself
Cons: The futon was really thin! We doubled-up the mattress on the second night and slept much better.
Lovely ryokan in the Taito ward, walking distance from Sensoji temple, Kamanari-mon Gate, Kappabashi (Kitchen Town), Sumida river. This older Tokyo neighborhood is quite a maze to maneuver, and if you're direction-challenged (like me), you could get lost a few times trying to get back to the inn, LOL. But getting lost in this meandering area reveals a nice, historic part of Tokyo away from the busier areas of Shibuya and Shinjuku. There are many restaurants and small yakitori shops, some just a few steps away. We took a cab from and to Ueno station (just under 1,000 yen) because of our luggage. When we checked out, one of the female staff valiantly rushed off to the main road to hail a cab (thank you sooo much!), which then drove right to the front of the ryokan for our pickup. We didn't try the small onsens, which filled up with just three people. But the furo in our room was nice. We will stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Nice hotel stuff. The room is clean and well maintained. The hotel is highly overpriced given the poor facility.
5 out of 5
by B.C from Vancouver, Canada

Authentic Traditional Japanese Experience

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
There are few traditional ryokans left in Tokyo, and this one is of high quality and with an English speaking staff. From traditional tatami rooms with modern conveniences such as in room bathroom, to meals served in traditional large tatami rooms with a multi course dinner, Sadachiyo is a must stay for those looking to immerse themselves in Japanese culture in a traditional manner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly ryokan in great location

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were that the hot baths were only open from 4pm onwards and the bedding (quilt and pillow mainly) smelt smokey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Traditional Ryokan

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Minutes away from Sensoji Temple in Asakusa, clean, well appointed rooms with futons. Delicious Japanese breakfast served in a traditional room. Helpful and friendly staff. Family friendly. Guests also have exclusive use of a timber and stone onsen.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Full of Japanese tradition

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel to sample a bit of Japanese tradition/culture. Beautifully arranged inside with lots of historical Japanese artefacts. Unfortunately the exterior was being renovated during our stay but the owner very politely excused these essential renovations. The staff were incredibly polite and courteous, and spoke great English giving us helpful directions around the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Unique hotel and kind staff!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, unique room, and location.
Cons: Nothing! It was fantastic.
Location: There's a great market a few blocks away, lots of food and shopping. Also the Senso-ji Temple!
Extremely welcoming staff, unique interiors, large rooms, and great location. Highly recommend staying here if you'd like to experience a traditional Ryokan style hotel. It was very fun and comfortable. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading UK

Fantastic traditional Japanese inn

Posted Mar 13, 2016
This is a fantastic traditional Japanese inn with all the facilities of a top hotel. This is where to stay if you want a true Japanese experience. Rooms are clean, maintained and have hair dryers, toiletries, kettle, to etc. friendliest staff I've ever come across, a true gem of a hotel. Location is excellent, within walking distance of metro, eating places, shops etc.